IAWA Guide to the Collections
The International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA) was established in 1985 as a joint program of the College of Architecture and Urban Studies and the University Libraries at Virginia Tech. The IAWA began by collecting the papers of those who practiced at a time when there were few women in the field (i.e., before the 1950s). The IAWA, however, now collects the records of women working in the design fields of the built environment to fill the serious gaps in the availability of primary research materials for architectural, women's, and social history research. The purpose of the collection is to document the history of women's involvement in architecture by acquiring, preserving, storing, and making available the professional papers of women architects, landscape architects, designers, architectural historians and critics, urban planners, and the records of their organizations.
Notable Collections include: Lois Gottlieb of San Francisco, a residential designer and author. Louise Hall, long-time member of AIA North Carolina, taught architecture at Duke 1931-1973, and mentored many architects and scholars. L. Jane Hastings, Seattle architect and founder of the Hastings Group. Anna Keichline, architect and inventor, first registered woman architect in Pennsylvania and inventor of the K-brick. Yasmin Lari, first registered woman architect in Pakistan and principal of Lari Associates, Architects & Urban Designers.
Elsa Leviseur practiced and taught internationally in South Africa, California, and England. Eleanore Pettersen, first woman in New Jersey to open her own architectural office. Sigrid Lorenzen Rupp, German-born architect, practiced in Palo Alto, California. Han Schroeder, Dutch architect and Professor of Interior Design at the New York Institute of Technology and Virginia Commonwealth University. Beverly Willis, FAIA, artist, craftswoman, designer, and nationally recognized San Francisco architect. Zelma Wilson, FAIA, architect in Ojai, California. Liane Zimbler, first registered women architect in Austria and later an interior designer in Los Angeles, California. See the IAWA guide to collections below for a complete list of holdings in the International Archive of Women in Architecture.
As part of its mission to also serve as a clearinghouse of information about women in architecture, past and present, the IAWA collects publications written by or about women architects, designers, and planners. These publications are accessible through Addison, Virginia Tech library's online catalog. See for example An Emancipated Place: Women in Architecture, 2000 plus: A Conference on the Work of Women Architects: Focus South Asia and Big Little Knob: Student Life of Frank Lloyd Wright Woman Architect Nobuko Tsuchiura, donated by the authors, Japanese architects, Atsko Tanaka and Nobuko Ogawa. The IAWA compiles biographical information, available to the public in the IAWA Biographical Database. Some materials have been digitized and are available through the VT ImageBase. Patrons wishing to see the archival materials should contact the Virginia Tech's Special Collections or refer to the IAWA on the Internet.
For more information, please contact:
International Archive of Women in Architecture
Special Collections, Digital Library and Archives
University Libraries, Virginia Tech
P.O. Box 90001
Blacksburg, VA 24062-9001 USA
(540)231-6308
or
e-mail Special Collections
(specref@vt.edu)
Biographical Directory: A
ADAMCZEWSKA-WEJCHERT,
HANNA, BIOGRAPHICAL PAPERS, 1985-1987. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1920. Architect of Warsaw, Poland; Professor at the Warsaw Technical
University. Materials include a lengthy curriculum vitae, reprints of articles
she wrote about urban projects in Poland, and a 1985 catalog she wrote,
"Formation of Pertinent Housing Cooperatives." Ms2000-011
ALEX,
IRIS, COLLECTION, 1956-2002. 0.5 cu. ft.
Development Administrator for Facilities Development Corporation of the
State of New York, building consultant for the Young Women's Christian
Association, and Fellow of the American Institute of Architects. Active from
the 1950s until 1991. The collection includes both volumes of A Building
Manual for the YWCA, written by Alex as well as some biographical
information and articles about her work. Also contains correspondence between
Alex and other architects about Julia Morgan. An EAD-encoded
finding aid is available in the Virginia Heritage Project database. Ms2002-026
ALEXANDER,
DOROTHY, PHOTOGRAPHS, 1974. 0.1 cu.ft.
Architect in her firm, D. B. Alexander, 1967- . Projects have
included commercial remodeling for the Arriflex Corporation, Panavision and
the Jack Tilton Gallery. 1989- Staff photographer for Oculus,
the magazine of the New York Chapter of the American Institute of Architects.
The collection consists of a set of photos entitled "White Flowers" that were
used as the opening image of a chapter in Women in Architecture, edited by
Susana Torre.
Inventory
available online. Ms2001-056
AMERICAN COLLEGIATE SCHOOLS OF ARCHITECTURE,
PUBLICATION, 1990. 0.1 cu. ft.
Inventory
available online. Ms2001-058
AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF ARCHITECTS (AIA),
PUBLICATIONS, 1990-1999. 0.1 cu. ft.
The AIA is an organization of over 300 chapters established to serve the
needs of architects at the national, state, and local levels. The collection
includes programs for chapter meetings, lecture announcements, and WIA
information.
Inventory
available online. Ms2001-056
ANTONAKAKIS,
SUSANA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1987-1988. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born in 1935. Architect in Athens, Greece, and a founding member of the architectural
firm Atelier 66. Materials include a copy of a lecture she gave in 1987 in Delft, the
Netherlands, to the International Design Seminar; a postcard for an exhibit in Zurich,
Switzerland, of the work she has done with her husband, Dimitris; and a brochure of the
Mavrakakis house in Perdika, Greece, which she and her husband designed. Ms2000-013
ARCHITECTURAL LEAGUE OF NEW YORK: ARCHIVE OF WOMEN IN ARCHITECTURE,
1973-1977. 3.2 cu. ft.
The Architectural League of New York created the Archive of Women in Architecture collection
in 1973 to gather biographical and project data about women professionals in the field of
architecture and related disciplines. The information was used to create a 1977 exhibition and
a companion book, Women in American Architecture: A Historic and Contemporary Perspective,
edited by Susana Torre. This collection consists mainly of copies of form letters and completed
biographical and project worksheets sent out by the AWA in 1973 and materials sent by women in
reply to the solicitation. Other materials include resumes, journal articles and publications,
architectural projects and drawings, photographs of projects, and research material collected
by the archive. An EAD-encoded
finding aid is available in the Virginia Heritage database. Ms2005-016
ASSOCIATION FOR WOMEN IN ARCHITECTURE,
RECORDS, 1928-1989. 6 cu. ft.
Founded in 1922 as Alpha Alpha Gamma, a national sorority for women architecture
students in the United States. Graduates formed the Association of Women in Architecture
in 1934, for women practicing in the profession. In 1982 the AWA changed its name
to the Association for Women in Architecture. Alpha Alpha Gamma remains the
undergraduate affiliate. Now headquartered in Los Angeles, California, with
members-at-large across the country. Records are predominantly those from the Los
Angeles chapter, and include committee reports, correspondence, membership forms and
rosters, photographs, scrapbooks, treasurer's files, and newsletters. Inventory
available online. Ms88-022
AUBÖCK,
MARIA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1985-2006. 0.2 cu. ft. Born in 1951.
Landscape architect in Vienna, Austria, and a member of the Austrian Society of
Landscape Architects since 1985. Collection includes curriculum vita with
architectural sketches, articles by Aubock, and drawings for gardens she designed.
Also includes copies of her books, Vienna Gloriosa and Grun in Wien.
2006 additions to the collection include a 2005 exhibition catalog, fliers for a 2006
architecture and landscape conference, an issue of the magazine Historische
Gärten, and a competition catalog for Wohnen in Bayern.
Partial inventory
available online. Ms96-007
AULENTI,
GAE, COLLECTION, 1987-2003. 0.6 cu. ft.
Italian architect Gae Aulenti's ability to transform historic public buildings
into museum spaces is documented by newspaper and magazine articles, biographical
information, and her conceptual computer-drawn designs for the Asian Art Museum in
San Francisco, California. An EAD-encoded
finding aid is available in the Virginia Heritage database. Ms2000-014
Biographical Directory: B
BALMORI,
DIANA, LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS, 1990-1995. 2.0 cu.ft.
Landscape architect and design principal of Balmori Associates, Inc. Educated at
the University of California, Los Angeles, partner for landscape at Cesar Pelli and
Associates (1984-1990), and faculty at the Yale University, School of Forestry and
Environmental Studies. Collection consists of drawings, sketches, and presentation
boards for three landscape architecture design projects. An EAD-encoded
finding aid is available in the Virginia Heritage Project database. Ms2004-001
BAPTISTA,
ANGELICA, ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS, 1983. 0.3 cu. ft.
Architect of Carvalhos, Portugal. Materials consist of six sets of architectural drawings
of the Vamara Municipal da Vila da Feira. Ms2001-052
BARDI,
LINA BO, BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION AND BOOKS. 0.1 cu. ft.
1914-1992. Born in Italy, worked in Sao Paulo, Brazil. Among other
residential and public structures in Brazil, she designed the Museum of
Art Sao Paulo (1958) and the Sesc-Pompeia (1977), a combined sports and
arts center. Her collection includes a press release with biographical
information for an exhibit of her work at the California College of Arts
and Crafts in San Francisco. It also includes Casa de Vidro [Glass House],
Sao Paulo, Brazil, 1950-1951 Centro de Lazer [Leisure Center] SESC,
Fabrica Pompeia. Ms2000-018
BASSETT,
FLORENCE KNOLL, BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION, 2001. 0.1 cu. ft.
Interior Designer in Coconut Grove, Florida. Ms2004-010
BENTEL,
MARIA, BROCHURE. 0.1 cu. ft. Born in 1928. Architect and
partner of Bentel & Bentel, Architects and Planners, of New York, and
a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects. Collection includes a
brochure of her work with her firm. Ms2000-100
BINDER,
REBECCA L., ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1995-1997. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born in 1951. Principal of R. L. Binder, F.A.I.A., Architecture &
Planning, in Playa del Rey, California, and a Fellow of the American
Institute of Architects. Materials include curriculum vita detailing
major projects, employment, exhibitions, publications, activities, and
honors; descriptions of fifteen of her designs; and a copy of the book
Rebecca L. Binder, with text by Eleanor Lynn Nesmith, edited by
Shawna Mullen (Rockport, Massachusetts: Contemporary World Architects, 1995). Ms96-006
BIRIUKOVA,
ALEXANDRA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. 0.1 cu. ft. 1895-1967.
Russian architect in Canada. Received architecture degree in 1914 from the School
of Architecture in Petrograd, Russia. Exiled in 1917; moved to Italy where she
received a degree in 1925 from the Royal Superior School of Architecture in Rome.
Emigrated to Toronto, Canada, in 1929. Designed a residence for artist Lawren
Harris in Toronto and was elected the first woman member of the Ontario Association
of Architects in 1931, yet entered nursing school that same year and spent the rest
of her career as a nurse. Materials consist of research notes, correspondence,
published biographical sources, and card files compiled by Barbara Sankey of Toronto,
who researched Biriukova's career. Ms2000-015
BIRKBY,
NOEL PHYLLIS, BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL, 1994. 0.1 cu. ft.
1932-1994. Architect of New York City. Educated at the Cooper Union
and at Yale University; worked for architectural firms in New York
City and was principal of her own firm. Taught at the New York
Institute of Technology. Papers are photocopies of obituaries and
other biographical information about Birkby. Ms94-026
BIZIOS,
GEORGIA, RÉSUMÉ AND EXHIBIT POSTCARD, 1996. 0.1 cu. ft.
Professor of Architecture and Associate Dean for Academics at
the School of Design, North Carolina State University (1986-present).
