Archives logo
Campus Unrest Virginia Tech Historical Data Book Pre-WWII at Virginia Tech Historical Virginia Tech Digital Image collection of Virginia Tech Cadets The Bugle Interior, Old Library Go to Archives Home page

Record Group 20 - College of Veterinary Medicine

After decades of efforts by various factions to establish a School of Veterinary Medicine in Virginia, the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine finally became a reality in 1980. A dean had been appointed in 1974, with the College using the departments of Veterinary Science at Tech and the University of Maryland as its home bases. In 1978, the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia approved a plan to establish a regional college to offer a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree. The agreement was officially ratified by the Virginia and Maryland Governors in 1980.

Return to Guide


Records

Newspaper Clippings and Printed Material, 1974-Present

While the University Archives does not contain the official records of the College of Veterinary Medicine, vertical files of newspaper clippings and printed material, 1974-present, are maintained under the record group number.


Virginia Veterinary Medical Association

Records, 1894-1961

0.8 cu. ft. (Ms88-052)
While not part of the official records of the College of Veterinary Medicine, many faculty members from Virginia Tech played prominent roles in this organization. The collection includes annual meeting minutes, minutes of the Board of Censors, programs, speeches, a history of the organization, and a list of presidents. Many faculty members from Virginia Tech played prominent roles in this organization.

Return to Guide


VT History | Digital Library and Archives | Special Collections | University Archives


Send questions or comments to:
Tamara Kennelly, University Archivist
Special Collections
University Libraries
Virginia Tech
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061

URL: http://spec.lib.vt.edu/archives/guide/rg20.htm
Last Modified on: Monday, 18-Jun-2001 18:11:05 EDT


Site design by: Tamara Kennelly, Oladunni Akinpelu and Katie Bondroff
VT Libraries Logo