University Libraries Logo

University Archives of Virginia Tech


Inventory of the Records of William J. McKeefery
Executive Vice President of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
1969-1973


Record Group number RG-4/2
University Archives, University Libraries
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg Virginia


McKeefery Home - Part 1 - Part 2 - Part 3


Contact Information:
University Archives
University Libraries
Virginia Tech
P.O. Box 90001
Blacksburg VA 24062-9001
Phone: (540) 231-9214
Fax: (540) 231-9263
Email: tjk@vt.edu
URL: http://spec.lib.vt.edu/archives/guide/
Processed by:
The University Archives staff, University Libraries

Descriptive Summary

Title
Records of William James McKeefery (1918- ), vice president, Virginia Polytechnic Institute, 1969-73
Record Group number
RG-4/2
Creator
Virginia Polytechnic Institute, Blacksburg, Virginia, Office of the President
Extent
26 boxes (26 cubic feet)
Repository
Newman Library, Special Collections Department. University Archives. University Libraries.
Blacksburg, Virginia 24062-9001
Shelf location
The McKeefery Papers are housed in the storage facility. Please note that materials located in storage must be requested through the Special Collections Department at least 2 working days in advance of use.

Administrative Information

Access
Collection is open for research. Because the collection is located in the storage facility, it must be requested through the Special Collections Department at least 2 working days in advance of use.
Preferred Citation
WIlliam J. McKeefery Papers, Office of the Executive Vice President, RG 4/2, University Archives, University Libraries, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Virginia.

History

In 1968 the post of Executive Vice President was established. William James McKeefery was the second Executive Vice President, succeeding Warren Brandt. This collection contains the correspondence and other official files of McKeefery during his tenure as Executive Vice-President. There is material dealing with the College of Agriculture, College of Arts and Sciences, College of Business, College of Education, College of Engineering, Home Economics, Committee to Study Revision of University Council, International Programs, new degree programs, Learning Resources Center, Inter-American Institute of Ecology, Education Task Force, Phi Beta Kappa, Southern Association of Land-Grant Colleges and State Universities, Squires Student Center, State Council of Higher Education in Virginia, Student Government Association, Urban Transport Consortium, and University Council. There is also a large amount of correspondence with T. Marshall Hahn.

Dr. McKeefery was educated at University of Pennsylvania (B.S., Electrical Engineering, 1941), Princeton Theological Seminary (B.D.,Theology, 1945), and Columbia University (Ph.D., Philosophy, 1949). Before assuming his post at Virginia Tech, he was Dean of Academic Affairs, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale (1961-1969); Vice President, Washburn University, Topeka Kansas (11958-1961); Dean of the Faculty (1950-1958) and Assistant Professor (1948-1949), Alma College, Alma, Michigan. Author of Parameters of Learning: Perspectives in Higher Education (Southern Illinois University Press, 1970), Curriculum Study: Master Plan for Higher Education, State of Illinois (1964), and A Critical Analysis of Psychological Studies of Religious Phenomena (Eagle Press, 1950).

The collection has been kept in the original order in which it was received.

Part 1: Boxes 1-9 (Folders 1-369)
Part 2: Boxes 10-18 (Folders 370-697)
Part 3: Boxes 6-7 (Folders 698-1078)


URL: http://spec.lib.vt.edu/archives/guide/vps/mckeefery/index.html

Last updated: May 5, 2002 (TK)