Educated at Colby College (B.A. Art, 1967), University of Minnesota
(B.Arch., 1971), and University of Oregon (M.Arch, 1974). Former member
of the Board of Advisors for the IAWA. Collection consists of a
curriculum vitae and a postcard advertising an exhibit of her work at
the Brooks Hall Gallery of the School of Design, North Carolina State
University, in January 1996. Ms2000-016
BLISS,
ANNA CAMPBELL, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1976-1987. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1925. Artist, architect, and consultant on color and design in
Salt Lake City, Utah; partner of Bliss and Campbell, Architects; and founder
and former President of the Contemporary Arts Group. Materials include a
curriculum vitae; photographs, a 1987 flyer for a CAG conference; three
articles on color and architecture; a notice of an exhibition of a mural Bliss
designed for the Utah State Capitol; and a bibliography of publications,
articles, and catalogs by Bliss. Ms2000-017
BLIZNAKOV,
MILKA T., PAPERS AND ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS, 1978-2000. 2 cu. ft.
Born in Bulgaria in 1927, emigrated to France and then to the
U.S. Practiced in New York before coming to Blacksburg where she both
practiced architecture and taught at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and
State University. She is a professor emerita of Architecture and Urban
Studies at Virginia Tech. Bliznakov founded the International Archive of
Women in Architecture (IAWA) and chaired its Board of Advisors from
1985-1993. Her papers include curriculum vitae, correspondence, 43
architectural drawings of her residence in Blacksburg, "A Bibliographical
Guide to Their Work: Soviet Women Architects, 1917-1937" written by her
in 1989, papers written during 1979 to 1990, and collected materials about
women in architecture. Ms91-025
BLOCH, KAROLA, BOOK. 0.1 cu. ft.
Architect of Germany. Her book, Aus Meinem Leben (1981), is located
in the Rare Book Room. CT3150 B5 A3 1981
BODEN-ARCHER, DENDRON. 0.1 cu. ft.
Greek psychologist with an interest in "dream healing" within the framework of
landscape and architecture. Collection includes a biographical sketch and a copy of
an article that she wrote. Ms2006-004
BODMER,
MONICA, COLLECTION, 2000. 0.1 cu. ft.
One-hour videotape and DVD version entitled Spatial Biography and Mental Maps
produced for the International Women's University, Project Area City and Gender, in Kassel,
Germany in 2000. Created by Monica Bodmer of Lausanne, Switzerland and Prof.
Kerstin Dörhöfer of Berlin, Germany. Includes prologue and sections by twelve
contributors. Ms2001-009
BONNEY,
CLAIRE, PAPERS AND DIGITAL FILES, 1995-1998; 2002. 0.1 cu. ft.
The collection contains a copy of Thérèse Bonney: The Architectural
Photographs, a PhD thesis from the University of Zurich. Materials submitted in application
for the first Milka Bliznakov Prize, 2000. See also Bonney's report on
architect Adrienne Gorska.
Inventory
available online. Ms98-023
BRIANS,
AUDREY, PAPERS. 0.1 cu. ft.
Principal and President of Brians and Associates/Architects, Inc., of
Panama City, Florida. Materials include four brochures - one describes her
firm and includes a curriculum vitae, and three detail her designs. Also
includes a 12-page memoir, "Confessions of an Irreverent Iconoclast" written
in 2002. Ms2000-019
BROSOWSKY,
BETTINA M., ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1985-2003.
0.1 cu. ft. Born in 1957, architect in Germany. Collection contains plans and
images of two competition designs from the 1980s, illustrated descriptions of three
projects designed by her firm, Brosowsky & Teschner, Architekten, during 1992-2003.
Also includes a pamphlet written by Brosowsky in 2003 entitled Wolfsburg
Architektur-Stadtplan: Bauten der Jahrtausendwende und die Klassiker
with a city map and descriptions of buildings in Wolfsburg, Germany. Ms2000-020
BROTONS DE LA NUEZ,
ROSA MARIA. CERTIFICATE AND PHOTOGRAPHS. 0.1 cu. ft.
Architect of Barcelona, Spain. Copy of a 1973 certificate from the Colegio
Oficial de Arquitectos de Canarias, and two photographs of Palacio del Hielo,
a skating rink she designed. Ms2000-021
BROWNE,
JENNIFER N., RÉSUMÉ. 0.1 cu. ft. Born 1939.
Project Architect, SLR/Architects, Palo Alto, California.
BUDEVSKA,
NADEZHDA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1965-1988. 0.2 cu. ft.
Nadezhda Budevaska-Salcheva graduated from Sofia Polytechnic in 1949, and
thereafter pursued a career as a champion tennis player. In 1967, she joined the
Sofia Design Organization, where she designed many large buildings such as hospitals
and research institutes. In 1980 she established a private office, focusing mainly on
private residences. The papers include drawings and photos of projects for residential
projects in/near Sofia, Bulgaria, 1965-1988, a photo of a drawing of research laboratories,
newspaper clippings, and a two-page c.v. in English with image of Budevska. Ms2007-005
BUDIS, SANDA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. 0.1 cu. ft.
Architect of Lutry, Switzerland. Architectural drawings and a brochure with
drawings, notes, sketches and slides of "La Conversion/Lutry." Ms2000-022
BULANT
KAMENOVA, ANETA, BROCHURE, 1987-1999. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born in Sofia, Bulgaria. Practiced in Sofia and Vienna. Her firm's brochure,
"Emerging Architecture," features three residential projects, a
carpenter's shop, and a bank designed by Bulant & Wailzer. Inventory
available online. Ms2002-016
Biographical
Directory: C
CALIFORNIA WOMEN IN ENVIRONMENTAL DESIGN,
RECORDS, 1990-1994. 0.3 cu. ft. California organization of women
design professionals and students in planning, architecture, engineering,
landscape architecture, interior design, and related fields. Formerly
known as California Women in Architecture. Records include newsletters,
membership flyers, and posters and programs of the organization's
meetings in San Francisco in 1991 and Santa Monica in 1992, plus
thirty-seven audiotapes of session proceedings at CWED conferences. Ms90-059
CAMPANA,
ANA ISABEL, BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION. 0.1 cu. ft. Born 1934
in Cuba. Senior architect for the General Electric Company since 1974,
specializing in the design of power plant facilities. Collection
consists of a curriculum vitae and biography, and copies of
certificates from Who's Who in the World and Who's Who of
American Women. Ms2000-023
CARDENAS,
ELIANA, COLLECTION, 1999-2002. 0.1 cu. ft.
Eliana Maria Cardenas Sanchez is a Cuban architect and architectural historian.
This collection includes two issues of the journal arquitectura y urbanismo,
2/1999 and 3/2002, each of which contain articles by Cardenas and a university textbook,
Un siglo de enseñanza de la arquitectura en Cuba, that she helped edit. Additional
publications by Cardenas are also available in the book collection through the VT library's online catalog,
Addison. Ms2006-023
CARLINI,
ERDMUTE, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. 0.2 cu. ft.
Born 1941. Landscape architect of Berlin, Germany. Materials include two
catalogs, Berlin/Los Angeles: Working Together in Culture, Science
and Industry--Fantasy and Realism in Architecture, about an
exhibition of the Werkbund Berlin at UCLA in which Carlini showed
her work, and Dan Markische Viertel-25 Jahre Danach, by Carlini
and her husband; postcards of her work; and catalogs (1977-1989) in
which her work is cited. Ms2000-024
CENTER OF CONTEMPORARY ARCHITECTURE
COLLECTION, 2000-2003. 0.8 cu. ft.
The Center of Contemporary Architecture in Moscow, Russia, gathers
information about contemporary Russian architects and architecture. This collection
contains eight video programs about architects, including women architects, that
were produced for TV under the supervision of CCA Director Irina Korobina. It also
includes a media CD about Russian architect Ivan Leonidov. Ms2007-006
CHADEAYNE,
OLIVE, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1925-1956, 1993. 4 cu. ft.
1904-2001. Architect of Walnut Creek, California; member of the
American Institute of Architects. Papers consist of architectural
drawings of residences, primarily in the Southern California area, done
while both self-employed and working for others. Includes several
drawings done by noted California architect LILIAN
RICE (1889-1938), with Chadeayne as her associate. Also
includes a transcript of an oral history interview, February 1993. Ms90-057
CHANNEL,
MARY BROWN, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1932-1981. ca. 11 cu. ft.
After graduating from Randolph-Macon Woman's College in 1925, Channel earned her degree in architecture at Cornell University in 1933. She returned to her hometown of Portsmouth, Virginia, and worked at a firm for two years before opening her own office as the first registered woman architect in Virginia. She became known for her residential and church designs. Her collection includes sketches and drawings for about 140 mostly residential projects in the Portsmouth area. Also included are some college drawings and projects. Unprocessed. Ms2007-030.
CHESTNUTT,
REBECCA, EXHIBITION CATALOG, 2000. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born in Spartanburg, South Carolina, Chestnutt received her Master of
Architecture degree from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State
University in 1981. In 1983 she moved to Berlin and by 1988 Chestnutt
started her firm with Robert Niess, a colleague from Virginia Tech. The
collection includes a copy of the catalog, The History of Air
1988-2000, showing three of their buildings.
Inventory
available online. Ms2002-006
CHONEVA,
KRASIMIRA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. 0.3 cu. ft.
Krasimira Zheliazkova Choneva began working in architecture in the 1950s at the
Varna Design Organization (Bulgaria). Starting in 1971 she was involved in construction of
multi-family housing from prefabricated panels, and she won an award for integrating
color and designs into the monotonous facades. In 1990 she opened a private
office focusing on apartments, residences, and hotels. The papers include drawings
for Pavilion with Changing Rooms for Euxinograd Palace near Varna, conceptual and
working drawings for three private vacation houses, drawings for the Hotel Victor
in St. Nikola and an apartment building, and photos of other projects and
apartment buildings. Ms2007-003
CHOWDHURY,
URMILA EULIE, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1923. Architect of Chandigarh, India; first woman to qualify as an
architect in Asia and to be Chief Architect of an Indian state (Punjab).
Materials include a curriculum vitae and copies of letters sent by the
architect Le Corbusier in the 1960s. Ms2000-025
CHRISTIANOVIC,
RUTH, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. 0.2 cu. ft.
Born 1923. Architect and artist of Vienna, Austria. Materials consist
of a résumé and architectural plans of her designs, sketches,
and watercolors of landscapes and buildings. Ms2000-026
CIOCANEA,
DOINA MARILENA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1999. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1951 in Bucharest, Romania, where she received her diploma in 1976 from the Institute of Architecture. Papers consist of a résumé, photographs and photocopies of drawings of portions of her work. Inventory
available online. Ms2000-004
CLINE,
ANN, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. 0.1 cu. ft.
Artist and architect of California and Ohio; Associate Professor of
Architecture at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio. Materials consist of
articles by and about Cline's work on "Little Houses" or one-room spaces,
and an exhibit of her work at Miami University in 1989. Ms94-011
COLE,
DORIS, COLLECTION. 0.1 cu. ft.
President/Director of the firm Cole and Goyette, Architects and Planners,
in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects
(FAIA). Collection includes brochure packets from her firm and postcards showing
her work. A signed copy of her 1973 book, From Tipi to Skyscraper: A History
of Women in Architecture and a copy of her new book Candid Reflections:
Letters from Women in Architecture 1972 & 2004 (2007) are cataloged in
ADDISON and available in the Special
Collections Rare Book Room. Ms2000-027
COLTER,
MARY JANE, VIDEOTAPE, 1996. 0.1 cu. ft.
1869-1958. Chief architect for the Fred Harvey Company. Designed hotels, gift
shops, and viewing places throughout the southwestern desert in the United States
in the early 1900s. Her most notable designs were the Watchtower, Hopi
House, and Hermit's Rest at the Grand Canyon National Park in Arizona.
Collection includes film entitled "Mary Jane Colter: The Desert View"
produced, written, and directed in 1996 by Jennifer Lee of Beverly
Hills, California, and narrated by Ellen Burstyn, about Colter's life
and work. [Circulating copy available at Art/Arch Library: Video 5508.]
