The International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA) was established in 1985 as a joint program of the College of Architecture and Urban Studies and the University Libraries at Virginia Tech. The purpose of the IAWA is to document the history of women's contributions to the built environment by collecting, preserving, and providing access to the records of women's architectural organizations and the professional papers of women architects, landscape architects, designers, architectural historians and critics, and urban planners. The IAWA began with a collecting focus on the papers of pioneering women in architecture, individuals who practiced at a time when there were few women in the field. Today, the IAWA includes materials that document multiple generations of women in architecture, providing vital primary source materials for architectural, women's, and social history research. Learn more about finding materials, including manuscripts, publications, and images.
- Lois Gottlieb of San Francisco, residential designer and author.
- Louise Hall, long-time member of AIA North Carolina, taught architecture at Duke 1931-1973, and mentored many architects and scholars.
- L. Jane Hastings, Seattle architect and founder of the Hastings Group.
- Anna Keichline, architect and inventor, first registered woman architect in Pennsylvania and inventor of the K-brick.
- Yasmin Lari, first registered woman architect in Pakistan and principal of Lari Associates, Architects & Urban Designers.
- Elsa Leviseur practiced and taught internationally in South Africa, California, and England.
- Eleanore Pettersen, first woman in New Jersey to open her own architectural office.
- Sigrid Lorenzen Rupp, German-born architect, practiced in Palo Alto, California.
- Beverly Willis, FAIA, artist, craftswoman, designer, and nationally recognized San Francisco architect.
- Zelma Wilson, FAIA, architect in Ojai, California.
- Liane Zimbler, first registered women architect in Austria and later an interior designer in Los Angeles, California.
IAWA Collections: A
ADAMCZEWSKA-WEJCHERT, HANNA (1920- ). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1985-1987. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Born 1920. Architect of Warsaw, Poland; Professor at the Warsaw Technical University. Materials include a lengthy curriculum vitae, reprints of articles she wrote about urban projects in Poland, and a 1985 catalog she wrote, "Formation of Pertinent Housing Cooperatives." Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-011
ALEX, IRIS. COLLECTION, 1956-2002. (0.5 cu. ft.)
Development Administrator for Facilities Development Corporation of the State of New York, building consultant for the Young Women's Christian Association, and Fellow of the American Institute of Architects. Active from the 1950s until 1991. The collection includes both volumes of A Building Manual for the YWCA, written by Alex as well as some biographical information and articles about her work. Also contains correspondence between Alex and other architects about Julia Morgan. Finding aid available online. Ms2002-026
ALEXANDER, DOROTHY. PHOTOGRAPHS, 1974. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect in her firm, D. B. Alexander, 1967- . Projects have included commercial remodeling for the Arriflex Corporation, Panavision and the Jack Tilton Gallery. 1989- Staff photographer for Oculus, the magazine of the New York Chapter of the American Institute of Architects. The collection consists of a set of photos entitled "White Flowers" that were used as the opening image of a chapter in Women in Architecture, edited by Susana Torre. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2001-056
ALEXANDER, DOROTHY. ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1939-1994. (3.1 cu. ft.)
Educated at the McGill University Architectural School in Montreal, Dorothy Alexander started her own firm in 1961. She also worked for several other firms including Wurster, Bernardi, and Emmons Architects, John Carl Warnecke, and James Baker and Peter Blake Architects. The collection consists primarily of drawings, sketches, and building specifications for buildings designed by the architect Dorothy Alexander. Projects include remodeling work for the Arriflex Corporation, Lowel-Light Manufacturing, as well as several houses designed and built in California. Finding aid available online. Ms2008-089
ALMEIDA, MARILIA SANT'ANNA DE. ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect in Brazil. Collection includes résumé and magazine articles, including "To Hear the Mermaids: Marília Sant'Anna de Almeida and José Magalhaes Junior: Teatro Municipal, Sao Sebastiao-SP." [Translated from "Para ouvir as sereias"]. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-097
AMERICAN COLLEGIATE SCHOOLS OF ARCHITECTURE PUBLICATION, 1990. (0.1 cu. ft.)
The American Collegiate Schools of Architecture is an organization of 150 accredited architecture schools to help with the advancement of architectural education. The collection consists of the 1990 publication Status of Faculty Women in Architecture Schools developed by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture's Task Force on the Status of Women in Architecture Schools. The report (32 pages) is based on a survey distributed to faculty women and school administrators and published in 1990. Another copy of the report is available in the Art and Architecture Library [LB2332.3 S82 1990]. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2001-058
AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF ARCHITECTS PUBLICATIONS, 1990-1999. (0.3 cu. ft.)
The AIA is an organization of over 300 chapters established to serve the needs of architects at the national, state, and local levels. The collection includes programs for chapter meetings, lecture announcements, and WIA information. Part of IAWA Small Collections.
ANISIMOVA, IRINA. BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL, 2008. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Biographical sketch, bound booklet entitled "Multistoried apartment houses for Moscow design by Professor Irina Anisimova" dated 2008. Materials in English and Russian. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Acc2009-036
ANTONAKAKIS, SUSANA (1935- ). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1987-1988. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Born in 1935. Architect in Athens, Greece, and a founding member of the architectural firm Atelier 66. Materials include a copy of a lecture she gave in 1987 in Delft, the Netherlands, to the International Design Seminar; a postcard for an exhibit in Zurich, Switzerland, of the work she has done with her husband, Dimitris; and a brochure of the Mavrakakis house in Perdika, Greece, which she and her husband designed. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-013
ARCHITECTURAL LEAGUE OF NEW YORK: ARCHIVE OF WOMEN IN ARCHITECTURE RECORDS, 1948-1977. (4.0 cu. ft.)
The Architectural League of New York created the Archive of Women in Architecture collection in 1973 to gather biographical and project data about women professionals in the field of architecture and related disciplines. The information was used to create a 1977 exhibition and a companion book, Women in American Architecture: A Historic and Contemporary Perspective [NA1997 .W65], edited by Susana Torre. This collection consists mainly of copies of form letters and completed biographical and project worksheets sent out by the AWA in 1973 and materials sent by women in reply to the solicitation. Other materials include resumes, journal articles and publications, architectural projects and drawings, photographs of projects, and research material collected by the archive. Finding aid available online. Ms2005-016
ASSOCIATION FOR WOMEN IN ARCHITECTURE RECORDS, 1928-1992. (8.4 cu. ft.)
The Association for Women in Architecture (AWA) was originally founded in 1922 as Alpha Alpha Gamma, a national sorority for women architecture students. In 1934 the alumnae of the sorority formed the Association of Women in Architecture (AWA) as an organization for professional women architects. Today (2010) the AWA exists only through its Los Angeles chapter, with a membership of approximately 200 women architects and designers in the Los Angeles area, with members-at-large across the country. In 1984 the AWA altered its name to the Association for Women in Architecture. Records include committee reports, correspondence, membership forms and rosters, photographs, scrapbooks, treasurer's files, and newsletters. Finding aid available online. Ms1988-022
AUBÖCK, MARIA (1951- ). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1980-2006. (0.2 cu. ft.)
Born in 1951. Landscape architect in Vienna, Austria, and a member of the Austrian Society of Landscape Architects since 1985. Collection includes curriculum vita with architectural sketches, articles by Aubock, and drawings for gardens she designed. Also includes copies of her books, Vienna Gloriosa [SB466.A92 V5 1980] and Grun in Wien [SB466.A82 V525 1994]. 2006 additions to the collection include a 2005 exhibition catalog, fliers for a 2006 architecture and landscape conference, an issue of the magazine Historische Gärten, and a competition catalog for Wohnen in Bayern. Finding aid available online. Ms1996-007
AULENTI, GAE. ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1987-2003. (0.6 cu. ft.)
Italian architect and industrial designer Gae Aulenti's ability to transform historic public buildings into museum spaces is world renown. Her most important contributions to architecture include Musee d' Orsay (Paris, France), Musee d'Art Moderne at the Centre Pompidou (Paris, France), Palazzo Grassi (Venice, Italy), Museu Nacional d'Art de Catalunya (Barcelona, Spain) and the Asian Art Museum (San Francisco, USA). She has won numerous awards for her work and her exploration in lighting design. Her collection is documented by newspaper and magazine articles, biographical information, and her conceptual computer-drawn designs for the Asian Art Museum in San Francisco, California. Finding aid available online. Ms2000-014
IAWA Collections: B
BALMORI, DIANA. LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS, 1990-1995. (2.0 cu. ft.)
Landscape architect and design principal of Balmori Associates, Inc. Educated at the University of California, Los Angeles, partner for landscape at Cesar Pelli and Associates (1984-1990), and faculty at the Yale University, School of Forestry and Environmental Studies. Balamori Associates is well known for designing the landscape and urban design for Bilbao, Spain surrounding the Guggenheim Museum by Frank Ghery. Balamori was also one of four firms chosen to contribute design to the New York City High Line Project. Collection consists of drawings, sketches, and presentation boards for three landscape architecture design projects. Finding aid available online. Ms2004-001
BAPTISTA, ANGELICA. ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS, 1983. (0.3 cu. ft.)
