Archives logo
Campus Unrest Virginia Tech Historical Data Book Pre-WWII at Virginia Tech Historical Virginia Tech Digital Image collection of Virginia Tech Cadets The Bugle Interior, Old Library Go to Archives Home page

Guide to the University Archives : Introduction

The University Archive of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University is part of the Special Collections Department of the University Libraries. The purpose of the archive is to collect, preserve, and provide access to materials documenting the history and development of the University and its various components. The papers of past University presidents and other administrators constitute the core of the collection, but the University Archive collects all types of materials which document the work, development, and accomplishments of each component of the University, its administrators, faculty and alumni. The University Archive works in cooperation with the Records Management Program of the University, but also collects records of historical value which may not fit the parameters of that program, such as the personal papers of faculty and alumni.

Types of materials contained in the University Archive include correspondence, diaries, historical photographs, minutes, notes, oral histories (tapes and transcripts), press releases, publications of faculty, reports, research documentation, scrapbooks, theses and dissertations, and University publications. The University Archive also maintains vertical files of containing historical and current information on the University and biographical information on University personnel.

This guide describes the historical records within the University Archive. Entries in the guide are arranged by record group, with a record group defined as the originating source. For example, record group one contains records of the Board of Visitors. Subgroups exist within each record group, i.e. subgroup two of record group one is the Executive Committee of the Board of Visitors. This entry arrangement is reflective of the actual physical arrangement of the records in the University Archives. Collections of manuscript material from faculty and alumni are assigned manuscript numbers (for example, Ms 95-001). Call numbers are given for all major publications that have been cataloged (for example, Board of Visitors Manual [LD5655 A4 1944]).

Each entry contains an administrative history of the originating source and a description of the materials within the collection. An attempt has been made to describe, or at least list, not only the official archival records but also other items which provide historical information (i.e. newspaper clippings, publications, ephemeral printed material, and photographs). The size of each collection is given in cubic feet ("cu. ft."), with 0.1 cu. ft. being the smallest unit used. Inclusive dates are recorded for each collection.

T. Marshall Hahn John McLaren McBryde
T. Marshall Hahn (left) and John McLaren McBryde, two of the Tech's presidents.
Their papers can be found in RG02, the Office of the President.

Record Groups

  1. Board of Visitors
  2. Office of the President
  3. Office of the Vice-President
  4. Office of the Executive Vice-President
  5. Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost
  6. Office of Administration
  7. Office of Finance
  8. Office of Student Affairs
  9. University Council
  10. Athletic Association
  11. Dean of the College
  12. School of Applied Science & Business Administration
  13. College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
  14. College of Architecture and Urban Studies
  15. College of Arts and Sciences
  16. College of Business
  17. College of Education
  18. College of Engineering
  19. College of Human Resources
  20. College of Veterinary Medicine
  21. Office of Development and Public Relations
  22. Graduate School
  23. University Libraries
  24. Radford College
  25. Research Division
  26. Extension Division
  27. Virginia Tech Educational Foundation
  1. Development Council
  2. Alumni Association
  3. Faculty Organizations
  4. Student Organizations and Publications
  5. Centennial Celebrations
  6. University Wide Committees
  7. Special University Committees
  8. International Programs
  9. Visiting Scholars Programs
  10. Center for Public Administration and Public Affairs
  11. Interdisciplinary Programs
  12. Centers
  13. VPI & SU History
  14. Center for Innovative Technology
  15. Appalachian Studies
  16. Woodrow Wilson College
  17. Hotel Roanoke
  18. College of Natural Resources and Environment
  19. Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine and Research Institute
  20. College of Science
  21. College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences
  22. Virginia Tech - Wake Forest University School of Biomedical Engineering and Sciences
  23. Office of Information Technology


VT History | Digital Library and Archives | Special Collections | University Archives


Send questions or comments to:
Tamara Kennelly, University Archivist
Special Collections
University Libraries
Virginia Tech
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061

URL: http://spec.lib.vt.edu/archives/guide/index.html
Last Modified on: Friday, 08-Jan-2016 12:40:19 EST


Site design by: Tamara Kennelly, Oladunni Akinpelu and Katie Bondroff
VT Libraries Logo