University Archives header

Virginia Tech Board of Visitors - 1954

Board of Visitors, 1954

The Virginia Tech Board of Visitors met at Blacksburg yesterday for its annual meeting. Shown (left to right, front row): Mrs. H. H. Walton, Fredericks Hall; Miss Mary Fred Claytor, Bedford; Mrs. R. L. McConnell, Radford; Mrs. Turner A. Gilmer, Lebanon; Mrs. Elva DeLaBarre , Blacksburg, clerk of the board; (back row): Charles W. Wampler, Harrisonburg; W. S. Moffett Jr., Staunton; F. L. Furr, Roanoke; Samuel D. Preston, Winchester; Oscar H. Smith III, Norfolk; Charles H. Reed, Chesterfield; Granville M. Read, Forest; W. H. Burruss, Lynchburg; Vernon G. Eberwine, Suffolk. Eberwine was re-elected rector at the meeting. Elected to the executive committee with Eberwine were Furr, Moffett, Mrs. McConnell and Reed. Paul Mellon of Upperville and Dowell J. Howard, state superintendent of public instruction, were unable to attend the meeting.

From the Roanoke Times, August 5, 1954

University Libraries Digital Library and Archives Special Collections University Archives

Send questions or comments to:
Tamara Kennelly, University Archivist, University Libraries
Virginia Tech, P.O. Box 90001, Blacksburg, VA 24062-9001
Page design:
Mohamed Amin and Tamara Kennelly
URL: /archives/125th/bov/bov1954.html
Last Updated on: Friday, 25-Jan-2002 16:34:05 EST