Architect of Carvalhos, Portugal. Materials consist of six sets of architectural drawings of the Vamara Municipal da Vila da Feira. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2001-052
BARDI, LINA BO (1914-1992). BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION AND BOOKS. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Born in Italy, worked in Sao Paulo, Brazil. Among other residential and public structures in Brazil, she designed the Museum of Art Sao Paulo (1958) and the Sesc-Pompeia (1977), a combined sports and arts center. Her collection includes a press release with biographical information for an exhibit of her work at the California College of Arts and Crafts in San Francisco. It also includes Casa de Vidro [Glass House], Sao Paulo, Brazil, 1950-1951 and Centro de Lazer [Leisure Center] SESC, Fabrica Pompeia. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-018
BASSETT, FLORENCE KNOLL. BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION, 2001. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Interior Designer in Coconut Grove, Florida. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2004-010
BAUSMAN, KAREN. BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION, 2006. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Founder and Principal of Karen Bausman + Associates, New York, New York. (1995-). Collection includes biographical information for inclusion in the IAWA Biographical Database. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2009-054
BENTEL, MARIA. BROCHURE. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Born in 1928. Architect and partner of Bentel & Bentel, Architects and Planners, of New York, and a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects. Collection includes a brochure of her work with her firm. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-100
BERTRAND, WENDY SCOTT (1941- ). Architectural Collection, 1954-2012. (15 cu. ft.)
Bertrand is a registered architect in California. She studied at the École des Beaux Arts (1964-65) and graduated from University of California, Berkely with a bachelor of architecture (1971) and a master of architecture (1972). Materials include correspondence and documents from Bertrand's early career and studies; project files, photographs and drawings from her tenure with the Western Division Naval Facilities Engineering Command and the U.S. Forest Service; travel journals and photographs; and ephemera related to professional memberships, awards, and hobbies. Also includes a copy of Bertrand's 2012 book, Enamored with place: as woman + as architect [NA1997 .B48 2012], available to view in the Special Collections reading room. Finding aid available online. Ms2013-025.
BETHUNE, LOUISE BLANCHARD (1856-1913). POSTCARD, 1907. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Bethune was the first female associate of the American Institute of Architects, AIA (1888). The collection contains a 1907 postcard featuring Bethune's Lafayette Hotel in Buffalo, NY. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2009-054
BEVINGTON, CHRISTINE BENLIA. CURRICULUM VITAE. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Part of IAWA Small Collections. Acc2006-048
BINDER, REBECCA L.. ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1995-1997. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Born in 1951. Principal of R. L. Binder, F.A.I.A., Architecture &Planning, in Playa del Rey, California, and a Fellow of the AmericanInstitute of Architects. Materials include curriculum vita detailing major projects, employment, exhibitions, publications, activities, andhonors; descriptions of fifteen of her designs; and a copy of the book Rebecca L. Binder, [NA737.B495 N47 1995] with text by Eleanor Lynn Nesmith, edited by Shawna Mullen (Rockport, Massachusetts: Contemporary World Architects, 1995). Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms1996-006
BIRIUKOVA, ALEXANDRA (1895-1967). ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Russian architect in Canada. Received architecture degree in 1914 from the School of Architecture in Petrograd, Russia. Exiled in 1917; moved to Italy where she received a degree in 1925 from the Royal Superior School of Architecture in Rome. Emigrated to Toronto, Canada, in 1929. Designed a residence for artist Lawren Harris in Toronto and was elected the first woman member of the Ontario Association of Architects in 1931, yet entered nursing school that same year and spent the rest of her career as a nurse. Materials consist of research notes, correspondence, published biographical sources, and card files compiled by Barbara Sankey of Toronto, who researched Biriukova's career. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-015
BIRKBY, NOEL PHYLLIS (1932-1994). BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL, 1994. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect of New York City. Educated at the Cooper Union and at Yale University; worked for architectural firms in New York City and was principal of her own firm. Taught at the New York Institute of Technology. Papers are photocopies of obituaries and other biographical information about Birkby. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms1994-026
BIZIOS, GEORGIA. RÉSUMÉ AND EXHIBIT POSTCARD, 1996. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Professor of Architecture and Associate Dean for Academics at the School of Design, North Carolina State University (1986-present). Educated at Colby College (B.A. Art, 1967), University of Minnesota (B.Arch., 1971), and University of Oregon (M.Arch, 1974). Former member of the Board of Advisors for the IAWA. Collection consists of a curriculum vitae and a postcard advertising an exhibit of her work at the Brooks Hall Gallery of the School of Design, North Carolina State University, in January 1996. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-016
BLISS, ANNA CAMPBELL (1925- ). ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1976-1987. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Artist, architect, and consultant on color and design in Salt Lake City, Utah; partner of Bliss and Campbell, Architects; and founder and former President of the Contemporary Arts Group. Materials include a curriculum vitae; photographs, a 1987 flyer for a CAG conference; three articles on color and architecture; a notice of an exhibition of a mural Bliss designed for the Utah State Capitol; and a bibliography of publications, articles, and catalogs by Bliss. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-017
BLIZNAKOV, MILKA T. (1927-2010). PAPERS AND ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS, 1978-2000. (2 cu. ft.)
Born in Bulgaria in 1927, emigrated to France and then to the U.S. Practiced in New York before coming to Blacksburg where she both practiced architecture and taught at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. She is a professor emerita of Architecture and Urban Studies at Virginia Tech. Bliznakov founded the International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA) and chaired its Board of Advisors from 1985-1993. Her papers include curriculum vitae, correspondence, 43 architectural drawings of her residence in Blacksburg, "A Bibliographical Guide to Their Work: Soviet Women Architects, 1917-1937" written by her in 1989, papers written during 1979 to 1990, and collected materials about women in architecture. Finding aid available online. Ms1991-025
BLOCH, KAROLA. BOOK. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect of Germany. Her book, Aus Meinem Leben [CT3150 B5 A3 1981], is available to view in the Special Collections Rare Book Room.
BODEN-ARCHER, DENDRON. BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Greek psychologist with an interest in "dream healing" within the framework of landscape and architecture. Collection includes a biographical sketch and a copy of an article that she wrote. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2006-004
BODMER, MONICA. COLLECTION, 2000. (0.1 cu. ft.)
One-hour videotape and DVD version entitled Spatial Biography and Mental Maps produced for the International Women's University, Project Area City and Gender, in Kassel, Germany in 2000. Created by Monica Bodmer of Lausanne, Switzerland and Prof. Kerstin Dörhöfer of Berlin, Germany. Includes prologue and sections by twelve contributors. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2001-009
BOLLDORF-REITSTATTER, MARTHA. ARTICLE, 1998. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Photocopy of article with information about Bolldorf-Reitstatter in Steine Sprechen, no. 110, 2pp. 1998. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2009-054
BONNEY, CLAIRE. ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1995-1998; 2002. (0.1 cu. ft.)
The collection contains a copy of Thérèse Bonney: The Architectural Photographs, a PhD thesis from the University of Zurich. Materials submitted in application for the first Milka Bliznakov Prize, 2000. See also Bonney's report on architect Adrienne Gorska. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms1998-023
BORECKA, EVA. BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIALS, 2006. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect of Slovakia. Collection includes biographical information for inclusion in the IAWA Biographical Database. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2009-054
BRAGSTAD, SUSAN. DRAWINGS, 1983-1989. (1.7 cu. ft.)
Collection includes two sets of drawings featuring houses designed by Bragstad in the 1980s; a short biography of Bradstad and a biography of her mother Martha Marie Wagele Mood, an artist, photographer, and teacher. Part of IAWA Small Collections.
BRIANS, AUDREY. PAPERS. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Principal and President of Brians and Associates/Architects, Inc., of Panama City, Florida. Materials include four brochures - one describes her firm and includes a curriculum vitae, and three detail her designs. Also includes a 12-page memoir, "Confessions of an Irreverent Iconoclast" written in 2002. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-019
BRICKMAN, PEARL M. (1928- ). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1977-2002. (6.2 cu. ft.)
Architect of Southern California. Received her Master of Architecture from Southern California Institute of Architecture (SCI-Arc) in her 50s. Collection includes three design projects she developed during her years (1977-1979) at SCI-Arc, and fifteen projects from her professional career (1982-2002), including project descriptions, drawings,and progress photographs. Finding aid available online. Ms2013-081
BRIERLY, CORNELIA. BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL, 2007. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Printed material from Society of Architectural Historians (SAH) Conference Tour "Peter Berndtson and Cornelia Brierly in Pittsburgh," April 14, 2007. Part of IAWA Small Collections.
BROSOWSKY, BETTINA M. (1957- ). ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1985-2003. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Born in 1957, architect in Germany. Collection contains plans and images of two competition designs from the 1980s, illustrated descriptions of three projects designed by her firm, Brosowsky & Teschner, Architekten, during 1992-2003. Also includes a pamphlet written by Brosowsky in 2003 entitled Wolfsburg Architektur-Stadtplan: Bauten der Jahrtausendwende und die Klassiker with a city map and descriptions of buildings in Wolfsburg, Germany. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-020
BROTONS DE LA NUEZ, ROSA MARIA. CERTIFICATE AND PHOTOGRAPHS. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect of Barcelona, Spain. Copy of a 1973 certificate from the Colegio Oficial de Arquitectos de Canarias, and two photographs of Palacio del Hielo, a skating rink she designed. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-021
BROWNE, CHARLENE. CURRICULUM VITAE, 1998. (0.1 cu. ft.)
11 page curriculum vita. Part of IAWA Small Collections.
BROWNE, JENNIFER N. (1939- ). RÉSUMÉ. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Project Architect, SLR/Architects, Palo Alto, California. Part of IAWA Small Collections.
BUDEVSKA-SALCHEVA, NADEZHDA. ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1965-1988. (2.0 cu. ft.)