Also available are National Public Radio program cassettes 526/527 in
Rare Book Room. Ms97-005
CONFORTO,
MARIA LETIZIO, PAPERS, 1982-2000. 1.0 cu. ft.
The collection includes drawings of Museo Nazionale Romano Crypta Balbi,
slides, articles, and a brief biographical sketch. Inventory
available online. Ms2002-056
CONSTRUCTIVE WOMEN ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN,
PAPERS. 0.1 cu. ft.
An archive located in North Sydney, Australia, of images of
work by women architects and designers in Australia, formed in 1995.
Records consist of a cover letter introducing the archive, a general
information and collection policy form, guidelines for submitting work
to the archive form, a biographical questionnaire, an image
documentation form, and a copyright agreement form. Also includes
issues of Constructive Times, a newsletter of the Association of
Women Architects, Landscape Architects, Planners and Women in the
Building Industry, in Australia. Ms95-005
COOPER,
MARGARET ROBB SHOOK, RÉSUMÉ AND BROCHURE. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1925. Partner of Architecture 2, a firm in Washington,
D.C. Materials include a curriculum vitae and a brochure, "Robbie
Cooper Design," with photographs and architectural drawings. Ms2000-028
CORNELIUS,
ULLA, ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS, 1983-1985. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1952. Architect of Munster, Germany. The collection
consists of her architectural designs. Ms2000-029
CRAWFORD,
MARTHA J., DESIGN PAPERS. 6 cu. ft.
1925-1994. Architectural interior designer of Waukesha, Wisconsin; first woman
member of the New York Metropolitan Chapter of the Construction Specifications
Institute. Collection consists of a portfolio of biographical and career information,
including lists of projects and exhibitions, and articles about her work; two
scrapbooks (1961-1974) of photographs, clippings, and lists of accomplishments; and
drawings, artwork, and posters by Crawford. Ms94-016
CROLEY,
NAN, ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1996-2006. 0.6 cu. ft.
Nan Croley was born in 1939 and grew up in Cleveland, Ohio. She attended Lake
Erie College in Painesville, Ohio and graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree. She
graduated with a Bachelor of Architecture degree from Pratt Institute, School of
Architecture in 1970. The collection consists of partial sets of construction drawings
for three projects, several renderings and many sketches done while employed at John
Matthews Architects. Projects include a new medical building, the Massolo Building
storefront, and a remodel and addition to a residence. An EAD-encoded
finding aid is available in the Virginia Heritage database. Ms2006-016
CRUISE,
KATHLEEN T., ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1964-1995. 8.5 cu. ft.
Architect in San Francisco, California. Alumna of Virginia Polytechnic
Institute and State University (Virginia Tech). Collection focuses on
her work for Pacific Gas and Electric company in San Francisco,
California. Inventory
available online. Ms99-001
CURRIE,
VIRGINIA M. HERZ, PAPERS, 1934-2000. 2 cu. ft.
Resident of Blacksburg, Virginia, and a 1936 graduate of the architecture
program at the University of Minnesota. Currie married architect Leonard J. Currie
in 1937 and traveled around the world with him, becoming an active community
volunteer wherever they lived. The Currie Papers contain watercolors of room
interiors probably painted as a student in the 1930s. There is also a scrapbook
from a neighborhood beautification project in Chicago in 1966 and a 1995 Valiant
Woman Award from Church Women United.
Inventory
available. Other materials about the Curries are housed at the Special
Collections of the library of the University of Illinois at Chicago. Ms2001-005
CUTLER,
SHERRIE STEPHENS, BROCHURE. 0.1 cu. ft.
Architect of Cambridge, Massachusetts. Collection consists of a
brochure about her firm, Ecodesign International. Ms2000-030
Biographical
Directory: D
DASKALOVA,
SNEZHA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1985-ca. 1995. 0.5 cu. ft.
Snezha Daskalova Milkovska graduated from Sofia Polytechnic in 1950 and
worked in Sofia at "Sofproekt" until her mandatory retirement in 1985. After
laws changed, she opened a private practice, at which she designed mainly
private houses in Bulgaria. Papers include 50 drawings for four
residential projects by Daskalova and one set of student
drawings done by her daughter, Marine Milkovska. Preliminary
inventory list available. Ms2007-004
DeGEZELLE,
MOLLY, INVENTION PAPERS. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born in 1979, resident of Mankato, Minnesota. Invented a building material
composed of recycled paper and glue, originally created as an entry in a science
fair competition in 1991. The material is now manufactured under the trade name
Environ, by Phenix Biocomposites. Collection consists of literature about the
invention, including the paper she wrote for the science fair, biographical
information about DeGezelle, and samples of her original invention (which she
called "MollyBoard") and Environ. Ms95-014
DE LEMOS,
MARIA JOANA VIANA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1984-1985 0.5 cu. ft.
Architect of Coimbra, Portugal. Papers consist of
two notebooks of architectural drawings and construction specifications for
health centers in Tondela and Vagos, Portugal, of which de Lemos was architect.
Ms2000-059
DIAMOND,
KATHERINE, ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1985-1995. 0.2 cu. ft.
Partner in Charge of Siegel Diamond Architects of Los Angeles, California, and
the first woman to serve as President of the American Institute of Architects, Los
Angeles Chapter. President of the Association for Women in Architecture from 1989-91.
collection consists of correspondence, a curriculum vitae, and information about the
exhibit "Women in American Architecture, 1888-1989: A Historic, Contemporary and
Southern California Perspective," which Diamond helped create. Also includes a 1992
draft of the book Women Architects: USA, by Jan Gero and information about
the AIA exhibit "That Exceptional One." An EAD-encoded
finding aid is available in the Virginia Heritage database. Ms96-001
DIAZ,
LUZ MARIA BERISTAIN, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1996. 0.1 cu. ft.
A member of the Faculty of Architecture at the Universidad
Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, Division de Postgrado, The Luz Maria
Beristain Diaz Architectural Papers consist of Beristain Diaz's Master's
Thesis in Restoration of Monuments entitled "Restoration of the Barrio
de Tizapan Historical Center, Mexico City." Inventory
available online. Ms2001-022
DIETRICH,
VERENA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1941. Architect of Cologne, Germany. Papers include photographs of
Dietrich and of her designs, a list of her designs from 1979 to 1990, copies of
architectural drawings and photographs for her book, Architecktinnen:
Ideen-Projekte- Bauten 1986), a exhibition poster of her work in Berlin (1992),
and articles (1980-86) by her and about her work. Ms87-060
DONEV,
MIRIANA I., RÉSUMÉ 0.1 cu. ft.
Architect of New Rochelle, New York; job captain of the firm of Allan Greenberg,
Architect, of New Haven, Connecticut. Graduated from the Parsons School of Design in
1975 (B.F.A. in Environmental Design) and Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State
University in 1977 (M. Arch.). Curriculum vitae. Ms2000-031
DÖRHÖFER,
KERSTIN, ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1984-2001. 0.2 cu. ft.
Born in Dresden in 1943, Dorhofer received her architecture degree in 1969 from
the Technical University of Berlin and later earned her doctoral degree with a
dissertation about social housing in Germany. In 1979 Dorhofer formed an organization
for women's studies at the Free University of Berlin. Since 1986, Dorhofer has taught
at the University of Arts in Berlin. This collection includes a bound portfolio book
with photocopies showing her work from 1966-1972, a publication by the International
Women's University entitled Reader: Project Area "City and Gender," with essays by
Dorhofer and Beverly Willis, and a few biographical items. An EAD-encoded
finding aid is available in the Virginia Heritage database. Ms2002-007
DOUGHERTY,
BETSEY OLENICK, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. 0.1 cu. ft.
Architect of Newport Beach, California. Member of the National
American Institute of Architects Board of Directors representing
California, and a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects.
Papers consist of photographs (1980-86) of her designs and a flyer and
a brochure of her firm, Dougherty + Dougherty. Ms2000-032.
DOWS,
WENA W., ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1966-1988. 6 cu. ft.
Born in 1928. Architect of Culver City, California. Wena Dows earned her B.A. in
Architecture from the University of California, Berkeley in 1950 and began working independently,
specializing in residential remodeling, in 1954. Along with her architectural
commitments she also worked as a nutritionist. This collection contains drawings,
textual documents, photographs and slides of Dows' addition and renovation projects
for residences in California from 1966 to 1988, along with information about a few
commercial projects. An EAD-encoded
finding aid is available in the Virginia Heritage database. Ms90-013
DREW,
JANE, RÉSUMÉ. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1911, died 1996. Assistant Town Planning Advisor to the Colonies of
Nigeria, the Gold Coast, Sierra Leone, and Gambia.
DRISKEL,
JEAN ROTH, BIOGRAPHICAL PAPERS. 0.1 cu. ft.
1915-1971. Fellow of the American Institute of Architects, member of the
Union Internationale des Femmes Architectes, and national president
(1954-1956) of the Association of Women in Architecture. Designer of
residential, commercial, and industrial buildings in Pasadena,
California. Notebook of material relating to Driskel and her career,
including a photograph, correspondence regarding her membership in the
American Institute of Architects (1949-1958), news clippings (1968-1971),
and obituaries, donated by the Association for Women in
Architecture. Ms2000-033
DUNAY,
DONNA, PAPERS. 0.3 cu. ft.
Professor of Architecture at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University;
member of the IAWA Board of Advisors and its chair 1994-2000. Collection includes
History of Architecture Cybercore Project (CD-ROM, 2000) and
"Blacksburg Competition." Ms2001-054
DUNCOMBE,
A. JANE, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1952-2002. 2 cu. ft.
Born in 1925. Graduate of Art Institute of Chicago School of Industrial Design
and apprentice of Frank Lloyd Wright at Taliesin (1950-1951). Architect in San
Francisco Bay Area from 1956 to 1996. Papers primarily include drawings and some
printed material that relate to various residential and other projects, one in
Illinois and the rest in California. A EAD-encoded
finding aid is available in the Virginia Heritage database. Ms2002-004
Biographical
Directory: E
EDELMAN,
JUDITH, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1967-1997. 0.4 cu. ft.
Partner of The Edelman Partnership/Architects of New York City.
Founding member of the Alliance of Women in Architecture (AWA) and a
Fellow of the American Institute of Architects. Papers consist of
newspaper clippings, correspondence, writings, and published literature
about Edelman's activities with the AWA, as well as writings by her and
about her work as an advocate for women in the field of architecture.
Also includes photographs, floor plans, and supplementary information
about seven architectural projects done by her. An EAD-encoded
finding aid is available in the Virginia Heritage database. Ms97-010
EMMONS,
AUDREY, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1974-1997. 2 cu. ft.
1921-1997. Architect of Sausalito, California, and a Fellow of
the American Institute of Architects. Received B.S. in Architecture at
Kansas State University in 1943, and worked for architectural firms in
Washington, D.C., and San Francisco, California, until she established
her own firm in 1980. Papers consists of architectural drawings,
photographs, slides, and job files for designs Emmons did in San
Francisco, Sausalito, and other Northern California locations from the
mid-1970s to 1996.
Inventory available online. Ms97-018
ENGLISH,
ELIZABETH COOPER, DISSERTATION AND DOSSIER, 2000-2001. 0.5 cu. ft.
Cooper received her PhD in Architecture from the University of
Pennsylvania in 2000. Her dissertation is titled Arkhitektura I
Mnimosti: The Origins of Soviet Avant-Garde Rationalist Architecture in
the Russian Mystical-Philosophical and Mathematical Intellectual
Tradition. Inventory
available online. Ms2002-003
ENRIQUEZ-MUSNI,
MARJORIE L., REFERENCE COLLECTION. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1958. Planner of Manila, the Philippines. Materials consist of her
curriculum vitae. Ms2000-034
ESPEGEL
ALONSO, CARMEN, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1995-2004. 0.6 cu. ft.
