University Libraries Logo University Archives of Virginia Tech

Inventory of the Records of Paul Brandon Barringer
Sixth President of Virginia Polytechnic Institute
1907-1913


image of President Barringer

Record Group number RG-2/6
University Archives, University Libraries
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, Virginia


Contact Information:
University Archives
University Libraries
Virginia Tech
P.O. Box 90001
Blacksburg VA 24062-9001
Phone: (540) 552-7966
Fax: (540) 231-9214
Email: tjk@vt.edu
URL: http://spec.lib.vt.edu/archives/

Processed by:
The University Archives staff, University Libraries

Descriptive Summary

Title
Records of Paul Brandon Barringer, president, Virginia Polytechnic Institute, 1907-1913
Record Group number
RG-2/6
Creator
Virginia Polytechnic Institute, Blacksburg, Virginia, Office of the President
Extent
3 boxes and 1 oversized folder (2.4 cubic feet)
Repository
Newman Library, Special Collections Department. University Archives. University Libraries.
Blacksburg, Virginia 24062-9001
Shelf location
The Barringer Papers are housed in the storage facility. Please note that materials located in storage must be requested through the Special Collections Department at least 2 working days in advance of use.

Administrative Information

Access
Collection is open for research. Because the collection is located in the storage facility, it must be requested through the Special Collections Department at least 2 working days in advance of use.
Preferred Citation
Paul Brandon Barringer Papers, Office of the President, RG 2/6, University Archives, University Libraries, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Virginia.

History

Barringer, Paul Brandon (1907-1913)

(RG 2/6)
The Board of Visitors elected Barringer as the sixth president of Virginia Polytechnic Institute on 17 May 1907. Accomplishments of his administration included: entrance requirements raised from four to fourteen units; a Farmer's Winter Course established; summer school expanded.

Barringer's tenure as president was not a smooth one, hampered by several investigations. From the start, he was determined to develop the agricultural facet of the College until it was at least equal to the engineering component, which caused some dissatisfaction among certain alumni and faculty. In 1909, the Chairman of the Alumni Association Welfare Committee, Lawrence Priddy, attempted to have the Board of Visitors oust Barringer. The Board ordered an investigation and a public hearing was held 25 March 1910, at which Priddy's charges were dismissed as "unwarranted" and "inaccurate." However, this was not the end of Barringer's problems. In the fall of 1911, the Board again called for an investigation when a former Commandant of Cadets accused Barringer of "countenancing immorality" on campus. The investigation concluded that the charges were "without foundation."

Having survived those investigations, Barringer next ran afoul of Governor Mann, who wanted the College to become involved in agriculture extension work. Barringer did not agree, so Mann said he would appoint a Board of Visitors antagonistic to Barringer if he did not resign. On 10 June 1912, Barringer resigned, but the Board asked him to remain in office another year until a new president was selected.

Records, 1907-13

2.4 cu. ft.
This collection contains mainly incoming and outgoing correspondence (1907-13) concerning college activities and issues of Barringer's administration including: academic standards; hazing; Hog Cholera outbreak (1908); fires; prohibition; water/sewage system; refrigeration plant; advantages and dangers of football. A few letters from Barringer are to United States presidents: Theodore Roosevelt; William Howard Taft; Woodrow Wilson.

Also included with the collection are the following items: ledger of Board of Visitors Executive Committee minutes, handwritten (24 September 1904 - 1 November 1904 and 2 October 1906 - 12 June 1908); inventories (1908-11); letters of application for faculty positions (1909); several items relating to charges against Barringer by Lawrence Priddy, president of Alumni Association, and ensuing investigation (1910); correspondence and other items concerning Mess Hall investigation (1911); purchase orders (1911); reports to the Board of Visitors (1911); leases and contracts; report by Barringer to Board of Visitors on professors, giving names, ages, teaching hours per week, salary, degrees, and Barringer's personal remarks on each (no date).

Inventory: Boxes 1-3 (Folders 1-124) and oversized folder 125


URL: http://spec.lib.vt.edu/archives/guide/barringer/index.html

Last updated: November 19, 2001