Nadezhda Budevaska-Salcheva graduated from Sofia Polytechnic in 1949, and thereafter pursued a career as a champion tennis player. In 1967, she joined the Sofia Design Organization, where she designed many large buildings such as hospitals and research institutes. In 1980 she established a private office, focusing mainly on private residences. The papers include drawings and photos of projects for residential projects in/near Sofia, Bulgaria, 1965-1988, a photo of a drawing of research laboratories, newspaper clippings, and a two-page c.v. in English with image of Budevska. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2007-005
BUDIS, SANDA. ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect of Lutry, Switzerland. Architectural drawings and a brochure with drawings, notes, sketches and slides of "La Conversion/Lutry." Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-022
BULANT KAMENOVA, ANETA. BROCHURE, 1987-1999. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Born in Sofia, Bulgaria. Practiced in Sofia and Vienna. Her firm's brochure, "Emerging Architecture," features three residential projects, a carpenter's shop, and a bank designed by Bulant & Wailzer. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2002-016
IAWA Collections: C
CALIFORNIA WOMEN IN ENVIRONMENTAL DESIGN RECORDS, 1990-1994. (0.6 cu. ft.)
The California Women in Environmental Design (CWED) is a California organization of women professionals that are involved in planning, architecture, landscape architecture, engineering, interior design, and other related fields. The collection contains materials relating to the operations of the organization including newsletters, membership and conference materials, and audiocassettes of sessions at CWED conferences. Finding aid available online. Ms1990-059.
CAMPANA, ANA ISABEL (1934- ). BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Born 1934 in Cuba. Senior architect for the General Electric Company since 1974, specializing in the design of power plant facilities. Collection consists of a curriculum vitae and biography, and copies of certificates from Who's Who in the World and Who's Who of American Women. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-023
CÁRDENAS, ELIANA. PUBLICATIONS, 1999-2002. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Eliana Maria Cárdenas Sanchez is a Cuban architect and architectural historian. This collection includes two issues of the journal arquitectura y urbanismo, 2/1999 and 3/2002, each of which contain articles by Cardenas and a university textbook, Un siglo de enseñanza de la arquitectura en Cuba, [NA2151 .I67 2002] that she helped edit. Additional publications by Cárdenas are also available to view in the Special Collections Reading Room. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2006-023
CARLINI, ERDMUTE (1941- ). ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. (0.2 cu. ft.)
Born 1941. Landscape architect of Berlin, Germany. Materials include two catalogs, Berlin/Los Angeles: Working Together in Culture, Science and Industry--Fantasy and Realism in Architecture, about an exhibition of the Werkbund Berlin at UCLA in which Carlini showed her work, and Dan Markische Viertel-25 Jahre Danach, by Carlini and her husband; postcards of her work; and catalogs (1977-1989) in which her work is cited. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-024
CENTER OF CONTEMPORARY ARCHITECTURE. MEDIA COLLECTION, 2000-2003. (1.5 cu. ft.)
The Center of Contemporary Architecture, a cultural non-governmental organization in Moscow, produced a weekly television series (2001-2004) titled Architecture Gallery which was supported by the Ford Foundation and authored and narrated by Irina Korobina. This collection contains selected videos from the Architecture Gallery television program produced by the C:CA. Also present is a DVD of the made-for-TV movie (also produced by the C:CA), "Ivan Leonidov, the Architect." Finding aid available online. Ms2011-026.
CHADEAYNE,OLIVE (1904-2001). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1924-1956. (9.8 cu. ft.)
Architect of Walnut Creek, California; member of the American Institute of Architects. Papers consist of architectural drawings of residences, primarily in the Southern California area, done while both self-employed and working for others. Includes several drawings done by noted California architect Lilian Rice (1889-1938), with Chadeayne as her associate. Also includes a transcript of an oral history interview, February 1993. Finding aid available online. Ms1990-057
CHANNEL, MARY BROWN (1907-2006). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1936-1978, bulk 1936-1950. (11 cu. ft.)
After graduating from Randolph-Macon Woman's College in 1925, Channel earned her degree in architecture at Cornell University in 1933. She returned to her hometown of Portsmouth, Virginia, and worked at a firm for two years before opening her own office as the first registered woman architect in Virginia. She became known for her residential and church designs. Her collection includes sketches and drawings for about 140 mostly residential projects in the Portsmouth area. Also included are some college drawings and projects. Finding aid available online. Ms2007-030.
CHESTNUTT, REBECCA. CATALOG, 2000. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Born in Spartanburg, South Carolina, Chestnutt received her Master of Architecture degree from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in 1981. In 1983 she moved to Berlin and by 1988 Chestnutt started her firm with Robert Niess, a colleague from Virginia Tech. The collection includes a copy of the catalog, The History of Air 1988-2000, showing three of their buildings. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2002-006
CHIN, SHO-PING (1953-2015). SCHOLARSHIP ANNOUNCEMENT, 2016. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect of Boston, Massachusetts. Sho-Ping Chin FAIA (1953-2015) was a Principal at Payette, specializing in healthcare architecture. A founding member of the AIA Women's Leadership Summit and active member of the Boston Society of Architects, Sho-Ping advocated passionately on behalf of Women in Design. In January 2016, Payette announced the Payette Sho-Ping Chin Memorial Academic Scholarship, a $10,000 annual award for a woman studying architecture at the undergraduate and graduate level. The award was the first AIA Scholarship named after a woman architect and the first specifically designated for women students. Materials comprise an email about the scholarship's creation and a copy of the 2016 scholarship announcement Part of IAWA Small Collections.
CHONEVA, KRASIMIRA (1935- ). ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1958-1997. (3.1 cu. ft.)
Krasimira Zheliazkova Choneva began working in architecture in the 1950s at the Varna Design Organization (Bulgaria). Starting in 1971 she was involved in construction of multi-family housing from prefabricated panels, and she won an award for integrating color and designs into the monotonous facades. In 1990 she opened a private office focusing on apartments, residences, and hotels. Items of particular distinction in the collection include Choneva's early work on the Pavilion for Euxinograd Palace and her apartment designs utilizing prefabricated panels and accent colors. Finding aid available online. Ms2007-003
CHOWDHURY, URMILA EULIE (1923- ). BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL, 1965. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect of Chandigarh, India; first woman to qualify as an architect in Asia and to be Chief Architect of an Indian state (Punjab). Materials include a curriculum vitae and copies of letters sent by the architect Le Corbusier in the 1960s. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-025
CHRISTIANOVIC, RUTH (1923- ). ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. (0.4 cu. ft.)
Architect and artist of Vienna, Austria. Materials consist of a résumé and architectural plans of her designs, sketches, and watercolors of landscapes and buildings. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-026
CIOCANEA, DOINA MARILENA (1951- ). ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1999. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Born in Bucharest, Romania, where she received her diploma in 1976 from the Institute of Architecture. Papers consist of a résumé, photographs and photocopies of drawings of portions of her work. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-004
CLINE, ANN, ARTICLES, 1989-1997. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Artist and architect of California and Ohio; Associate Professor of Architecture at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio. Materials consist of articles by and about Cline's work on "Little Houses" or one-room spaces, and an exhibit of her work at Miami University in 1989. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms1994-011
COCHRANE, MARGARET (PEGGY). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1951-1990. (13.2 cu. ft.)
Architect primarily of Southern California with over thirty years of varied experience in all types of construction: office buildings, schools, hospitals, factories, apartment houses, condominiums, housing tracts, custom residential and remodeling. Collection includes drawings for approximately 70 professional projects. Finding aid available online. Ms2013-088.
COLE, DORIS. ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION. (0.1 cu. ft.)
President/Director of the firm Cole and Goyette, Architects and Planners, in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects (FAIA). Collection includes brochure packets from her firm and postcards showing her work. A signed copy of her book From Tipi to Skyscraper: A History of Women in Architecture [NA1997 .C57 1973] and a copy of her book Candid Reflections: Letters from Women in Architecture 1972 & 2004 [NA1997 .C64 2007] are available to view in the Special Collections Reading Room. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-027
COLTER, MARY JANE (1869-1958). MEDIA COLLECTION, 1996. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Chief architect for the Fred Harvey Company. Designed hotels, gift shops, and viewing places throughout the southwestern desert in the United States in the early 1900s. Her most notable designs were the Watchtower, Hopi House, and Hermit's Rest at the Grand Canyon National Park in Arizona. The collection includes a film about Colter's life and work entitled "Mary Jane Colter: The Desert View" [Video 5508], which is available in the Newman Library. The film was produced, written, and directed in 1996 by Jennifer Lee of Beverly Hills, California and narrated by Ellen Burstyn. National Public Radio program cassettes 526/527 are available to listen in the Special Collections Reading Room. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms1997-005
CONFORTO, MARIA LETIZIO. ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1982-2000. (1.0 cu. ft.)
The collection includes drawings of Museo Nazionale Romano Crypta Balbi, slides, articles, and a brief biographical sketch. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2002-056
CONSTRUCTIVE WOMEN ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN NEWSLETTERS. (0.1 cu. ft.)
An archive located in North Sydney, Australia, of images of work by women architects and designers in Australia, formed in 1995. Records consist of a cover letter introducing the archive, a general information and collection policy form, guidelines for submitting work to the archive form, a biographical questionnaire, an image documentation form, and a copyright agreement form. Also includes issues of Constructive Times, a newsletter of the Association of Women Architects, Landscape Architects, Planners and Women in the Building Industry, in Australia. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms1995-005
COOPER, MARGARET ROBB SHOOK (1925- ). RÉSUMÉ AND BROCHURE. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Partner of Architecture 2, a firm in Washington, D.C. Materials include a curriculum vitae and a brochure, "Robbie Cooper Design," with photographs and architectural drawings. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-028
CORNELIUS, ULLA (1952- ). ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS, 1983-1985. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect of Munster, Germany. The collection consists of her architectural designs. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-029
CRAWFORD, MARTHA J. (1925-1994). DESIGN PAPERS, 1961-1974. (3.7 cu. ft.)