Associate Professor of Projects at the Higher Technical School of Architecture
in Madrid, Spain. Practicing architect since 1985. Served as Principal of her firm
VZK Architects (1991-1998) and currently works with her firm Espegel-Fisac Arquitectos
(2003-). Papers include a copy of her Master's thesis, "Study and Restoration Proposals
for the "Maison en Bord De Mer: E. 1027" By Arch. Eileen Gray and Jean Badovici," graphic
dossiers of her work, and some correspondence. An EAD-encoded
finding aid is available in the Virginia Heritage database. Ms2001-021
Biographical
Directory: F
FALLON,
KRISTINE K., PAPERS, 1979-2004. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1949. Former president of Computer Technology Management, Inc., of A. Epstein
Companies, in Chicago, Illinois, and a consultant to architects and engineers on the
effective use of computers in facility design. Current head of Kristine Fallon Associates,
Inc. Collection materials consist of a résumé, a career information form from the AIA
Archives, materials from the UIFA 1979 conference and essays. UIFA materials include a program,
a participant's list, and two papers, "Computer-Aided Design in Architectural Practice" by
Fallon and "If the City Were a She" by Donna E. Shalala. Essays include a 1980 article by
Fallon, "An Overview of Computer Aided Design in Architectural Practice," a 1981 article
by Margrit Kennedy, “Gyn/Ecology: On the Relationship Between Woman/ Nature/Space," and a
1988 article, "Computer Applications in Building Design and Management" in which Fallon is
featured. A digital copy of KFA's 2004 report for the Art Institute of Chicago, "Collecting,
Archiving, and Exhibiting Digital Design Data" is also included. Ms2000-035
FESSAS-EMMANOUIL,
HELEN, BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION, 2004. 0.1 cu. ft.
Architect and professor in Athens, Greece. Author of Public Architecture in Modern
Greece, 1827-1992 and Essays on Neohellenic Architecture, which are available in
the library catalog, Addison. Ms2004-011
FEUERSTEIN,
MARCIA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1983-1995. 2.2 cu. ft.
Feuerstein earned her PhD. in Architecture from the University of Pennsylvania.
In 1996 she joined the architecture faculty at Virginia Polytechnic Institution and
State University, after teaching at the University of Pennsylvania, Temple University,
and the University at Buffalo. She chaired the IAWA Board of Advisors 2001-2005, after
serving as its secretary and newsletter editor. A licensed architect and member of the
AIA, she has practiced in New York, Philadelphia, Buffalo, and Niagara Falls. Her
papers consist of teaching, writing, and project documents and project drawings.
Ms2007-007
FIGUEIRA,
LEONOR, RÉSUMÉ. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1937. Principal architect of the Portuguese Institute of Cultural Heritage.
Curriculum vitae prepared by the United States Information Agency. Ms2000-055
FILAS,
HILDE, BROCHURE. 0.1 cu. ft.
Architect of Vienna, Austria. Brochure of her work. Ms2000-048
FISHER,
LAURA HORSTMAN, BIOGRAPHICAL COLLECTION, 1986-2002. 0.1 cu.ft.
Vice president of facilities at Allied Bancshares, Inc. in
Houston, Texas. Member of the American Institute of Architects, FAIA.
Collection includes a résumé and biography; an article
citing her as the recipient of the 1986 Young Architect Award from the
Houston AIA; a catalog she edited, Houston's Gallery of Architecture:
A Walking Tour of Downtown Houston, and her nomination
binder for AIA Fellowship. Ms2000-049
FLAGGE,
INGEBORG, CATALOG, 1987. 0.1 cu. ft.
Architect of Bonn, Germany. Flagge edited the catalog entitled "Frauen in der
Architektur--bauen Frauen anders?" (Women in Architecture - Do Women Build
Differently?) that arose from a discussion at the Friedrick-Ebert-Stiftung in 1987.
Ms2001-053
FLECKEN,
URSULA, ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS. 0.1 cu. ft.
Architect of Aachen, Germany. Papers consist of two sets of architectural
drawings, "The Reorganization of the Central Area of Monchengladbach" and
"Improvement of the 'Märkisches Viertel' in Berlin." Ms2000-036
FORSTHUBER,
SABINE, PAPERS, 1985-1992. 0.3 cu. ft.
Art and architecture historian of Vienna, Austria. Papers consist of
literature about prominent women architects of Austria, including Anne-Lulja
Praun and Margarette Schutte-Lihotzky. Also includes an article Forsthuber
wrote about the history of women architects in Austria. Ms92-018
FRITZ,
SYLVIA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born in 1955 in Vienna, Austria, Fritz is an architect and artist. Materials
include a brochure of Fritz's work from 1977 to 1987; photographs of her; an
exhibition leaflet, Turme von Sylvia Fritz (1982); and articles (1981-1984)
in which her work is cited. Ms2000-037
Biographical
Directory: G
GABREA,
GEORGETA, ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS, 1996-1999. 0.3 cu. ft.
Born 1953 in Bucharest, Romania. Officer of architectural firm, Capitel
Limited. Papers consist of a personal résumé, corporate
dossier, photocopies of photographs and documents, and blue drawings of
portions of her work including an office building and an apartment
building. Finding
aid available online. Ms2000-005
GALSTER,
GERTRUD, PUBLICATIONS, 1963-1988.
Architect of Denmark and member of the Union
Internationale des Femmes Architectes (UIFA). Collection consists
of books about women architects and reports and other literature from
the meetings of the UIFA. Ms96-020
GAYER,
DIANE ELLIOTT, COLLECTION, 1997-2002. 0.5 cu. ft.
Publications and one poster generated by Diane Elliott Gayer's development of Vermont
Design Institute, Historic Main Street Partnership Study in Burlington, Vermont, and Colorado
Left Bank Townhomes. An EAD-encoded
finding aid is available in the Virginia Heritage database. Ms2002-045
GETOV,
ALEXANDRINA, ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 2005-2008. 0.2 cu. ft.
Getov has a Master's of Science in Architecture from the Higher Institute
of Architecture and Civil Engineering in Sofia, Bulgaria. Since 1992 she has lived
in Los Angeles, California, where she is a principal at Studio Antares. This
collection contains brief biographical information about Getov, as well as
architectural drawings and color images of two 2005 residential projects in
California. Ms2008-014
GIANNESINI,
FRANCOISE, BOOK, 1994. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born in 1945 and sculptor in Paris, France. Francoise Giannesini, Sculptures,
1985-1994 (1994). by F. Giannesini, c1994, 40 p. NB553 G45 A4 1994
GLEBOVA,
TATJANA, RÉSUMÉ AND DESIGN SUBMISSION, 1990. 0.2 cu. ft.
Architect of Sofia, Bulgaria. Papers consist of exhibit boards for a design
she submitted to a 1990 competition and a curriculum vitae. Ms92-022
GORIN,
ABBYE A., VIDEOTAPE AND CATALOG OF WORK, 1995-1997. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1927. Architectural researcher and writer of Metairie, Louisiana.
Educated at the University of Texas at Austin (B.F.A., 1947), University of
New Orleans (M.S., Urban Studies, 1985), and Virginia Tech (Ph.D.,
Environmental Design and Planning, 1989). Collection consists of a six-minute
film entitled "The Rivergate, 1968-1995," produced by Barbara Coleman and
written by Gorin and Betty Moss. The Rivergate was an exhibition center located
in downtown New Orleans, Louisiana, designed by Nathaniel Curtis, Jr., in the
mid-1960s. It was demolished in 1995 to make way for a gambling casino. The
film was created as a tribute to the building and as a protest to its
demolition. The collection also includes at 42-page "Catalog of Work"
which has a curriculum vitae of Gorin's career achievements and
lists her photographic collections located in the Historical New Orleans Collection and the Latin American Library at Tulane University. Ms97-009
GOTTLIEB,
LOIS DAVIDSON, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1947-2003. 18.6 cu. ft.
Residential designer in San Francisco, California. Attended Stanford University and
Harvard Graduate School of Design. Served as an apprentice to Frank Lloyd Wright from
1948 to 1949 as part of the Taliesin Fellowship. Designed residences in California,
Washington, Idaho, and Virginia and is the author of Environment and Design in
Housing (Macmillan, 1965). Papers include project files, drawings, correspondence,
manuscripts, photographs and printed material related to Gottlieb's design work and
various professional activities. There is also documentary footage by Eva Soltes
Productions about Lois Gottlieb, including tapes entitled "Lois Plans," "A Way of Life
(demo reel)" and "House and Exterior by Robert Gottlieb," 1995-1997. Photographs of
some of her works are available on the VT
ImageBase. An EAD-encoded
finding aid is available in the Virginia Heritage database. Ms97-003
GOTTWALD-THAPAR,
SYLVIA, COLLECTION. 0.1 cu. ft.
Urban designer and planner at the Maryland National Capital Parks and Planning
Commission. Curriculum vitae. Ms2000-038
GRAMATIKOVA,
LILIA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1971-1987. 0.6 cu. ft.
Drawings and photos for two projects in Bulgaria: Music High School for Folk
Instruments and Folk Singing, and Territorial Information and Computing Center,
plus certificates and awards from Bulgaria and Germany, and a biographical sketch.
The collection also includes
a photocopy of a drawing of Gramatikova's personal residence in Sofia, Bulgaria
completed in 1965. Pictures of her work are available on the VT
ImageBase.
An partial inventory is
available online. Ms2001-023
GRAU-GARCIA,
CHRISTINA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. 0.3 cu. ft.
Born 1946. Professor of architecture at the Escuela T.S. de Arquitectura
Universidad Politecnica-Valencia in Spain. Collection consists of a curriculum
vitae, magazine articles (1974-1983), copies of photographs and floor plans
of two of her designs, architectural journals (1988) with articles by Grau-Garcia,
and an academic catalog for the University and a book, Borges y la Arquitectura
(1989), both written by Grau-Garcia. Ms2001-066
GRISOGONO,
KSENIJA, RÉSUMÉ. 0.1 cu. ft.
1909-1997. Attended Zagreb University, earned a degree in Architecture and
Engineering, (1933). Attended the Institute of Fine Art in Prague, (1937).
Following her studies in Prague, Grisogono studied with Le Corbusier. She worked
on the Yugoslav Pavilion (1938) in Ankara, Turkey; the Italian Cultural Institute
(1938) in Belgrade, Yugoslavia; and the British and French Embassies (1949), also
in Belgrade. In Paris, France she worked on La Defense (1960-1970), a massive business
quarter.
GROAT,
LINDA N., BIOGRAPHICAL COLLECTION. 0.1 cu. ft.
Associate Dean for Academic Programs and Administration at the University
of Michigan. Curriculum vitae. Ms2000-039
GUILLISSEN-HOA,
SIMONE, PAPERS, 1987. 0.1 cu. ft.
The collection consists of photographs of Guillessen-Hoa taken in 1987 and a
biographical sketch, documenting her career from 1947-1987.
Inventory
available online. Ms2001-024
Biographical Directory: H
HAFER,
HANNELORE, BOOK AND SKETCH. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1954, architect of Kassel, Germany. Collection contains a book,
Glasarchitektur: Bewohnte Glashauser und Glasanbauten (1986),
co-written with Egon Bohmer, and a sketch of a skyline. Ms2000-040
HAKALA-MEYER,
MAIJA, PORTFOLIO AND BIOGRAPHICAL ABSTRACT. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1944. Architect of Braunschweig, Germany. Collection consists of a
portfolio of photocopies of articles, architectural drawings, and photographs,
and a brief biographical abstract. Ms2000-041
HALL,
LOUISE. PAPERS, 1860-1990. 85 cu. ft.
