Archives logo
Campus Unrest Virginia Tech Historical Data Book Pre-WWII at Virginia Tech Historical Virginia Tech Digital Image collection of Virginia Tech Cadets The Bugle Interior, Old Library Go to Archives Home page

Record Group 45 - College of Natural Resources and Environment

By the 1930s, Virginia Polytechnic Institute offered its first programs in forestry and wildlife. The Virginia Cooperative Wildlife Research Unit began in 1935, and in 1959, the Department of Forestry and Wildlife was made a unit of the College of Agriculture. In 1974 the Department of Forestry and Forest Products and the Department of Fisheries and Wildlife Sciences were formed. A year later, the School of Forestry and Wildlife Resources was created within the College of Agriculture.

In 1990, faculty and administrators initiated a proposal remove the School of Forestry and Wildlife Resources from the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, in order to establish a separate college. By 1992, the College of Forestry and Wildlife Resources was offically established and offering majors and minors to students, although it was not fully phased in until 1994. In 2000, the college changed its name to the College of Natural Resources, and in 2010, it became the College of Natural Resources and Environment.

Return to Guide


Records

Newspaper Clippings and Printed Material, 1970s-Present

Newspaper clippings and other ephemera relating to the College of Natural Resources and Environment are located in the University Archives vertical files, under Record Group 45. Subject areas include: the Office of the Dean (RG 45/1), Individual Faculty (RG 45/2), Department of Fisheries and Wildlife Resources (RG 45/3), Department of Wood Science and Forest Products (RG 45/4), Department of Forestry (RG 45/5), Cooperative Fisheries Research Unit (RG 45/6), Cooperative Wildlife Research Unit (RG 45/7), Center for Quantative Studies Laboratory (RG 45/8), and Aquaculture Research Facilities (Fisheries) (RG 45/9).

College of Forestry and Wildlife Resources/College of Natural Resources, 1975-2003. 0.3 cu. ft.

Record Group 45 contains a small collection of materials relating the proposal and establishment of the College of Forestry and Wildlife Resources in 1990. These records include initial research on colleges at similar institutions, the extensive proposal, letters of support, evaluations, and information the history of forestry and wildlife at VPI. There are also a few individual issues of serial publications. Other materials related to the College of Natural Resources, following the name change in 2000.

Return to Guide


VT History | Digital Library and Archives | Special Collections | University Archives


Send questions or comments to:
Tamara Kennelly, University Archivist
Special Collections
University Libraries
Virginia Tech
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061

URL: http://spec.lib.vt.edu/archives/guide/rg45.htm
Last Modified on: Tuesday, 03-Jan-2012 16:16:16 EST


Site design by: Tamara Kennelly, Oladunni Akinpelu and Katie Bondroff
VT Libraries Logo