Architectural interior designer of Waukesha, Wisconsin; first woman member of the New York Metropolitan Chapter of the Construction Specifications Institute. Collection consists of a portfolio of biographical and career information, including lists of projects and exhibitions, and articles about her work; two scrapbooks (1961-1974) of photographs, clippings, and lists of accomplishments; and drawings, artwork, and posters by Crawford. Finding aid available online. Ms1994-016
CROLEY, NAN (1939- ). ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1996-2006. (0.6 cu. ft.)
Nan Croley was born in 1939 and grew up in Cleveland, Ohio. She attended Lake Erie College in Painesville, Ohio and graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree. She graduated with a Bachelor of Architecture degree from Pratt Institute, School of Architecture in 1970. The collection consists of partial sets of construction drawings for three projects, several renderings and many sketches done while employed at John Matthews Architects. Projects include a new medical building, the Massolo Building storefront, and a remodel and addition to a residence. Finding aid available online. Ms2006-016
CRUISE, KATHLEEN T., ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1964-1995. (8.0 cu. ft.)
Architect in San Francisco, California. Alumna of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech). Collection focuses on her work for Pacific Gas and Electric company in San Francisco, California. Finding aid available online. Ms1999-001
CURRIE, VIRGINIA M. HERZ. PAPERS, 1934-2000. (3.8 cu. ft.)
Resident of Blacksburg, Virginia, and a 1936 graduate of the architecture program at the University of Minnesota. Currie married architect Leonard J. Currie in 1937 and traveled around the world with him, becoming an active community volunteer wherever they lived. The Currie Papers contain watercolors of room interiors probably painted as a student in the 1930s. There is also a scrapbook from a neighborhood beautification project in Chicago in 1966 and a 1995 Valiant Woman Award from Church Women United. Other materials about the Curries are housed at the Special Collections of the library of the University of Illinois at Chicago. Finding aid available online. Ms2001-005
CUTLER, SHERRIE STEPHENS.BROCHURE. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect of Cambridge, Massachusetts. Collection consists of a brochure about her firm, Ecodesign International. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-030
IAWA Collections: D
DAREDEMO PHOTOGRAPHER EXHIBITION, 2013. (5.5 cu. ft.)
S This collection comprises approximately 180 exhibit panels and four pulications documenting the "Daredemo Photographer" exhibition sponsored by the Union International des femmes Architects Japon (UIFA-Japon). The exhibition showcased citizen photography in Iwaizumi Town, Japan, which documented changes to the town's built environment in the aftermath of the 2011 Tohoku Earthquake and Tsunami. Photographs were taken from December 2011 through March 2012. In March 2013, the exhibition was displayed in the Omoto rail station in Japan. The exhibition traveled to Virginia Tech in May 2013. Finding aid available online. Ms2015-008
DASKALOVA, SNEZHA (1925- ). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1985-1995. (2.8 cu. ft.)
Snezha Daskalova Milkovska graduated from Sofia Polytechnic in 1950 and worked in Sofia at "Sofproekt" until her mandatory retirement in 1985. After laws changed, she opened a private practice, at which she designed mainly private houses in Bulgaria. Papers include 50 drawings for four residential projects by Daskalova and one set of student drawings done by her daughter, Marine Milkovska. Finding aid available online. Ms2007-004
DE BLOIS, NATALIE (1921-2013). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1941-2013. (2.7 cu. ft.)
Natalie de Blois worked for Skidmore, Owings, & Merrill (SOM) for 30 years collaborating closely with Louis Skidmore and Gordon Bunshaft, primarily. She is recognized for her work on a number of projects including, Lever House (NYC); Pepsi-Cola building (NYC); Union Carbide Corporation (NYC); Connecticut General Life Insurance (Hartford, CT); Lincoln Center (NYC); and the Hilton Hotel (Istanbul, Turkey). Later in her career de Blois taught at the University of Texas at Austin. She was named a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects (FAIA) in 1974. In the 1970's she became an active advocate for women in architecture joining the American Institute of Architects Task Force on Women, visiting architecture schools and talking to female students. Materials in the collection include correspondence, original notes, clippings, brochures, finished project photographs, published materials, sketches, watercolors, elevations, architectural renderings, contracts, specifications, and reports for 24 projects. Finding aid available online. Ms2007-017
DeGEZELLE, MOLLY (1979- ). INVENTION PAPERS. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Resident of Mankato, Minnesota. Invented a building material composed of recycled paper and glue, originally created as an entry in a science fair competition in 1991. The material is now manufactured under the trade name Environ, by Phenix Biocomposites. Collection consists of literature about the invention, including the paper she wrote for the science fair, biographical information about DeGezelle, and samples of her original invention (which she called "MollyBoard") and Environ. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms1995-014
DELAVRANCEA-GIBORY, HENRIETTE. BIOGRAPICAL MATERIAL. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Three page biographical sketch with project list, author unknown. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Acc2006-048
DEMI, ENGJELLUSHE HOXHA. CD, 2003. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Collection consists of a mini-CD with computer drawings by architect Engjellushe Hoxha Demi. [Material is in Albanian.] Part of IAWA Small Collections.
DIAMOND, KATHERINE. ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1985-1995. (1.0 cu. ft.)
Partner in Charge of Siegel Diamond Architects of Los Angeles, California, and the first woman to serve as President of the American Institute of Architects, Los Angeles Chapter. President of the Association for Women in Architecture from 1989-91. Collection consists of correspondence, a curriculum vitae, and information about the exhibit "Women in American Architecture, 1888-1989: A Historic, Contemporary and Southern California Perspective," which Diamond helped create. Also includes a 1992 draft of the book Women Architects: USA, by Jan Gero and information about the AIA exhibit "That Exceptional One." Finding aid available online. Ms1996-001
DIAZ, LUZ MARIA BERISTAIN. ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1996. (0.1 cu. ft.)
A member of the Faculty of Architecture at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de Mexico, Division de Postgrado, The Luz Maria Beristain Diaz Architectural Papers consist of Beristain Diaz's Master's Thesis in Restoration of Monuments entitled "Restoration of the Barrio de Tizapan Historical Center, Mexico City." Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2001-022
DIETRICH, VERENA (1941- ). ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect of Cologne, Germany. Papers include photographs of Dietrich and of her designs, a list of her designs from 1979 to 1990, copies of architectural drawings and photographs for her book, Architecktinnen: Ideen-Projekte- Bauten [NA199 .D44 1986], a exhibition poster of her work in Berlin (1992), and articles (1980-86) by her and about her work. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms1987-060
DOMBAI, DR. MARIA (1934- ). BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL AND PRESENTATION PANELS, 2003. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect of Budapest, Hungary. Dombai began her professional life in a planning office for the Hungarian food industry. She also taught at the university level and was a manager for the construction of a church-complex, and an architectural advisor for the National Association of Large Families (which addressed housing policy). The collection includes a biographical statement by Dombai, a photograph of Dombai, and a series of 9 panels presenting several of her projects from 1962-1986. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2009-054.
DONEV, MIRIANA I. RÉSUMÉ (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect of New Rochelle, New York; job captain of the firm of Allan Greenberg, Architect, of New Haven, Connecticut. Graduated from the Parsons School of Design in 1975 (B.F.A. in Environmental Design) and Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in 1977 (M. Arch.). Curriculum vitae. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-031
DÖRHÖFER, KERSTIN (1943- ). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1984-2001. (0.2 cu. ft.)
Born in Dresden in 1943, Dörhöfer received her architecture degree in 1969 from the Technical University of Berlin and later earned her doctoral degree with a dissertation about social housing in Germany. In 1979 Dörhöfer formed an organization for women's studies at the Free University of Berlin. Since 1986, Dörhöfer has taught at the University of Arts in Berlin. This collection includes a bound portfolio book with photocopies showing her work from 1966-1972, a publication by the International Women's University entitled Reader: Project Area "City and Gender," with essays by Dörhöfer and Beverly Willis, and a few biographical items. Finding aid available online. Ms2002-007
DOUGHERTY, BETSEY OLENICK. ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect of Newport Beach, California. Member of the National American Institute of Architects Board of Directors representing California, and a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects. Papers consist of photographs (1980-1986) of her designs and a flyer and a brochure of her firm, Dougherty + Dougherty. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-032.
DOW, JOY WHEELER, DESIGNS, 1982. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Photocopy of a design by Joy Wheeler Dow, an architect in New Jersey, published in County and Suburban Homes of the Prairie School Period 1982. Part of IAWA Small Collections.
DOWS, WENA W. (1928- ). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1966-1988. (4.0 cu. ft.)
Born in 1928. Architect of Culver City, California. Wena Dows earned her B.A. in Architecture from the University of California, Berkeley in 1950 and began working independently, specializing in residential remodeling, in 1954. Along with her architectural commitments she also worked as a nutritionist. This collection contains drawings, textual documents, photographs and slides of Dows' addition and renovation projects for residences in California from 1966 to 1988, along with information about a few commercial projects. Finding aid available online. Ms1990-013
DREW, JANE (1911-1996). RÉSUMÉ. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Assistant Town Planning Advisor to the Colonies of Nigeria, the Gold Coast, Sierra Leone, and Gambia. Part of IAWA Small Collections.