(1905-1990) B.A. from Wellesley College in 1927, B.S. from MIT in 1930, Ph.D. from
Radcliffe 1954. Hall was a long-time member of the North Carolina Chapter of the AIA, and
served as its archivist. She taught art and architectural history at Duke University from
1931-1975 and mentored many architects and scholars, including Dr. Mary Woods at the School
of Architecture at Cornell who recently published a history of the profession. The Hall
collection contains papers from her teaching career, various jobs including architecture
projects, drawings from an architecture class, diaries, maps, blueprints, scrapbooks and
original artwork. It also includes old family letters and photographs (including glass
negatives, cartes de visite, cabinet cards, and tintypes), genealogical research notes,
and personal papers. Preliminary inventory available. Ms2000-086
HANNA,
BRONWYN, THESIS. 0.1 cu. ft.
Active in Constructive Women: The Association of Women Architects, Landscape
Architects, Planners and Women of the Building Industry. PhD thesis on early women
architects in New South Wales, Australia. Ms2000-028
HANSEN,
FANI DANADJIEVA, RÉSUMÉ AND PAPERS, 1982-1988. 0.1 cu. ft.
General Partner, Hansen Associates, Tiburon , California. Received Award of Honor
(1980) for Design Excellence and first place for Energy Conservation Competition (1981).
The collection include a resume, Hansen Architects firm project sheets, audio interview,
and information about and photographs of the Pittsburgh Civic Center.
Inventory available
online. Ms2001-061
HARKNESS,
SARAH PILLSBURY, PAPERS, 1985-1997. 0.7 cu. ft.
Born 1914 in Finland. Architect of Lexington, Massachusetts, and a Fellow of the
American Institute of Architects. Founding member (1945) of The Architects
Collaborative, an architecture firm based in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Collection
consists of a book by Harkness, Sustainable Design for Two Maine Islands (1985),
an audiocassette with a lecture given October 1986 by her at Virginia Tech about
sustainable design, architectural drawings and photographs of a house she designed
in 1996-1997 in Essex, Massachusetts, and a booklet documenting the presentations
given at an awards dinner when she was presented with the Boston Society of Architects
1991 Award of Honor. Finding
aid available online. Ms97-024
HARLING,
ELISABETH-CHARLOTTE, PAPERS, 1950-1998. 2.1 cu. ft.
Born in 1922. Architect in Germany, but also worked in France and Switzerland.
Papers reflect Harling's work as an architect, and an interior designer and her
work in university buildings as well as on commercial buildings.
Finding aid
available online. Ms99-007
HASTINGS,
L. JANE, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1951-2003 10.5 cu. ft.
Architect in Seattle, founder and owner of The Hastings Group - Architects. Papers
include drawings, presentation boards, photographs, slides, and printed material relating to
Hastings' professional and design activities. An EAD-encoded
partial finding aid is available in the Virginia Heritage database. Additional
drawings for about 20 more projects and slides showing 39 projects were added in
2005 and 2006. Information about UIFA confererences, 1969-1998, added in 2008. Ms2004-004
HAUTMANN-KISS,
KLARA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. 0.2 cu. ft.
Architect of Vienna, Austria. Papers include an article, "Residential Parks
as a Solution of Today's Housing Problem;" plans for "Wiener Flur," a
housing project in Vienna; a brief biography; and a pen sketch (1980) of a
theatre interior. Ms2000-042
HAYDEN,
FLORENCE KENYON, PAPERS. 0.1 cu. ft.
Architecture instructor at Ohio State University in 1905; first
registered woman architect in Ohio. Papers include her class
lecture notebook, with sketches; a photograph of Oxley Hall, a
dormitory for women at OSU, which she designed; and a 1907 postcard
addressed to her for a "20th Century" window. Ms88-062
HEBALD-HEYMANN,
MARGO, RÉSUMÉ AND COMPANY BROCHURE. 0.1 cu. ft.
President of Margo Hebald-Heymann, AIA & Associates, Inc., a company specializing
in designing commercial structures and health care facilities in California. Collection
consists of a brochure from her firm with a curriculum vitae. Ms2000-043
HELG,
FRANCA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1989. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1920, Milan, Italy. The Franca Helg Architectural Papers consist of an
article that Helg wrote in 1989 entitled "Franco Albini-Architect and Teacher,"
as well as a catalog about Helg.
Inventory available online. Ms2001-025
HERMANUZ,
GHISLAINE, BIOGRAPHICAL COLLECTION. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1942. Professor of Architecture at the City College of New York School of
Architecture (1986- ), Director of the City College Architectural Center, and principal
of Hermanuz, Ltd., in New York. Member of the Societe d'Ingenieurs et Architectes
of Switzerland. Papers consist of a résumé with a list of publications
and papers; a brochure, A Housing Platform for Harlem (1985), published by the
Community Design Workshop of Columbia University, of which Hermanuz was director;
and a report, "Shelter and Community: An Agenda for Action," (1988) prepared by
Hermanuz for the United Nations Non-Governmental Organizations Committee on Shelter
and Community. Ms2000-045
HERMANN-CHONG,
EVELYN CHI-CHAIN, BROCHURE, 1998. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born in China, 1941. Architect of Bern, Switzerland. The brochure describes the work
she has done as a principal of A. & C. Herrmann-Chong Freie Architekten in Bern. Ms98-020
HIGASHI,
YUMIKO OSAWA, EXHIBITION MATERIALS, 2001.
Please see the International Union of Women Architects (UIFA) 13th
Congress Materials, Ms2002-031.
HILLEBRAND,
LUCY, BOOKS. 0.2 cu. ft. 1906-1998. Architect of Gottingen, Germany. Collection
includes a catalog of her 1991 exhibition and books about her work: Lucy Hillebrand--Wege
Zum Raum by Klaus Hoffman (NA1088 H53 H63 1985); Lucy Hillebrand--Bauen Als Impuls
und Dialog by Christian Grohn (NA1088 H53 A35 1990); and Zeit-Raume der
Architektin Lucy Hillebrand by Dieter Boeminghous (NA1088 H53 A35 1983). Hillebrand's
papers are in the archive of the Deutsches Architektur Museum in Frankfurt, Germany. Ms2000-047
"HISTORY OF WOMEN ARCHITECTS,"
EXHIBIT PANELS, GERMAN FEDERAL REPUBLIC SECTION OF THE INTERNATIONAL UNION OF WOMEN ARCHITECTS,
1986-1987. 8 cu. ft.
An exhibit (33 panels) of documentary material about women architects in the early
and middle 1900s. Includes photographs of the architects and their works, with captions
and abstracts. Women featured include Ray Eames, Eileen Gray, Florence Knoll, Lilly Reich,
Hilde Westrom, and Emilie Winkelmann. A catalog accompanies the
panels, with articles about women architects and designers written by Karola Bloch,
Grete Lihotzky, Helga Schmidt-Thomsen, and others. Ms88-059
HOLT,
RENGIN T., SILKSCREEN, 1985. 1 cu. ft.
Instructor of architecture at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State
University. Framed silkscreen of Holt's "Palladio Bridge," hanging in Special
Collections' Reading Room, Newman Library, and a print and an exhibition announcement. Ms95-001
HOLROYDE,
MARJORIE, RÉSUMÉ. 0.1 cu.ft.
Received her Bachelor of Architecture degree from the University of Sydney School
of Architecture in 1926. Worked as a tracer for Julius, Poole & Gibson, Sydney, Australia.
HOOK,
MARY ROCKWELL, BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL, 1929-1979. 0.1 cu. ft.
1877-1978. Residential Architect in Kansas City, Missouri, and architect
of the Pine Mountain Settlement School in Harlan County, Kentucky. Collection
includes photocopies of her autobiography, This and That, articles about
her life and work, and obituaries. Also includes audio cassettes of an interview of
Mary Rogers of Pine Mountain by Louise Chawla about Hook's life and career. The
Kentucky Oral History Society retains copyright and literary rights to the
interview. Ms91-001
HOOKER,
MARJORIE MEAD, RÉSUMÉ.
Born 1925. Associate, McHugh and Hooker, Bradley P. Kidder and Associates, Santa
Fe, New Mexico from 1955 to 1965.
HORSTMAN,
LAURA. See Laura Horstman Fisher. Ms2000-049
HORTON,
INGE S., RÉSUMÉ AND WRITINGS, 1967-1989. 0.3 cu. ft.
Born in Germany. Planner with the Planning Department of the City and
County of San Francisco, California, from 1983 to 1998; member of the IAWA Board
of Advisors. Papers consist of architectural studies written by Horton while
in Germany; presentations made at various women's architectural organization
meetings, including the International Union of Women Architects; and a
curriculum vitae. Ms90-065
HOSKEN,
FRANZISKA PORGES, RÉSUMÉ AND BOOK, 1972; 1992. 0.1 cu. ft.
Publisher and editor of Women's International Network News
and a consultant to International Women's Development and Communication, Housing and
Urbanization International. Earned her Master of Architecture degree at the Harvard
Graduate School of Design in 1944. Resident of Lexington, Massachusetts. Papers
consist of a curriculum vitae compiled in 1992 and a copy of her book The Language
of Cities: A Visual Introduction to the Form and Function of the City
(Schenkman Publishing Company, Inc., Cambridge, Massachusetts, 1972). Ms92-050
HOUSE,
STEVEN AND CATHI, ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1992-1999. 0.2 cu. ft.
Architects of California. Cathi House earned her bachelor of architecture from
Virginia Tech. She worked at various firms until founding her own award-winning San
Francisco firm, House + House Architects, with husband and fellow VT alumnus Steven House
in 1982. The collection contains descriptions, plans, and photographs of two buildings
designed by House + House, the Jarvis residence and the Langmaid residence. An EAD-encoded
finding aid is available in the Virginia Heritage database. Ms2006-017
HUBACHER,
ANNEMARIE, LISTING OF PROJECTS. 0.1 cu.ft.
Architect of Zurich, Switzerland. Collection consists of a list of architectural
designs that Hubacher was involved in. Ms98-013
HUBER,
VERENA, BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL, 1994-1998. 0.1 cu.ft.
Born 1938. Interior designer of Zurich, Switzerland, and former president of VSI,
the Swiss Association of Interior Designers. Papers include a curriculum vitae,
photocopies of articles about her work, and other biographical information. Ms98-010
Biographical
Directory: I
INTERNATIONAL ARCHIVE OF WOMEN IN ARCHITECTURE (IAWA),
RECORDS, 1985-2003. 9 cu. ft.
The records of the IAWA consist chiefly of files created by founder Milka
Bliznakov and various IAWA archivists. Materials includes meeting minutes,
newsletter information, correspondence with supporters and donors, and internal
correspondence. Partial inventory
available online. Ms85-021
ISHIKAWA,
DR. YAEKO
Please see the International Union of Women Architects (UIFA) 13th
Congress Materials, Ms2002-031
ISON,
LEONORA, RÉSUMÉ.
Although Ison did not build, she was the first woman to win scholarships
at the Bartlett School of Architecture, London University, England, and was
a successful illustrator of architecture books.
Biographical
Directory: J
JANSONE,
VERA, ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS, ca. 1940s, 1961-1975. 9.5 cu. ft.
Born in Latvia, educated at the École des Beaux Arts in Paris from 1945-49. The
collection consists of 89 drawings by Vera Jansone as both a student and a professional
architect. Also included is an article in the "OWA Tour of Residences Designed by Women
Architects in Marin County and Napa Valley" about the Greenbrae Residence which Jansone
designed in 1975, as well as two résumés. An EAD-encoded
finding aid is available in the Virginia Heritage database. Ms2001-026
JAUCH-STOLZ,
MONIKA PIA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. 0.3 cu. ft.
