University Libraries Logo University Archives of Virginia Tech

Inventory of the Records of Joseph Dupuy Eggleston
Seventh President of Virginia Polytechnic Institute
1913-1919

Record Group number RG-2/7
University Archives, University Libraries
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg Virginia


Contact Information:
University Archives
University Libraries
Virginia Tech
P.O. Box 90001
Blacksburg VA 24062-9001
Phone: (540) 552-9214
Fax: (540) 231-9263
Email: tjk@vt.edu
URL: http://spec.lib.vt.edu/archives/guide/eggleston/index.html

Processed by:
The University Archives staff, University Libraries

Descriptive Summary

Title
Records of Joseph Dupuy Eggleston, president, Virginia Polytechnic Institute, 1913-1919
Record Group number
RG-2/7
Creator
Virginia Polytechnic Institute, Blacksburg, Virginia, Office of the President
Extent
7 boxes (7 cubic feet)
Repository
Newman Library, Special Collections Department. University Archives. University Libraries.
Blacksburg, Virginia 24062-9001
Shelf location
The Eggleston Papers are housed in the storage facility. Please note that materials located in storage must be requested through the Special Collections Department at least two working days in advance of use.

Administrative Information

Access
Collection is open for research. Because the collection is located in the storage facility, it must be requested through the Special Collections Department two working days in advance of use.
Preferred Citation
Joseph Dupuy Eggleston Papers, Office of the President, RG 2/7, University Archives, University Libraries, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Virginia.

History

Eggleston became the seventh president of Virginia Polytechnic Institute (VPI) in 1913. His six-year administration was most notably marked by the development of the agricultural extension program at VPI. In 1914, the Agricultural Extension Division was established. The Virginia General Assembly transferred control of agricultural demonstration work to VPI, so the Home Demonstration program began in 1915.

Much of Eggleston's presidential tenure was during the years of World War I. The college became a training school for both the army and navy during this time. A Reserve Officer Training Corps (ROTC) program was established at VPI in 1916. In January 1919, the college was designated by the War Department as one of twelve "Distinguished Colleges" in the nation for its contribution to the war effort.

In the spring of 1919, Eggleston resigned to become president of Hampden-Sydney College, his alma mater.

The bulk of the collection consists of correspondence (1913-19) including: letters to and from state and national political figures; correspondence signed by Eggleston as Acting Director of the Extension Division (1913-16); correspondence between Eggleston and principals, board members and others of various agricultural high schools relating to financial requests, personnel, etc. (1916-19); correspondence with county agents and state and national personnel connected with agricultural programs; correspondence with Carneal and Johnston, architects, concerning construction of Shop building, Gymnasium, Professor Vawter's residence, VPI Chapel, McBryde building, Athletic building, and Field House. Other material in the collection includes: Sophomore Court matters (1913-14); reports of annual meetings of agents (1913-16); Agricultural Experiment Station reports (1914); U.S.D.A. Weekly Demonstration Work Reports (1914); financial forecasts (1914-15); annual reports (1915); Smith-Lever salary vouchers, 1915; reports of demonstration agents (1916); departmental needs (1917); telegrams (1917-19); resolution creating Athletic Director position (1918); Houston property deeds and contracts; speeches and articles. Education for women and African American extension and Y. M. C. A. work are among the issues addressed in the correspondence.

The collection has been kept in the original order in which it was received even though this order in not consistently alphabetical or chronological. The headings on the original folders were retained in the inventory even though the language at times is archaic, as in the use of the word "colored."

Series 1: Boxes 1-3 (Folders 1-261)
Series 2: Boxes 4-5 (Folders 262-449)
Series 3: Boxes 6-7 (Folders 450-631)


URL: http://spec.lib.vt.edu/archives/guide/eggleston/index.html
Last updated: October 19, 2001(TK)