DRISKEL, JEAN ROTH (1915-1971). BIOGRAPHICAL PAPERS, 1949-1958; 1968-1971. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Fellow of the American Institute of Architects, member of the Union Internationale des Femmes Architectes, and national president(1954-1956) of the Association of Women in Architecture. Designer of residential, commercial, and industrial buildings in Pasadena, California. Notebook of material relating to Driskel and her career, including a photograph, correspondence regarding her membership in the American Institute of Architects (1949-1958), news clippings (1968-1971), and obituaries, donated by the Association for Women in Architecture. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-033
DROSTEN, MARY LOU (1910-1991). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1911-1990, n.d. (9 cu. ft.)
Born 5 July 1910 in St. Louis Missouri. Drosten attended Washington University in St. Louis from 1928-1933, where she received a B.A. in Architecture. From her Chattanooga based practice, Drosten Design, Mary Lou Drosten developed residential projects and medical offices for clients across the country. This collection includes documentation of Mary Lou Drosten’s personal and professional life, including her experience as a polio survivor. Drosten was an active participant in many civil society organizations, including the Association of Women in Architecture, the Huntsville (AL) League of Women Voters, and the Congress on American Women Leaders. Draft finding aid available upon request. Ms2016-008
DUNAY, DONNA. PAPERS. (0.3 cu. ft.)
Professor of Architecture at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University; member of the IAWA Board of Advisors and its chair 1994-2000. Collection includes a CD-ROM titled History of Architecture Cybercore Project [NA350 .L83 1999] and A center for civic activity in the Town of Blacksburg: a national design competition [F234.B5 C35 1992]. Ms2001-054
DUNCOMBE, A. JANE (1925- ). ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1952-2002. (2.0 cu. ft.)
Born in 1925. Graduate of Art Institute of Chicago School of Industrial Design and apprentice of Frank Lloyd Wright at Taliesin (1950-1951). Architect in San Francisco Bay Area from 1956 to 1996. Papers primarily include drawings and some printed material that relate to various residential and other projects, one in Illinois and the rest in California. Finding aid available online. Ms2002-004
IAWA Collections: E
EDELMAN, JUDITH (1923-2014). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTIONS, 1967-1997. (0.4 cu. ft.)
Partner of The Edelman Partnership/Architects of New York City. Founding member of the Alliance of Women in Architecture (AWA) and a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects. Papers consist of newspaper clippings, correspondence, writings, and published literature about Edelman's activities with the AWA, as well as writings by her and about her work as an advocate for women in the field of architecture. Also includes photographs, floor plans, and supplementary information about seven architectural projects done by her. Finding aid available online. Ms1997-010
EMMONS, AUDREY (1921-1997). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1974-1997. (1.5 cu. ft.)
Architect of Sausalito, California, and a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects. Received B.S. in Architecture at Kansas State University in 1943, and worked for architectural firms in Washington, D.C., and San Francisco, California, until she established her own firm in 1980. Papers consists of architectural drawings, photographs, slides, and job files for designs Emmons did in San Francisco, Sausalito, and other Northern California locations from the mid-1970s to 1996. Finding aid available online. Ms1997-018
ENGLISH, ELIZABETH COOPER. ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 2000-2001. (0.5 cu. ft.)
Cooper received her PhD in Architecture from the University of Pennsylvania in 2000. Her dissertation is titled Arkhitektura I Mnimosti: The Origins of Soviet Avant-Garde Rationalist Architecture in the Russian Mystical-Philosophical and Mathematical Intellectual Tradition. Finding aid available online. Ms2002-003
ENRIQUEZ-MUSNI, MARJORIE L. (1958- ). CURRICULUM VITAE. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Planner of Manila, the Philippines. Materials consist of her curriculum vitae. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-034
ESPEGEL ALONSO, CARMEN. ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1995-2004. (0.6 cu. ft.)
Associate Professor of Projects at the Higher Technical School of Architecture in Madrid, Spain. Practicing architect since 1985. Served as Principal of her firm VZK Architects (1991-1998) and currently works with her firm Espegel-Fisac Arquitectos (2003-). Papers include a copy of her Master's thesis, "Study and Restoration Proposals for the "Maison en Bord De Mer: E. 1027" By Arch. Eileen Gray and Jean Badovici," graphic dossiers of her work, and some correspondence. Finding aid available online. Ms2001-021
IAWA Collections: F
FALLON, KRISTINE K. (1949- ). PAPERS, 1979-2004, 2013. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Former president of Computer Technology Management, Inc., of A. Epstein Companies, in Chicago, Illinois, and a consultant to architects and engineers on the effective use of computers in facility design. Current head of Kristine Fallon Associates, Inc. Collection materials consist of a résumé, a career information form from the AIA Archives, materials from the UIFA 1979 conference and essays. UIFA materials include a program, a participant's list, and two papers, "Computer-Aided Design in Architectural Practice" by Fallon and "If the City Were a She" by Donna E. Shalala. Essays include a 1980 article by Fallon, "An Overview of Computer Aided Design in Architectural Practice," a 1981 article by Margrit Kennedy, "Gyn/Ecology: On the Relationship Between Woman/ Nature/Space," and a 1988 article, "Computer Applications in Building Design and Management" in which Fallon is featured. A digital copy of KFA's 2004 report for the Art Institute of Chicago, "Collecting, Archiving, and Exhibiting Digital Design Data" is also included. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-035
FARNSWORTH, CHRISTINA B.. PAPERS, 1975-2017 (50 cu. ft.)
Award-winning writer, editor, and pioneer in the field of architecture, building construction, and design trade journalism. Graduate of Mundelein College and University of Chicago. She served as an editor for Professional Builder magazine (as its first woman hire), Luxury Homes, Professional Remodeler, and BUILDER magazine. Freelance writing credits include Better Homes & Gardens, Home, Real Estate Today, Tucson Guide, Home Energy, and Green Builder Media (among others). As an employee of the U.S. League of Savings Institutions, she comprehensively revised the textbook “Construction: Building, Materials, and Methods” for two consecutive editions. Additional publications include a Housing/Planner Glossary for the U.S. League and the 1993 text “The Home Remodeler” with Stouffer & Smith Architects. Acc2017-022
"THE FEMININE PRESENCE IN ISRAELI ARCHITECTURE," EXHIBIT CATALOG, 2009. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Exhibit catalog (2009) edited by Sigal Davidi that chronicles the first exhibition of female architects in the history of Israeli architecture. The exhibit opened at the Union of Architects in Jaffa (2007) and featured the built projects of 22 "veteran and new architects." The projects were also accompanied by a short manifesto that the architects were asked to write. A video, "A skirt of concrete and cement," directed by architect Vered Fluk was shown as part of the exhibit and the DVD of this film is included with the catalog. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2009-054
FESSAS-EMMANOUIL, HELEN. BIOGRAPHICAL WORK, 2004. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect and professor in Athens, Greece. Author of Public Architecture in Modern Greece, 1827-1992 [NA4301 .P49 1993] and Essays on Neohellenic Architecture [NA1098 .P47 2001], which are available to view in the Special Collections Reading Room. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2004-011
FEUERSTEIN, MARCIA. ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1982-1996. (3.8 cu. ft.)
Feuerstein earned her PhD. in Architecture from the University of Pennsylvania. In 1996 she joined the architecture faculty at Virginia Polytechnic Institution and State University, after teaching at the University of Pennsylvania, Temple University, and the University at Buffalo. She chaired the IAWA Board of Advisors 2001-2005, after serving as its secretary and newsletter editor. A licensed architect and member of the AIA, she has practiced in New York, Philadelphia, Buffalo, and Niagara Falls. Her papers consist of teaching, writing, and project documents and project drawings. Finding aid available online. Ms2007-007
FIGUEIRA, LEONOR (1937- ). RÉSUMÉ. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Principal architect of the Portuguese Institute of Cultural Heritage. Curriculum vitae prepared by the United States Information Agency. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-055
FILAS, HILDE. BROCHURE. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect of Vienna, Austria. Brochure of her work. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-048
FISHER, LAURA HORSTMAN. BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL, 1986-2002. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Vice president of facilities at Allied Bancshares, Inc. in Houston, Texas. Member of the American Institute of Architects, FAIA. Collection includes a résumé and biography; an article citing her as the recipient of the 1986 Young Architect Award from the Houston AIA; a catalog she edited, Houston's Gallery of Architecture: A Walking Tour of Downtown Houston, and her nomination binder for AIA Fellowship. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-049
FLAGGE, INGEBORG. CATALOG, 1987. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect of Bonn, Germany. Flagge edited the catalog entitled "Frauen in der Architektur--bauen Frauen anders?" (Women in Architecture - Do Women Build Differently?) that arose from a discussion at the Friedrick-Ebert-Stiftung in 1987. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2001-053
FLECKEN, URSULA. ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect of Aachen, Germany. Papers consist of two sets of architectural drawings, "The Reorganization of the Central Area of Monchengladbach" and "Improvement of the 'Märkisches Viertel' in Berlin." Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-036
FLORENCE, NANCY (1935-2015) . ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1973-2006. (15 cu. ft.)