Born 1954. Architect of Luzerne, Switzerland, and member of the Societe d'Ingenieurs
et Architectes. Papers include a curriculum vitae, photos of jewelry she has created,
interiors and exteriors of her architectural designs, and copies of architectural
drawings she designed with her husband, Martin Jauch. Ms2000-050
JOHNSON,
JANE C. HALL, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. 8 cu. ft.
Drawings, blueprints, sketches, portfolios (2), clippings, photographs, business
correspondence, publicity materials, and presentation boards documenting
the professional career of architect Jane Hall Johnson. The bulk of the
collection pertains to Johnson's career in St. Louis, Missouri,
1959-1986. The collection also includes materials from student and
professional projects in Boston, 1955-1959. The collection contains
numerous photographs of Johnson's work and a folder of paintings titled
"Experiments with Color." An EAD-encoded
finding aid is available online through the Virginia Heritage database. Ms2000-051
JUDKOVSKI,
NOEMI, EXHIBIT PANELS, 1991.
Architect of Israel. Collection is three exhibit panels with
photographs of her designs of kibbutzes in Israel. Ms91-054
Biographical
Directory: K
KAZAKOVA,
LUIDMILA, COLLECTION, 2002. 0.1 cu. ft.
Russian architect. Collection contains an article featuring Kazakova's
design for the Pyatnitski Fish Market from the Annual published by the Moscow
Branch of the International Academy of Architecture in 2002. In Russian and
English. Ms2006-013
KECHEDZHIEVA,
NEVENA STOIANOVA, ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS, 1971-1989. 1.0 cu. ft.
Born 1927 in Sofia, Bulgaria. Worked for the State Design Organization "Glavproekt"
from 1951-1984, currently designs for private clients. Collection contains her designs
for residential and commercial projects in Bulgaria, Nigeria and Yemen, including Hotel
No. 230, Sunny Coast Resort, Bulgaria, a motel and bungalows in Gold Moor, Yemen, and
gas station outside of Sofia, Bulgaria. biographical information is also included. An EAD-encoded
finding aid is available in the Virginia Heritage database. Ms2000-009
KEICHLINE,
ANNA W., BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL. 0.2 cu. ft.
1889-1943. Architect and inventor from Bellefonte, Pennsylvania. First registered
woman architect in Pennsylvania and inventor of the K-brick. Designed the Decker Home
in Bellefonte. Papers include a copy of an article by her, "Modern Wall Construction"
from the 1932 issue of The Clay-Worker, information about her ideas concerning
kitchen design, copies of patents for a combination sink and laundry tub, photographs,
and biographical information. Added in 2002 biographical materials authored, or collected
by, her niece Nancy Perkins. Includes a CD-ROM
documenting her life
in application for state marker, articles and exhibit programs. Ms89-016
KEMP,
DIANE LEGGE, BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1949. Principal of DLK Architecture, Inc. of Chicago, Illinois. Former
partner of Skidmore, Owings & Merrill in Chicago and former board member of the
Chicago Chapter of the American Institute of Architects. Fellow of the American
Institute of Architects. Papers include a curriculum vitae, a photograph of Kemp,
articles (1985-89) about her work, and slides of structures she has designed. Ms2000-052
KENNEDY,
LOUISE ST. JOHN, BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1950. First woman to be appointed to the Architects Board of
Western Australia, and designer of the Perth Mosman Park Tea Rooms,
the Pines Business Centre in Cottesloe, and numerous other structures
in Western Australia. Papers include articles (1988) about her work and
an extensive curriculum vitae detailing her designs and projects,
honors, published work, and memberships. Ms2000-053
KEREMIDARSKA,
SVETLANA LAZAROVA, RÉSUMÉ.
Born 1950. Russian landscape architect.
KHOKHLOVA,
LARISA, COLLECTION, 2004. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1926. Russian architect, graduated from Moscow Architecture Institute
in 1951. Collection contains list of publications, photos of book covers. Three
books about building houses and public buildings in ADDISON library catalog.
Ms2006-012
KHAZANOVA,
VIGDARIA, COLLECTION, ca. 1970. 0.1 cu. ft.
1924-2004. Khazanova is an architectural historian. She earned her masters degree in art history from Moscow State University in 1948. Her collection includes two handwritten manuscripts and a book about
Soviet architecture (in Russian) donated by her son and architect, Mikhail Khazanov. Ms2007-008
KHRISTOVA,
SNEZHA TODOROVA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1974-1986. 0.5 cu. ft.
Born August 25, 1934, Sandanski, Bulgaria. The collection consists
of drawings for three projects: "Khisaria Two" a Sanatorium and spa for
government officials located in Khisaria Springs, Bulgaria (1974-82);
"Mother and Child" a child delivery clinic, nursery, and rehabilitation
center located in the village of Shiroka Luka, Bulgaria (1983-84); a
physiotherapy, rehabilitation and recreation center for the State
Council and the Council of Ministers located in Bankia Bulgaria
(1984-86). Inventory
available online. Ms2001-027
KINGSLEY,
KAREN. RESEARCH, 1984. 0.1 cu. ft.
Kingsley is
a professor of architectural history at Tulane University. This collection
consists of an article that she wrote about architect Mary Mykolyk. Ms2006-006
KLINGELHOFER,
PETRA, ARTWORK AND ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1958. Architect of Stuttgart, Germany. Materials consist of four portfolios
of sketches of landscapes and nudes, and two projects in which she was involved. Ms2000-054
KOCI,
ILSE, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1919. Architect of Vienna, Austria, and designer of many structures in
that city. Collection includes a curriculum vitae; eleven photographs (1962-76) of
buildings she has designed; an elevation (1969) of Unido Wettbewerb; and a copy of
notes of "Research upon the Possibility of a Pedestrian Zone" with preliminary
sketches, plans, elevations, and perspectives. Ms86-015
KOCI-MONTANARI,
SILVIA, ARTWORK, 1984-1986. 0.1 cu. ft.
Architect and artist of Rome, Italy. Eleven ink sketches of
building exteriors in Austria and Italy. Ms2000-055
KOLLER-BUCHWIESER,
HELENE, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1942-1998. 20 cu. ft.
Born 1912. Architect of Vienna, Austria. Collection consists of architectural
drawings and papers associated with approximately fifty projects done by
Koller-Buchwieser throughout her career as an architect in Austria. Most of the
projects were done in Vienna, many as part of the reconstruction efforts following the
destruction of buildings during World War II, though she spent much of her career
designing churches and monasteries as well as residential and community structures.
Also includes biographical information, descriptions and photographs of her designs
from 1961 to 1981, and catalogs from the Society of Christian
Artists. Pictures of her work are available on the VT
ImageBase.
Inventory
available online. Ms95-020
KREIS,
BARBARA, BOOKS AND TRAVEL REPORT. 0.5 cu. ft.
Born 1947. Architect of Munich, Germany. Materials about Kreis include three books -
Moskau, 1917-1935: Vom Wohneinsbau Zum Stadtebau (1985), Moskau, Samarkand,
Leningrad (1984), and Architekturtheatre: Russische Avantgarde Der 20er Jahre
(1988) - and a travel report of which she was editor and a participant in gathering the
data about buildings in these cities, for a study group at the Technical University of Munich.
KRUGER,
EVA, ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION. 0.3 cu. ft.
Born in Berlin, Germany in 1922. Eva Kruger earned her architecture degree from
the Technische Hochschule Charlottenburg in 1950 and worked as an architect in Germany
until the mid 1960s, when she focused her career on art. The collection consists of
biographical information and architectural drawings, mostly for projects in Germany.
Ms2000-098
KUHLER,
INGEBORG, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1987-1990. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1943, Dachau, Germany. The collection consists of color photomontages
and black and white photomontages of two buildings designed by Kuhler: the Studios
for the Broadcasting Corporation of Southern Germany, 1987; and the State Museum of
Technology and Labor, 1990, both in Mannheim. Also included is a brief biography of
Kuhler. Inventory
available online. Ms2001-028
Biographical Directory: L
LAMBERT,
PHYLLIS, BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION, 0.1 cu. ft.
Bachelor degree from Vassar in 1948, master's degree from Illinois Institute of
Technology in 1968. Worked on the Seagram Building with Mies van der Rohe. Founder in
1979 and director until 1999 of the
Canadian Center for Architecture/Centre Canadien d'Architecture.
Lambert was the consulting architect to Peter Rose for the CCA building project, 1984-1989.
In addition to directing the CCA, she won recognition for both her original designs and her
restoration work. The collection contains a biography outlining Lambert's career and a notice
about her receiving the National Building Museum's 2006 Scully Prize. Ms2006-015
LANDRY,
JANE LORENZ, BROCHURE. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1936. Architect of Dallas, Texas. Principal of Landry & Landry
Architects & Planners, and a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects.
Brochure of her firm. Ms2000-056
LANG
JAKOB, EVELYNE, RÉSUMÉ AND WRITINGS, 1987-1998. 0.1 cu.ft.
Born 1960. Swiss architect practicing in Bern, Switzerland. Educated
at the Federal Polytechnical School of Zurich, where she earned her Ph.D. in
science in 1993. Member of the Swiss Organization of Engineers and Architects and
the Union Internationale des Femmes Architectes. Papers consist of curriculum vita and
articles (1987 and 1989) by Lang Jakob from the magazines
Archithese and Actualite; a copy of her thesis written in
1992 for the architecture department at the Ecole Polytechnique Federale
de Lausanne (where she did post-graduate work), entitled "Les Premieres
Femmes Architectes de Suisse;" and a copy of the magazine Baudoc
Bulletin (February 1998), with an article by Lang Jakob,
"Neolithische Architektur aus Sudanatolien, Zypern und Malta" (in French
and German). Member of the IAWA Board of Advisors, 1995-2001. Ms98-016
LARI,
YASMEEN, COLLECTION. 0.1 cu. ft.
First registered woman architect in Pakistan (1963) and Principal of Lari
Associates, Architects & Urban Designers. Elected to IAWA Board of Advisors in
2002. Collection includes a 1992 curriculum vitae and a CD containing approximately
240 JPG images of six of Lari's completed projects taken by Marcia Feuerstein in
2003. Ms2000-057
LASSMANN,
EDITH, BROCHURES AND PHOTOGRAPHS. 1 cu. ft.
Architect of Vienna, Austria. Materials include two brochures of a
hospital and of her architectural firm; an article, "Das Frauenstudium
an den Technischen Hochschuelen Wien und Graz," from Frauenstudium
und Akademische Frauenarbeit in Osterreich; and photographs of her
designs of a hydroelectric plant in the Austrian Alps and of a
children's center in Vienna. Ms2000-058
LEE-SMITH,
DIANA, PUBLICATIONS, 1970-1989 0.2 cu. ft.
Born 1940. British architect and planner living in Kenya. Projects
focus on housing and shelter concerns in Africa. Member of the Mazingira Institute
and editor of the Settlements Information Network of Africa (SINA). Papers consist of
SINA Newsletters (1982-91), Mazingira Institute publications edited by Lee-Smith,
public health magazines for children, and articles and speeches by and about Lee-Smith.
Ms90-005
LEVINE,
SALLY LYNN, RÉSUMÉ AND EXHIBIT ENTITLED "ALICE THROUGH
THE GLASS CEILING," 1995. 0.1 cu. ft.
Architect of Chicago, Illinois, and co-founder of CARY (Chicks in Architecture
Refuse to Yield), a Chicago women architects group. Materials focus on a
multi-media exhibit Levine created entitled "ALICE (Architecture Lets in
Chicks Except...) Through the Glass Ceiling," which explores the status
of women in the field of architecture. The exhibit was shown at the New
Langton Arts Gallery in San Francisco from July to September 1995.
