Archives logo
Campus Unrest Virginia Tech Historical Data Book Pre-WWII at Virginia Tech Historical Virginia Tech Digital Image collection of Virginia Tech Cadets The Bugle Interior, Old Library Go to Archives Home page

Record Group 29 - Alumni Association

On 11 August 1875, Virginia Tech's first Alumni Association was formed by the twelve members of the first graduating class. In 1891, the Association was reorganized, under a new constitution, and began publishing an Alumni Register. The Association was incorporated on 23 June 1924. In 1964, new bylaws were adopted and the Association became more closely linked with the University. At the same time the title of Alumni Secretary was changed to Director of Alumni Affairs; in 1972, the title was changed to Executive Director, and then to Executive Vice-President in 1980. Individuals holding this office under its various titles were: H.B. Redd (1926-60); M.L. Oliver (1960-65); Philip Oliver (acting, 1965-66); C.B. Ross (1966-67); H.L. Pritchard (acting, 1967-68); and George E. Russell (1968-1995). In 1990, the Alumni Association became an official part of the University.

Return to Guide


Records

Records, 1905-Present

1.0 cu. ft.
This collection includes: minutes of 1931 reunion of the class of 1899; list of "successful alumni," 1890-1914; material on the Semi-Centennial in 1922, including programs, letters, telegrams, and list of alumni attending; material on the War Memorial dedication, 1926, including publicity, programs, and names of alumni attending; material on Wine Scholarship, 1929-31, including correspondence concerning its establishment, terms of the scholarship, and applicants; circular mailings for 1905,1920-22; 1940-60; material on the class of 1913 reunions from 1940-60; and printed material, including programs and brochures, 1905-51.

Newspaper Clippings and Printed Material, 1960-Present

Newspaper clippings and printed material, including programs and brochures, are maintained in vertical files from 1960 to present. Pre-1960 clippings can be found in the Mounted Clippings under various classifications: M 30 #3; M 31 #7; M 32 #7; M 49 #3; M 54 #3; M 110 #5; M 113 #1; M 115 #6; M 416 #2; Mfi 11 #4, #7; Mfi 13 #1; Mfi 14 #2, #5, #6; Mfi 15 #1; Mo 17I #1; Mo 17m #4; Mp 2 #4; Mp 5 #1; Mp 6 #2, #3; Mp 9, #1, #5.

Mounted clippings for various alumni chapters can be found under the following classifications:

  • Blacksburg: M 20 #3; M 27 #3, #4; M 28 #4, #5, #8; M 29 #2; M 30 #3; M 65 #4; M 94 #3, 5; M 123 #4; M 263 #1
  • Hampton: Mo 17i #3
  • Lynchburg: Mo 17j #3; Mo 17k #6
  • Montgomery County: Mo 17k #1, #4, #5
  • Newport News: Mo 17j #11, #12; AF 1923z10 #1
  • Norfolk: Mo 17h #2, #7, #8; AF 1923z3 #3; AF 1923z6 #1
  • Peninsula: Mo 17i #4, #6
  • Richmond: Mp 9 #3; M 68 #11; Mo 17j #7, #8, #13; AF 1924 #1, #6; AF 1924a #2, #3, #4; AF 1924c #6; AF 1924d #2; AF 1924g #3, #5; AF 1924h #3; AF 1924i #1,#5; AF 1924j #3
  • Roanoke: Mo 17h #1, #3, #7, #9; Mo 17j #9, #10; Mo 17k #3; Ag 8 #2
  • West Virginia: Mo 17m #6, #7
Publications
  • Alumni Register (LD5655 A75 A47)
  • Class of 1957 (LD5655 V8 V46)
  • Directory of the Class of 1911 (LD5655 C5 1961)
  • A History of the Class of 1902 of VPI (LD5655 A4 1955a)
  • The Old Guard of Virginia Tech: Classes of 1902-25 (LD5655 A4 1977b)
  • Techgram (LD5655 A3 T4)
  • The VPI Alumnus (LD5655 V52)
  • VPI Old Guard's Who's Who, 1888 Through Class of 1912 (LD5655 A4 1962)

Memorial Committees

Records, 1929-41

0.1 cu. ft. (RG 29/1)
This small collection includes correspondence and other items concerning the Patton Memorial Committee (1929) and the Davidson Memorial Committee (1931-41).


Women's Chapter

(RG 29/2)
A VPI Alumnae Society was organized in 1933 for women graduates. This Society became the Women's Chapter of the VPI Alumni Association in 1955, but was dissolved in 1971.

Records, 1954-64, 1971

0.1 cu. ft.
This small collection includes newsletters, reports of annual meetings, proposed constitution, and lists of members and officers. The vertical files contain newspaper clippings from 1971 as well.


University Club

Records, 1925-2000

13.6 cu. ft.(RG 29/4)

The collection consists of papers detailing the founding, construction, administration, finances, and membership of the University Club at Virginia Tech.

Administrative correspondence makes up the third series. Series 4 is comprised of account books as well as credit and payment books. Budget material can be found in Series 5. Financial records constitute the sixth series. Tax information is located in Series 7. Workbooks are included in the eighth series. Management records are organized in the ninth series. Series 10 stores operational records. Construction records are filed in Series 11. Series 12 contains community and outreach records. Fundraising material is situated in Series 13. Personal correspondence and images can be found in the fourteenth series. The fifteenth series includes guest books. Membership operations material is located in Series 16. Series 17 contains registers. Series 18 contains Residence and Use material. Social events records are filed in the nineteenth series, and Series 20 is made up of Steinway Piano material.

A finding aid is available online.

Return to Guide


VT History | Digital Library and Archives | Special Collections | University Archives


Send questions or comments to:
Tamara Kennelly, University Archivist
Special Collections
University Libraries
Virginia Tech
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061

URL: http://spec.lib.vt.edu/archives/guide/rg29.htm
Last Modified on: Tuesday, 07-May-2013 10:43:02 EDT


Site design by: Tamara Kennelly, Oladunni Akinpelu and Katie Bondroff
VT Libraries Logo
kad