Born in Los Angeles, Nancy Florence(1935-2015) was an architectural designer based in Southern California. She was among the earliest members of the Organization of Women Architects (founded in 1973) and joined the 1975 cohort of the Women's School of Planning and Architecture at St. Joseph's College in Biddeford, Maine. She graduated from the University of California at Berkeley in 1982 with a professional degree in architecture. Appointed to the California Board of Architects by Governor Jerry Brown in 1976, she advocated for gender equity in architectural licensing. She was one of the first public members to serve on the commission. In the late 1980s, Nancy Florence established an independent practice named "The Design Collaborative." Her work included residential designs throughout California and the Northwest. Before opening her own practice, Florence interned at the San Luis Obispo Solar Group. Inventory available upon request. Ms2016-007
FORSTHUBER, SABINE. PAPERS, 1985-1992. (0.4 cu. ft.)
Art and architecture historian of Vienna, Austria. Papers consist of literature about prominent women architects of Austria, including Anne-Lulja Praun and Margarette Schutte-Lihotzky. Also includes an article Forsthuber wrote about the history of women architects in Austria. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms1992-018
FRITZ, SYLVIA (1955- ). ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Born in Vienna, Austria, Fritz is an architect and artist. Materials include a brochure of Fritz's work from 1977 to 1987; photographs of her; an exhibition leaflet, Turme von Sylvia Fritz (1982); and articles (1981-1984) in which her work is cited. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-037
IAWA Collections: G
GABREA, GEORGETA (1953- ). ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1996-1999. (0.3 cu. ft.)
Born in Bucharest, Romania. Officer of architectural firm, Capitel Limited. Papers consist of a personal résumé, corporate dossier, photocopies of photographs and documents, and blue drawings of portions of her work including an office building and an apartment building. Finding aid available online. Ms2000-005
GALSTER, GERTRUD. PUBLICATIONS, 1963-1988.
Architect of Denmark and member of the Union Internationale des Femmes Architectes (UIFA). Collection consists of books about women architects and reports and other literature from the meetings of the UIFA. Inventory of publications located in box. The following books were cataloged separately and are available to view in the Special Collections Reading Room: "That Exceptional One": Women in American Architecture, 1888-1988 [NA1997 .T47 1988]; Ziviltechnikerinnen [Civilian technicians] [NA1997 .Z58 1982]; Women in Danish Architecture [NA1997 .W66 1991]; and Profiles: Pioneering Women Architects from Finland [NA1455.F5 P76 1983]. Material is in French, English, German, and Persian [?] Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms1996-020
GAYER, DIANE ELLIOTT. ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1997-2002. (2.0 cu. ft.)
Publications and one poster generated by Diane Elliott Gayer's development of Vermont Design Institute, Historic Main Street Partnership Study in Burlington, Vermont, and Colorado Left Bank Townhomes. Finding aid available online. Ms2002-045
GETOV, ALEXANDRINA. DRAWINGS, 2005, 2008. (2.0 cu. ft.)
Getov has a Master's of Science in Architecture from the Higher Institute of Architecture and Civil Engineering in Sofia, Bulgaria. Since 1992 she has lived in Los Angeles, California, where she is a principal at Studio Antares. This collection contains brief biographical information about Getov, as well as architectural drawings and color images of two 2005 residential projects in California. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2008-014
GIANNESINI, FRANCOISE (1945- ). BOOK, 1994. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Sculptor in Paris, France. Francoise Giannesini, Sculptures, 1985-1994. [NB553 G45 A4 1994]. Available to view in the Special Collections Reading Room.
"GLASS CEILINGS: HIGHLIGHTS FROM THE INTERNATIONAL ARCHIVE OF WOMEN IN ARCHITECTURE CENTER." SELECTED EXHIBIT PANELS, 2010. (4.3 cu. ft.)
"Glass Ceilings: Highlights from the International Archive of Women in Architecture Center" was an exhibition held at the Virginia Center for Architecture in Richmond, Virginia, as part of their Dominion Exhibition Series and was on display from March 4-June 6, 2010. It featured the work of pioneering women in architecture and design from the International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA) collection at Virginia Tech. Finding aid available online. Ms2011-075
GLEBOVA, TATJANA. RÉSUMÉ AND DESIGN SUBMISSION, 1990. (0.2 cu. ft.)
Architect of Sofia, Bulgaria. Papers consist of exhibit boards for a design she submitted to a 1990 competition and a curriculum vitae. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms1992-022
GORIN, ABBYE A. (1927- ). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1940-2006, bulk 1995-2006. (0.4 cu. ft.)
Architectural researcher and writer of Metairie, Louisiana. Educated at the University of Texas at Austin (B.F.A., 1947), University of New Orleans (M.S., Urban Studies, 1985), and Virginia Tech (Ph.D., Environmental Design and Planning, 1989). Collection consists of a six-minute film entitled "The Rivergate, 1968-1995," produced by Barbara Coleman and written by Gorin and Betty Moss. The film was created as a tribute to the building and as a protest to its demolition. The collection also includes at 42-page "Catalog of Work" which has a curriculum vitae of Gorin's career achievements and lists her photographic collections located in the Historical New Orleans Collection and the Latin American Library at Tulane University. Audio tape of an interview with the sculptor Angela Gregory, and a DVD containing 19 reissued audiotapes. In 2011, Gorin submitted a CD entitled "Remembering Milka, 1927-2010" a photojournalism remembrance featuring 25 of Gorin's photographs that have a some connection to Milka Bliznakov as remembered by Gorin. Finding aid available online. Ms1997-009
GOTTLIEB, LOIS DAVIDSON (1926- ). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1945-2003. (7.2 cu. ft.)
Residential designer in San Francisco, California. Attended Stanford University and Harvard Graduate School of Design. Served as an apprentice to Frank Lloyd Wright from 1948 to 1949 as part of the Taliesin Fellowship. Designed residences in California, Washington, Idaho, and Virginia and is the author of Environment and Design in Housing [NA7115 .G6]. Papers include project files, drawings, correspondence, manuscripts, photographs and printed material related to Gottlieb's design work and various professional activities. There is also documentary footage by Eva Soltes Productions about Lois Gottlieb, including tapes entitled "Lois Plans," "A Way of Life (demo reel)" and "House and Exterior by Robert Gottlieb," 1995-1997. Photographs of some of her works are available on the VT ImageBase. Finding aid available online. Ms1997-003
GOTTWALD-THAPAR, SYLVIA, CURRICULUM VITAE. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Urban designer and planner at the Maryland National Capital Parks and Planning Commission. Curriculum vitae. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-038
GRAMATIKOVA, LILIA (1929- ). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1960-2007, BULK DATES 1965-1981. (1.2 cu. ft.)
Lilia Gramatikova is an Bulgarian architect who practiced in Bulgaria, Mongolia, and East Germany from 1953-1985. The collection consists of 72 hand-drawn architectural drawings of two projects: Music High School for Folk Instruments and Folk Singing in Shiroka Lukka, Bulgaria (1974) and Territorial Information and Computing Center in Vrasta, Bulgaria (1981). Also present is a drawing (photocopy) of Gramatikova's personal residence in Sofia (1965) and a folder containing biographical information. A selection of her work is available on VT ImageBase. Finding aid available online. Ms2001-023
GRAU GARCÍA, CRISTINA (1946- ). ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1974-1989. (0.3 cu. ft.)
Professor of architecture at the Escuela T.S. de Arquitectura Universidad Politecnica-Valencia in Spain. This collection documents her work from 1974-1989. It contains a curriculum vitae, magazine articles written by Grau García, course materials used in her work as a faculty member for Valencia Polytechnic University, and publishings related to competitions and projects undertaken with her brother, Camilo Grau García. Significant topics represented in her writings include samples of her research on architecture in Valencia, Spain and the relationship between literature and architecture.. Finding aid available online. Ms2001-066.
GRAY, EILEEN. ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1974-1980. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Photocopies from two short books and assorted notes and photocopied articles, 37 pages, 1974-1980. Part of IAWA Small Collections.
GRIFFIN, MARION MAHONY (1871-1961). ARTICLES. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect and artist, Griffin was the first women to graduate, in 1894, from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology with a degree in architecture. She went on to work with Frank Lloyd Wright in his Oak Park, Illinois studio for 14 years and is considered an original member of the Prairie School. Griffin worked mainly as an architectural renderer, and her drawings are credited as enhancing Wright's early reputation. She married fellow architect Walter Burley Griffin in 1911 and they went on to practice in Australia and India spreading the Prairie style worldwide. Drawings and papers from the Griffins are held by the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University, by the Ryerson and Burnham Archives and the Department of Architecture at The Art Institute of Chicago, by the Block Gallery at Northwestern University, by the New-York Historical Society, by the Powerhouse Museum, and by the National Library of Australia. Part of IAWA Small Collections.
GRISOGONO, KSENIJA (1909-1997). RÉSUMÉ. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Attended Zagreb University, earned a degree in Architecture and Engineering, (1933). Attended the Institute of Fine Art in Prague, (1937). Following her studies in Prague, Grisogono studied with Le Corbusier. She worked on the Yugoslav Pavilion (1938) in Ankara, Turkey; the Italian Cultural Institute (1938) in Belgrade, Yugoslavia; and the British and French Embassies (1949), also in Belgrade. In Paris, France she worked on La Defense (1960-1970), a massive business quarter. Part of IAWA Small Collections.
GROAT, LINDA N., BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Associate Dean for Academic Programs and Administration at the University of Michigan. Architect and author, Groat's focus is on two two main topics: environmental meaning and the experience of place; and gender issues in architectural education. Curriculum vitae. Author of Architectural Research Methods [NA2000 .G76 2002] which is available in the Art+Architecture Library, and editor of Giving Places Meaning [BF353 .G66 1995], which is available at Newman Library. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-039
GUILLISSEN-HOA, SIMONE. PAPERS, 1987. (0.1 cu. ft.)