Materials include literature describing the exhibit, an audiotape
cassette, slides, and Levine's curriculum vitae. Ms95-018
LEVISEUR,
ELSA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1950-1990. 18 cu. ft.
Born 1932. Practiced architecture and landscape architecture in South
Africa, England, and California. Projects include designs for the Hollywood Bowl and the
Los Angeles Philharmonic Association in California. Papers consist of files, photographs,
specifications, and architectural drawings of designs done mostly in the 1980s.
Inventory available
online. Ms90-007
LIPSEY-RAHE,
GEORGINA, GRADUATE THESIS, 1985. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1953. Architect of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. A copy of her graduate
thesis, "Where Land Meets Water: The Alexandria [Virginia] Performing Arts Center,"
from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. Includes a curriculum vitae,
architectural drawings, and photographs. Call Number: LD5655 V855 1985 L57
LOFFLER,
ANTHUSA, ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS. 0.1 cu.ft.
Born 1957. Architect of Koln, Germany. Materials include photographs and copies
of architectural drawings. Ms2000-060
LOURIDA,
SOPHIE, BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION. 0.1 cu. ft.
Architect of Greece. Ms2006-007
LYON,
VIRGINIA, LETTERS, 1967. 0.1 cu.ft.
Architect of New York City. Collection consists of letters to Lyon from the
National Council of Architectural Registration Boards regarding changing the wording
of her certificate from "he" to "she." Ms92-011
Biographical
Directory: M
MACFARLANE,
JANE, PUBLICATION, 1987. 0.1 cu. ft.
Architect of London, Great Britain. Copy of Catalogue of Films
and Television Programmes on Architecture, Town Planning and the
Environment (1987) compiled and edited by Macfarlane. Ms2000-061
MAHONY
GRIFFIN, MARION, 1871-1961. RÉSUMÉ. 0.1 cu. ft.
MAIZ
APELLANIZ, MARTA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1959. Architect of Madrid, Spain. Collection consists of a lengthy
curriculum vitae with copies of architectural drawings and articles
about her work. Ms2000-062
MANG-FRIMMEL,
EVA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. 0.1 cu. ft.
Architect of Vienna, Austria. Materials consist of two posters of
photographs and architectural designs of structures she and her
husband, Karl Mang, have designed together from 1953 to 1984, a book
Neue Laden (Verlag Gerd Hatje: Stuttgart. 1981), and two
catalogs in which Mang contributed, two brochures, and copies of four
magazine articles (1982-1987) in which her work is cited. Ms2000-063
"MANY MORE: WOMEN IN ARCHITECTURE, 1978-1988."
EXHIBIT FILES AND PANELS, 1987-1988. 4.5 cu. ft.
Traveling exhibition premiering on May 15, 1988, at the American Institute of
Architects National Convention and Design Exposition in New York City. It was
sponsored by the AIA's Women in Architecture Committee in response to the exhibit "That Exceptional One: Women in American Architecture,
1888-1988." Inventory
available online. Ms2000-084
MARQUARD,
CLAUDIA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1998. 0.1 cu. ft.
Collection consists of color photomontages of Marquard's commissions
in Berlin: the restoration of a group of apartment buildings on
Rosenthaler Street and the restoration of a house for Potsdam Gregor.
Inventory
available online. Ms2001-029
MARSHALL-BAKER,
ANNA, PAPERS, 1997. 0.1 cu. ft.
Faculty member, Department of Near Environments, Virginia Polytechnic Institute
and State University (1992-2001). Member of the Board of Advisors of the IAWA, 1996-1999.
The collection consists of an exhibit catalog for Knoll Furniture. Marshall-Baker
co-curated the exhibition, entitled "The Knoll Spirit," which was held in Wallace Hall
at the College of Human Resources,
Virginia Tech, in 1997. Also included is Marshall-Baker's curriculum
vitae, with an extensive list of her publications. See also exhibitions
she curated in the VT
ImageBase.
Inventory
available online. Ms2001-030
MARTIN,
SHELLEY F., RÉSUMÉ. 0.1 cu. ft.
Faculty member of the Department of Architecture, Virginia Polytechnic
Institute and State University. Member of the IAWA Board of Advisors, 1996-1998.
MASAMUNE,
KAZUKO, EXHIBITION MATERIAL, 2001.
Please see the International Union of Women Architects
(UIFA) 13th Congress Materials, Ms2002-031.
MATRIX: FEMINIST ARCHITECTURAL CO-OPERATIVE LIMITED,
PUBLICATIONS, 1986. 0.1 cu. ft.
Non-profit women's architectural cooperative in London, Great Britain,
designed to help women's groups and groups that benefit women by finding and
assessing potential building sites, aiding in obtaining funding for construction,
and making models and giving workshops to help women's groups
understand and take part in the design process. Records consist of
publications written and published by MATRIX, including Making
Space: Women and the Man-Made Environment (1986), Building for
Childcare (1986), and A Job Designing Buildings (1986). Ms2000-064
MATSUKAWA-TSUCHIDA,
JUNKO, EXHIBITION MATERIALS, 1998, 2001.
Please see the International Union of Women Architects
(UIFA)12th (Ms2001-052) and
13th (MS 2002-031) Congress Materials.
MATSUZAKI,
EVA, BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION. 0.1 cu. ft.
MCDONALD,
ROXANA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. 8 cu. ft.
Born in Romania, McDonald did restoration work before moving to Britain and
completing post-graduate studies in Building Conservation. The collection
consists of the research, drawings, working drafts, and illustrations for
McDonald's book entitled The Fireplace Book published in 1984.
Inventory
available online Ms94-001
MENDELSOHN,
LOUISE, AUTOBIOGRAPHY. 0.2 cu. ft.
Born in Germany in 1894, died 1980, wife of German-American architect Eric Mendelsohn (1887-1953), who was an exponent of German Expressionism and the functional modern look called the "International Style." Collection is a typescript autobiography, "My Life in a Changing World" by Louise Mendelsohn, about her life with her husband, her views on architecture and design, and her attempts to establish what is now the National Building Museum in Washington, D.C. Also includes a typescript proposal by Mendelsohn for the establishment of "A Museum of Architecture." Ms89-056
MEREDITH,
AMAZA LEE, BIOGRAPHICAL ARTICLE. 0.1 cu. ft.
1895-1984. African-American architect in Virginia; professor of Art at
Virginia State University. Materials consist of a November 1994 article written
for Inform about Meredith's life and work, particularly about her design
of her home in Petersburg, Virginia. Ms2000-065
MICULINIC,
SONJA, BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION, 1997. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1956 in Croatia. Architect in Croatia and Slovenia. Ms2006-005
MIKIC,
VESNA, ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS. 0.2 cu. ft.
Born 1954. Facility architect at the Faculty of Architecture of the University
in Zagreb, Croatia (formerly Yugoslavia). Received first prize in
competitions for urban designs in Zagreb and Krg. Collection consists of
architectural drawings and copies of photographs for competitions
(1987-1990) in which she submitted entries (urban villas in Zagreb and
housing in Belgrade). Ms2000-066
MILKA BLIZNAKOV PRIZE,
RECORDS, 1999-2006. 0.5 cu. ft.
Established in 1998 to honor of the founder of the International Archive
of Women in Architecture, the Milka Bliznakov Prize is awarded for research
that advances knowledge of women's contributions to architecture and related
design fields. The collection consists of announcements about the award and
proposal submissions for the prize. An EAD-encoded
finding aid is available in the Virginia Heritage database. Ms2001-045
MØLLER,
ALICE FINNERUP, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 2007. 0.1 cu. ft.
Moller is a practicing architect in Denmark. The collection consists of a poster
entitled "A House on the West Coast of Denmark: Identity - Preservation and
putting into value of the national heritage." It has writen narrative (in English),
interior and exterior photos and a photo of architect. Another poster by Moller
is part of the UIFA 14th Conference materials listed below. Ms2007-016
"MORE THAN THE SUM OF OUR BODY PARTS,"
EXHIBITION MATERIALS, 1992-1993. 2 cu. ft.
Exhibition designed and produced by CARY, Chicks in Architecture Refuse to Yield
(to atavistic thinking in design and society), an offshoot of Chicago Women in
Architecture. Collection consists of materials created for the exhibit or in
preparation of it, including press releases, drawings and floor plans, announcements
and newsletters, copies of articles advertising the exhibit, meeting
minutes, a videotape of the exhibit set-up and opening reception, and
exhibit catalogs. The exhibit was shown at the Randolph Street
Gallery in Chicago, Illinois, in June and July, 1993, illustrating the
ways that women architects are discriminated against in the workplace.
Inventory
available online. Ms94-023
MORGAN,
JULIA,
Biographical Database entry. Her papers are housed in Special
Collections at California Polytechnic State University at San Luis
Obispo and at the Environmental
Design Archives, College of Environmental Design, University of
California at Berkeley.
MULLER,
CORNELIA, PHOTOGRAPHS AND BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL. 0.1 cu. ft.
Architect of Berlin, Germany, and a partner in the firm Muller,
Knippschild, Wehberg. Materials consist of photographs (1983-1988) of
her work with her firm, biographical information, and a brochure of her
designs. Ms2000-067
MULLER-SCHMID,
CATHERINE, RÉSUMÉ AND PHOTOGRAPHS. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1953. Architect of Zurich, Switzerland. Materials include
a résumé and forty-five copies of photographs and
architectural drawings of apartment complexes and other residential
housing projects she has designed. Ms2000-068
MUNTONI,
ALESSANDRA, BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION. 0.1 cu. ft.
Practicing architect in Rome, Italy. Papers consist of a
résumé, a brochure of works completed, and articles published
in the magazine metamorfosi. Her 2003 book, Metamorph: Architetture
= Works and Projects 1965-2003: Gabriele De Giorgi, Alessandra Muntoni,
Marcello Pazzaglini is cataloged in ADDISON
and available in the Special Collections Rare Book Room. Ms2000-094
Biographical
Directory: N
NANASY,
ILONA, ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1978-2003. 0.2 cu. ft.
Architect of Budapest, Hungary. Began working in 1978 at the Hungarian Ministry
of Housing, then opened a private practice in 1991. The collection consists of
residential, commercial and competition projects, mostly in Hungary. An EAD-encoded
finding aid is available online through the Virginia Heritage database.Ms2005-010
NINOVA,
TSVETANA, ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS, 1971-1994. 0.5 cu. ft.
Born in 1923 in Popitsa, Bulgaria. Worked in France designing apartment
buildings and in Bulgaria with the Regional Design Organization and as a private
architect. Collection consists of a résumé and ink drawings of a
railroad station in Ikhtiman, rest shop facilities in Kolotino and an apartment
building in Bulgaria.
Inventory available online. Ms2000-006
NOVAKOVA,
ZDENKA MARIE, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. 0.1 cu. ft.
Architect and artist of the Czech Republic. Graduated from Prague Technical
University in 1963 with a degree in architecture and has designed
several architectural projects in the Czech Republic, most notably the
interior of a Gothic church in the town of Most. Papers consist of
architectural drawings, photographs, a booklet about her work, an exhibit booklet,
and a CD with plans. Ms94-019
NOWICKI,
STANISLAWA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1950-1953. 0.1 cu. ft.
Nowicki's papers consist of a biographical sketch as well as recollections of
Nowicki written by student of the School of Architecture at the
University of Pennsylvania. There are photographs of the interior and
exterior of her house in Villanova, Pennsylvania, and a photograph of a
curtain that Nowicki designed for the Coliseum in Raleigh. Inventory
available online. Ms2001-031
Biographical
Directory: O
OKHOTINA,
NINA, COLLECTION, 2005. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1927. Architect in Russia. Graduated from Moscow Architecture
Institute in 1951. Worked on institutional architectural projects until her
retirement in 1983. Now an active painter and artist. Collection contains
one exhibit brochure and a draft copy of a book with color illustrations of her
architectural projects and photographs of her paintings. Ms2006-014
O'NEILL,
VIRGINIA B., ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1937-1963. 1.0 cu. ft.
Born in 1923 in Stamford, Connecticut, died 1999. Practicing architect in the
Stamford area 1957-1963. Architectural projects include residential plans for
several projects, including the Sawmill House and a hexagonal vacation home. An
EAD-encoded
finding aid is available in the Virginia Heritage database. Ms2006-010
ORGANIZATION OF WOMEN ARCHITECTS AND DESIGN PROFESSIONALS,
NEWSLETTERS, 1972-1991. 0.1 cu. ft.
Organization for women architects in the San Francisco bay area, California.
Materials consist of microfilm and print copies of the organization's newsletters
with an accompanying index. Ms88-080
ORGANIZATION OF WOMEN ARCHITECTS AND ENGINEERS [JAPAN]
COMMEMORATIVE BOOKS, 1986 AND 1996. 0.1 cu. ft.
Organization founded in 1976 for Japanese women architects and engineers to explore
the many issues of working in these previously male-dominated professions. Consists
of The Greedy Concerto, published in 1986 with a history of the organization's
founding and autobiographies and essays of the members. A 20th anniversary book,
The Greedy Concerto: the Second Movement, was published in 1996 with information
about the activities of the organization since the first book was published.
These volumes are cataloged in the Special Collections Rare Book Room.
ORON,
JOYCE, ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1985-2004. 3.3 cu ft
Born in New York, architect in Israel. This collection contains drawings, text, and
photographs of some of the prestigious public building projects handled by Joyce Oron
Architecture and Town Planner from 1985 to 2004. Most material is in Hebrew, and
English descriptions are available. An EAD-encoded
finding aid is available in Virginia Heritage database. Ms2005-006
OZKOSE,
AYSUN, BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION, 2004. 0.1 cu. ft.
Architect in Turkey. Includes curriculum vitae and articles. Ms2004-008
Biographical
Directory: P
PATKAU,
PATRICIA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1997. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born in 1950, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. The collection includes a book
entitled Patkau Architects and a résumé from the firm that
includes an extensive project list.
Inventory
available online. Ms2001-032
PATRULIUS,
IRINA, SPEECH AND NEGATIVES. 0.1 cu. ft.
Architectural historian of Bucharest, Romania. Collection consists of a
transcript of a speech given in French by Patrulius about the work of early women
architects in Romania, and photographic negatives of the work of Romanian
architects Henriette Delavrancea-Gibory (1894-1987), Virginia Haret (1894-1962),
and Maria Cotescu (1896- ). Ms98-029
PATTISON,
HARRIET, BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION, 2004, n.d. 0.1 cu. ft.
Harriet Pattison, ASLA, is a landscape architect currently based in
Pennsylvania. The collection contains a typed copy of her remarks to a 2004
Yale symposium about her collaboration with architect Louis Kahn as well as
photocopied pages showing selected landscape projects she designed. Ms2005-020
PAUN,
SILVIA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1966-1998. 1 cu. ft.
Born 1923. Architect of Bucharest, Romania. Papers include photographs of
children's hospitals and centers she has designed, correspondence,
notes, photographs, and biographical information as well as writings by
her and about her work, including Paun's books (housed in the Rare Book
Room, Identites europeennes inedites : Italia-Romania dans la
prehistorie, l'ethnos, l'architecture = Unknown European identities :
Italia-Romania in prehistory, ethnos, architecture (Bucuresti:
Editura Tehnica, 1998) [AZ108 P38 1996] and Identitati europene
inedite : Italia--Romania in preistorie, etnos, arhitectura = Identita
europee inedite : Italia--Romania nella preistoria, nell'ethnos,
nell'architettura (Bucuresti: Editura Tehnica, c1996) [AZ108 P3814
1998]. Preliminary Inventory available. Ms91-057
PAVLOVA,
RADKA, ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS, 1964-1999. 0.5 cu. ft.
Born 1933 in Bulgaria. Designed interiors and furniture, as well as
urban design and landscape. Collection consists of a portfolio,
original drawings, résumé, newspaper clippings and
photocopies of projects including the Hotel and Restaurant "Nevrokup",
the Town Hall and the "Home of Books," all in Gotse Delchev.
Inventory
available online. Ms2000-003
PEEVA,
MARIA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1978-2006.0.2 cu. ft.
Maria Georgieva Peeva (sister of Rositsa Popova) graduated from Sofia Polytechnic
in 1977 and was assigned to work at the Design Organization in the town of Schumen,
where she led the design section. In 1988 she was named Chief Architect of the
Beloslav Region, and in 2000 she became Regional Architect of the Black Sea tourist
region. In 1991, while still carrying these appointments, she opened a private
practice with fellow woman architect Natalia Liutskanova. After 1993, Peeva continued
running the office alone. She is particularly known for designing schools, vacation
houses and hotels, and retail stores. Papers include project lists, project documentation
and drawing lists for vacation houses in Rogachevo, and drawings for a Worker's Vacation
Retreat for the Schumen Chemical factory "Volov," as well as a curriculum vitae Ms2007-033
PENCHEVA-VULCHANOVA,
JANA (SHANA), ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS, 1980-1995. 0.5 cu. ft.
Born 1947 in Sliven, Hungary. Architect practicing in Bulgaria,
working on commercial buildings. Collection documents her activity in
designing underground commercial centers.
Inventory
available online. Ms2000-002
PERRIAND,
CHARLOTTE, RÉSUMÉ. 0.1 cu. ft.
PETROVA,
ISKRA, COLLECTION, 1981-2005. 0.1 cu. ft.
Iskra Nikolova Petrova studied architecture at Sofia Polytechnic. After her graduation in 1977, she worked for the state design and construction organization "Technoeksportstroi," which built many buildings in Africa and the Near East. She donated seven competition project drawings for housing neighborhood in Haarlem / Haarlemmermeer, Nigeria, Africa, ca. 1981, and a two-page curriculum vitae Ms2007-014
PETTERSEN, ELEANORE, ARCHITECTURAL ARCHIVE, 1950-2003. 365 cu. ft.
Eleanore K. Pettersen (1916-2003) received a Certificate in Architecture from Cooper Union for Advancement of Science and Art in 1941, and was as apprentice to Frank Lloyd Wright at Taliesin 1941-1943. She was one of the first women licensed as an architect in the state of New Jersey in 1950, and was the first woman in NJ to open her own architectural office. She primarily designed residences in New Jersey, and she was also very active
in professional and civic organizations. Highlights of her achievements include: being the first woman recipient of the Professional Achievement Citation for Distinguished Accomplishments by Cooper Union in 1965; being the first woman appointed to, and subsequently the first woman president of, the New Jersey State Board of Architects from 1975 to 1976; being elected New Jersey's first woman Regional Director to the AIA Board from 1986 to 1989; and becoming a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects (FAIA) in 1991. The collection consists of project files, sketches, blueprints, drawings, models, photographs, and other material relating to over 400 of Pettersen's projects as well as
material relating to Pettersen's participation in various professional and civic
organizations. Examples of Pettersen's work can be viewed on the
VT ImageBase.
Ms2003-018
PFEIFFER,
ALBERTA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1929-1976. 8.0 cu. ft.
1899-1994. Architect of Hadlyme, Connecticut; born in Illinois.
Graduated from the University of Illinois--Urbana/Champaign in 1923 as
one of the first women to achieve a degree in architecture at that
institution. Worked with Harrie T. Lindberg architectural firm in New
York City until she set up a practice in Hadlyme with her husband,
Homer F. Pfeiffer, in the early 1930s. Practiced from the 1930s to the
1970s in Hadlyme, designing and renovating many residences in that area.
Collection consists of detailed files and architectural drawings for
250 projects done between 1933 and 1976, correspondence, and
photographs of her and her designs. Ms88-017
PIETILA,
RAILI, BOOK, 1985. 0.1 cu. ft.
Architect from Helsinki, Finland who works in collaboration with her husband.
The book is titled Modernin Arkkitehtuurin Valimaastoissa or Intermediate
Zones in Modern Architecture. NA1455 F53 P546 1985
PINOS,
CARME, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1994-1995. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born in Barcelona in 1954, Pinos graduated from the Barcelona School of
Architecture in 1979. Her papers consist of a booklet, published in 1995
to showcase Pinos' work when she was awarded the Plym Distinguished
Professorship in Architecture at the University of Illinois at
Urbana-Champaign in 1994. The booklet contains pictures of Pinos' work
and comments from students and colleagues.
Inventory
available online. Ms2001-040
PIOMELLI,
M. ROSARIA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1960-1993. 5 cu. ft.
Born 1937. Architect of New York, born in Naples, Italy. Educated in Italy
and at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (B.Arch., 1960).
Professor of Architecture at the City College of the City University of
New York since 1974. Served as Dean of the CCNY College of Architecture
from 1980 to 1983, being the first woman dean of any school of
architecture in the United States. Worked as project architect at
various architects' offices through the 1960s and early 1970s, including
I.M. Pei & Architects. Opened her own architectural practice in 1974.
Member of the IAWA Board of Advisors from 1985 to 1995. Papers consist
of architectural drawings, correspondence, photographs, newspaper
clippings, and files that detail the many facets of her career as
educator, architect, and advocate of women in architecture; audiotape.
Most of the materials focus on her architectural projects when she worked at other
architects' offices, and as an independent architect, where most of her projects
were focused in the New York area. Examples of her work can be viewed on the
VT ImageBase.
An inventory is
available online. Ms95-007
PLUMB,
HELGA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. 0.3 cu. ft.
Helga Plumb is a retired architect from Toronto, Ontario, and partner of the
Dubois Plumb Partnership in Toronto from 1979-1993. The collection includes her
curriculum vitae and architectural drawings and sketches of the Tom Longboat Junior School,
Toronto, Canada a project that began in 1977. An EAD-encoded
finding aid is available in the Virginia Heritage Project database. Ms95-023
POPOVA,
ROSITSA, COLLECTION. 0.1 cu. ft.
Rositsa Peeva-Popova (sister of Maria Peeva) graduated from Sofia Polytechnic in 1981, and
was then assigned by the government to work for the Design Organization in the town of
Gabrovo. She later worked for towns of Ruse and Schumen before establishing a private
practice with her architect husband. That practice opened in Schumen but moved to Varna,
where Popova now also teaches architecture at the Varna Free University. Popova's work
centers on urban design, with many apartment buildings as well as gas stations, commercial
facilities, and urban space designs. Her donation includes drawings for an Evangelical
Church and a Fashion House for the Factory "Val Poskova," both in Schumen as well as
a curriculum vitae Ms2007-015
PRAUN,
ANNA-LULJA, ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1986-1987. 0.1 cu. ft.
The collection consists of articles about exhibitions of Praun's furniture in the
late 1980's. Also included is an exhibition announcement with the picture of the
"Komponierpult fur Gyorgy Ligeti," a desk which appears in most of the articles. A
photograph of Praun and a book, published in 1986, entitled Anna-Lulja Praun.
Inventory
available online. Ms2001-033
PROCHAZKA,
ELSA, PAPERS. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1948. Architect and professor at the University for Applied Arts in Vienna, Austria. Papers consist of lists of her various professional achievements
and a brochure of the work she did with the group "Igirien." Ms2000-069
Biographical
Directory: Q
Biographical
Directory: R
RACHEL,
SHALIT, ARCHITECTURAL SKETCHES, 1993. 0.1 cu. ft.
Born 1919, Translyvania. Attended Sorbonne 1938-1939; she |