The collection consists of photographs of Guillessen-Hoa taken in 1987 and a biographical sketch, documenting her career from 1947-1987. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2001-024
Biographical Directory: H
HADID, ZAHA (1950- ). EXHIBIT BROCHURE, 2000. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Exhibit brochure for Iraqi born architect titled Zaha Hadid Laboratory produced by the Exhibitions Program at Yale University School of Architecture in collaboration with Zaha Hadid. Part of IAWA Small Collections.
HAFER, HANNELORE (1954-). BOOK AND SKETCH. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect of Kassel, Germany. Collection contains a book, Glasarchitektur: Bewohnte Glashauser und Glasanbauten (1986), co-written with Egon Bohmer, and a sketch of a skyline. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-040
HAHN, IVANKA VULCHANOVA, PAPERS. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Collection includes three photographs and one advertisement featuring Ganglaz Pavillon designed by Glasbau Heinrich Hahn; an exhibit catalog; and one photograph depicting a dinner or lunch at the inn in Rheinsberg [Germany] circa 1950. Material is in German. Part of IAWA Small Collections.
HAKALA-MEYER, MAIJA (1944- ). PORTFOLIO AND BIOGRAPHICAL ABSTRACT. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect of Braunschweig, Germany. Collection consists of a portfolio of photocopies of articles, architectural drawings, and photographs, and a brief biographical abstract. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-041
HALL, LOUISE (1905-1990). PAPERS, 1860-1990. (102 cu. ft.)
B.A. from Wellesley College in 1927, B.S. from MIT in 1930, Ph.D. from Radcliffe 1954. Hall was a long-time member of the North Carolina Chapter of the AIA, and served as its archivist. She taught art and architectural history at Duke University from 1931-1975 and mentored many architects and scholars, including Dr. Mary Woods at the School of Architecture at Cornell who recently published a history of the profession. The Hall collection contains papers from her teaching career, various jobs including architecture projects, drawings from an architecture class, diaries, maps, blueprints, scrapbooks and original artwork. It also includes old family letters and photographs (including glass negatives, cartes de visite, cabinet cards, and tintypes), genealogical research notes, and personal papers. Preliminary inventory available by request. Ms2000-086
HANNA, BRONWYN, THESIS. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Active in Constructive Women: The Association of Women Architects, Landscape Architects, Planners and Women of the Building Industry. PhD thesis on early women architects in New South Wales, Australia. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-028
HANSEN, FANI DANADJIEVA, ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1982-1987. (0.1 cu. ft.)
General Partner, Hansen Associates, Tiburon , California. Received Award of Honor (1980) for Design Excellence and first place for Energy Conservation Competition (1981). The collection include a resume, Hansen Architects firm project sheets, audio interview, and information about and photographs of the Pittsburgh Civic Center. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2001-061
HARKNESS, SARAH PILLSBURY (1914-2013). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1985-1997, 2013. (2.25 cu. ft.)
Architect of Lexington, Massachusetts, and a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects. Founding member (1945) of The Architects Collaborative, an architecture firm based in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Collection consists of a book by Harkness, Sustainable Design for Two Maine Islands [HT393 M2 S9 1985], an audiocassette with a lecture given October 1986 by her at Virginia Tech about sustainable design, architectural drawings and photographs of a house she designed in 1996-1997 in Essex, Massachusetts, and a booklet documenting the presentations given at an awards dinner when she was presented with the Boston Society of Architects 1991 Award of Honor. Finding aid available online. Ms1997-024
HARLING, ELISABETH-CHARLOTTE (1922-2011). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1950-1998. (5.3 cu. ft.)
Architect in Germany, but also worked in France and Switzerland. Papers reflect Harling's work as an architect and interior designer. Focus is on her university and commercial buildings. Harling also has papers at the University of Stuttgart in Germany. Finding aid available online. Ms1999-007
HASTINGS, L. JANE (1928- ). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1951-1998. (10.3 cu. ft.)
Architect in Seattle, founder and owner of The Hastings Group - Architects. Papers include consists of material created and accumulated by Hastings (and, to certain extent, by the other architects of the Hastings Group) in the course of her design and other professional activities. This material primarily comprises drawings, presentation boards, photographs, and printed material, as well as other material, including certificates and plaques. The printed material includes copies of newspaper and magazine articles that document various completed projects and International Union of Women Architects(UIFA) meeting papers and programs from 1969-1998. Finding aid available online. Ms2004-004
HAUTMANN-KISS, KLARA. ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. (0.2 cu. ft.)
Architect of Vienna, Austria. Papers include an article, "Residential Parks as a Solution of Today's Housing Problem;" plans for "Wiener Flur," a housing project in Vienna; a brief biography; and a pen sketch (1980) of a theatre interior. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-042
HAYDEN, FLORENCE KENYON. PAPERS. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architecture instructor at Ohio State University in 1905; first registered woman architect in Ohio. Papers include her class lecture notebook, with sketches; a photograph of Oxley Hall, a dormitory for women at OSU, which she designed; and a 1907 postcard addressed to her for a "20th Century" window. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms1988-062
HEBALD, MARGO. RÉSUMÉ AND COMPANY BROCHURE. (0.1 cu. ft.)
President of Margo Hebald, AIA & Associates, Inc., a company specializing in designing commercial structures and health care facilities in California. Collection consists of a brochure from her firm with a curriculum vitae. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-043
HELG, FRANCA (1920- ). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1989. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Born in Milan, Italy. The Franca Helg Architectural Papers consist of an article that Helg wrote in 1989 entitled "Franco Albini-Architect and Teacher," as well as a catalog about Helg. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2001-025
HERMANUZ, GHISLAINE (1942- ). BIOGRAPHICAL COLLECTION. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Professor of Architecture at the City College of New York School of Architecture (1986- ), Director of the City College Architectural Center, and principal of Hermanuz, Ltd., in New York. Member of the Societe d'Ingenieurs et Architectes of Switzerland. Papers consist of a résumé with a list of publications and papers; a brochure, A Housing Platform for Harlem (1985), published by the Community Design Workshop of Columbia University, of which Hermanuz was director; and a report, "Shelter and Community: An Agenda for Action," (1988) prepared by Hermanuz for the United Nations Non-Governmental Organizations Committee on Shelter and Community. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-045
HERRMANN-CHONG,EVELYN CHI-CHAIN (1941- ). BROCHURE, 1998. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Born in China, 1941. Architect of Bern, Switzerland. The brochure describes the work she has done as a principal of A. & C. Herrmann-Chong Freie Architekten in Bern. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms1998-020
HIGASHI, YUMIKO OSAWA. EXHIBITION MATERIALS, 2001.
Please see the International Union of Women Architects (UIFA) Congress Materials, Ms2012-001.
HILLEBRAND, LUCY. BOOKS. (0.2 cu. ft.)
1906-1998. Architect of Gottingen, Germany. Collection includes a catalog of her 1991 exhibition and books about her work: Lucy Hillebrand--Wege Zum Raum by Klaus Hoffman [NA1088 H53 H63 1985]; Lucy Hillebrand--Bauen Als Impuls und Dialog by Christian Grohn [NA1088 H53 A35 1990]; and Zeit-Raume der Architektin Lucy Hillebrand by Dieter Boeminghous [NA1088 H53 A35 1983]. Hillebrand's papers are in the archive of the Deutsches Architektur Museum in Frankfurt, Germany. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-047
HIMANEN, MARINA, CURRICULUM VITAE, 2011. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Collection includes a curriculum vitae containing a written statement by Himanen as well as several reproductions of her projects. Himanen receieved a M.Arch from Moscow Architecture Institute in 1981. She worked for a number of years in Moscow, Russia in a state design institute for hotel, resort and retail buildings before moving to Finland in 1986. In Finland, Himanen worked for Juhani Pallasmaa, SAFA, Hon. FAIA, a prominent Finnish architect and former dean of Helsinki School of Architecture at Otaniemi, who she credits with shaping her architectural vision and taste. Himanen moved to the United States in 1994 where she has worked for several architecture firms in New York. Part of IAWA Small Collections.
"HISTORY OF WOMEN ARCHITECTS." EXHIBIT PANELS, GERMAN FEDERAL REPUBLIC SECTION OF THE INTERNATIONAL UNION OF WOMEN ARCHITECTS, 1986-1987. (18 cu. ft.)
An exhibit (33 panels) of documentary material about women architects in the early and middle 1900s. Includes photographs of the architects and their works, with captions and abstracts. Women featured include Ray Eames, Eileen Gray, Florence Knoll, Lilly Reich, Hilde Westrom, and Emilie Winkelmann. A catalog accompanies the panels, with articles about women architects and designers written by Karola Bloch, Grete Lihotzky, Helga Schmidt-Thomsen, and others. Finding aid available online. Ms1988-059
HOLT, RENGIN T. SILKSCREEN AND EXHIBITION ANNOUNCEMENT, 1985, 2001. (1.0 cu. ft.)
Instructor of architecture at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. Framed silkscreen of Holt's "Palladio Bridge," hanging in Special Collections' Reading Room, Newman Library, and a print and an exhibition announcement. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms1995-001
HOOK, MARY ROCKWELL (1877-1978). BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL, 1915-1991. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Residential Architect in Kansas City, Missouri, and architect of the Pine Mountain Settlement School in Harlan County, Kentucky. Collection includes photocopies of her autobiography, This and That, articles about her life and work, and obituaries. Also includes audio cassettes of an interview of Mary Rogers of Pine Mountain by Louise Chawla about Hook's life and career. The Kentucky Oral History Society retains copyright and literary rights to the interview. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms1991-001
HOOKER, MARJORIE MEAD (PEGGY) (1925-2006). BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL AND RÉSUMÉ. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect of New Mexico. Received Bachelor of Architecture degree from University of Texas (1947) where she was the only woman in her graduating class. After graduating Hooker worked in various offices in Texas and California until she settled in New Mexico where she was an Associate with McHugh and Hooker, Bradley P. Kidder and Associates (1955-1965). She opened her own practice briefly from 1966-1967, until she joined Flatow, Moore, Bryan and Fairburn (1968-1988) to work with Max Flatow on the Albuquerque Urban Renewal Project. She specialized in hospital work. Part of IAWA Small Collections.
See Laura Horstman Fisher. Ms2000-049
HORTON, INGE S., ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1964-1999. (9.3 cu. ft.)
Born in Germany. Planner with the Planning Department of the City and County of San Francisco, California, from 1983 to 1998; member of the IAWA Board of Advisors. Papers consist of architectural studies written by Horton while in Germany; presentations made at various women's architectural organization meetings, including the International Union of Women Architects; a curriculum vitae; and research files on historic and contemporary women architects compiled for Horton's personal research and her book "Early women architects of the San Francisco Bay Area: the lives and work of fifty professionals, 1890-1951." [NA730.C2 S256 2010]. A copy of the book is available to view in the Special Collections reading room. Finding aid available online. Ms1990-065
HOSKEN, FRANZISKA PORGES. RÉSUMÉ AND BOOK, 1972; 1992. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Publisher and editor of Women's International Network News and a consultant to International Women's Development and Communication, Housing and Urbanization International. Earned her Master of Architecture degree at the Harvard Graduate School of Design in 1944. Resident of Lexington, Massachusetts. Papers consist of a curriculum vitae compiled in 1992 and a copy of her book The Language of Cities: A Visual Introduction to the Form and Function of the City [HT153 .H65 1972]. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms1992-050
HOUSE, STEVEN AND CATHI. ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1992-2006; 2007. (12.9 cu. ft.)
Architects of California. Cathi House earned her bachelor of architecture from Virginia Tech. She worked at various firms until founding her own award-winning San Francisco firm, House + House Architects, with husband and fellow VT alumnus Steven House in 1982. The collection consists of information about 15 residential projects in California, Florida, and Mexico. Finding aid available online. Ms2006-017
HUBACHER, ANNEMARIE. LISTING OF PROJECTS. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Architect of Zurich, Switzerland. Collection consists of a list of architectural designs that Hubacher was involved in. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms1998-013
HUBER, VERENA (1938- ). BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL, 1989, 1994-1997. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Interior designer of Zurich, Switzerland, and former president of VSI, the Swiss Association of Interior Designers. Papers include a curriculum vitae, photocopies of articles about her work, and other biographical information. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms1998-010
IAWA Collections: I
IAWA SMALL COLLECTIONS, 1907-2013. (31.9 cu. ft.)
The IAWA Small Collections was compiled from a variety of sources by Special Collections staff for use in reference and research. The collection consists primarily of biographical materials for women architects, architectural historians, and designers including curriculum vitas, firm brochures, exhibit notices, photographs, and publications. Drawings, sketches, course notes, correspondence, and other materials pertaining to architectural collections are also present. Finding aid available online. Ms2009-054
INTERNATIONAL ARCHIVE OF WOMEN IN ARCHITECTURE (IAWA), RECORDS, 1967-2013, bulk dates 1985-2008. (15.5 cu. ft.)
The records of the International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA) consist of files created by IAWA founder Milka Bliznakov, various IAWA officers, and Special Collections archivists. Materials include founding documents, meeting minutes, newsletter information, correspondence with supporters and donors, and internal correspondence. Finding aid available online. Ms1985-021
ISHIKAWA, DR. YAEKO
Please see the International Union of Women Architects (UIFA) Congress Materials, Ms2012-001.
ISON, LEONORA. RÉSUMÉ.
Although Ison did not build, she was the first woman to win scholarships at the Bartlett School of Architecture, London University, England, and was a successful illustrator of architecture books. Part of IAWA Small Collections.
IAWA Collections: J
JANSONE, VERA. ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, ca. 1940s, 1961-1975. (9.5 cu. ft.)
Born in Latvia, educated at the École des Beaux Arts in Paris from 1945-1949. The collection consists of 89 drawings by Vera Jansone as both a student and a professional architect. Also included is an article in the "OWA Tour of Residences Designed by Women Architects in Marin County and Napa Valley" about the Greenbrae Residence which Jansone designed in 1975, as well as two résumés. Finding aid available online. Ms2001-026
JAUCH-STOLZ, MONIKA PIA (1954- ). ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS, 1984. (0.3 cu. ft.)
Architect of Luzerne, Switzerland, and member of the Societe d'Ingenieurs et Architectes. Papers include a curriculum vitae, photos of jewelry she has created, interiors and exteriors of her architectural designs, and copies of architectural drawings she designed with her husband, Martin Jauch. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-050
JIRMUNSKY, GALINA (1926-2010). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1950-1996. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Russian modernist architect. Collection contains 36 original photographs of designs/drawings/built structures by Jirmunsky; a portrait; and a biographical file written by her husband Feliks Aronovich Novikov, Ph.D. (also an architect who designed/built the Palace of Pioneers on Lenin's Hills (now Sparrow Hills) in Moscow) with commentary on each of the numbered photographs. Material is in Russian. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2009-054
JOHNSON, JANE C. HALL (1919-2001). ARCHITECTURAL COLLECTION, 1955-1994. (26.0 cu. ft.)
Drawings, blueprints, sketches, portfolios (2), clippings, photographs, business correspondence, publicity materials, and presentation boards documenting the professional career of architect Jane Hall Johnson. The bulk of the collection pertains to Johnson's career in St. Louis, Missouri, 1959-1986. The collection also includes materials from student and professional projects in Boston, 1955-1959. The collection contains numerous photographs of Johnson's work and a folder of paintings titled "Experiments with Color." Finding aid available online. Ms2000-051
JUDKOVSKI, NOEMI. EXHIBIT PANELS, 1991. (4.0 cu. ft.)
Architect of Israel. Collection is three exhibit panels with photographs of her designs of kibbutzim in Israel. Ms1991-054
IAWA Collections: K
KAZAKOVA, LUIDMILA, COLLECTION, 2002. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Russian architect. Collection contains an article featuring Kazakova's design for the Pyatnitski Fish Market from the Annual published by the Moscow Branch of the International Academy of Architecture in 2002. Material in Russian and English. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2006-013
KECHEDZHIEVA, NEVENA STOIANOVA (1927- ). ARCHITECTURAL DRAWINGS, 1971-1989. (1.8 cu. ft.)
Born in Sofia, Bulgaria. Worked for the State Design Organization "Glavproekt" from 1951-1984, currently designs for private clients. Collection contains her designs for residential and commercial projects in Bulgaria, Nigeria and Yemen, including Hotel No. 230, Sunny Coast Resort, Bulgaria, a motel and bungalows in Gold Moor, Yemen, and gas station outside of Sofia, Bulgaria. biographical information is also included. Finding aid available online. Ms2000-009
KEICHLINE, ANNA W. (1889-1943). BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL. (0.2 cu. ft.)
Architect and inventor from Bellefonte, Pennsylvania. First registered woman architect in Pennsylvania and inventor of the K-brick. Designed the Decker Home in Bellefonte. Papers include a copy of an article by her, "Modern Wall Construction" from the 1932 issue of The Clay-Worker, information about her ideas concerning kitchen design, copies of patents for a combination sink and laundry tub, photographs, and biographical information. Added in 2002 biographical materials authored, or collected by, her niece Nancy Perkins. Includes a CD-ROM documenting her life in application for state marker, articles and exhibit programs. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms1989-016
KEMP, DIANE LEGGE (1949- ). BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL, 1985-1989, 1996. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Principal of DLK Architecture, Inc. of Chicago, Illinois. Former partner of Skidmore, Owings & Merrill in Chicago and former board member of the Chicago Chapter of the American Institute of Architects. Fellow of the American Institute of Architects. Papers include a curriculum vitae, a photograph of Kemp, articles (1985-89) about her work, and slides of structures she has designed. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-052
KENNEDY, LOUISE ST. JOHN (1950- ). BIOGRAPHICAL MATERIAL, 1988. (0.1 cu. ft.)
First woman to be appointed to the Architects Board of Western Australia, and designer of the Perth Mosman Park Tea Rooms, the Pines Business Centre in Cottesloe, and numerous other structures in Western Australia. Papers include articles (1988) about her work and an extensive curriculum vitae detailing her designs and projects, honors, published work, and memberships. Part of IAWA Small Collections. Ms2000-053
KEREMIDARSKA, SVETLANA LAZAROVA (1950- ). RÉSUMÉ.
Russian landscape architect. Part of IAWA Small Collections.
KHAZANOVA, VIGDARIIA EFRAIMOVNA (1924-2004). ARCHITECTURAL PAPERS. (0.1 cu. ft.)
Khazanova was an architectural historian. She earned her masters degree in art history from Moscow State University in 1948. Her collection includes two handwritten manuscripts and a book titled