Archives logo
Campus Unrest Virginia Tech Historical Data Book Pre-WWII at Virginia Tech Historical Virginia Tech Digital Image collection of Virginia Tech Cadets The Bugle Interior, Old Library Go to Archives Home page

Record Group 6 - Office of Administration

The position of Vice-President for Administration was established in 1966 in a reorganization that eliminated the single post of Vice-President. The other position created from the split was Vice-President for Academic Affairs. Stuart K. Cassell was the first Vice-President for Administration.

Return to Guide


Records

The University Archives has the records of Stuart K. Cassell, 1966-75, that are described below. The Archives also contains unofficial records such as publications, memoranda, and newspaper clippings in vertical files.

The records of the Office of Public Relations/Information Services (RG 6/5) can also be found under this Record Group.

Cassell, Stuart K.

Records, 1966-75

68.4 cu. ft. (RG 6/1)
This collection consists primarily of correspondence. There is a large amount of material concerning budget and other financial matters, as well as construction, buildings and grounds maintenance, and other physical plant matters. The collection also contains Cassell's records as Business Manager, 1945-66.

Finding aid for Records of the Office of the Vice President for Administration, Stuart K. Cassell, 1945-1975 available on the Virginia Heritage database.

Unofficial records in the University Archives include publications, memoranda, and newspaper clippings.

Virginia Tech Buildings Architectural

Collection, 1907-1996

19.3 cu. ft.(RG 6/3/2e)
Collection consists of architectural drawings, blueprints, and floorplans of selected campus buildings located on the campus of the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in Blacksburg, VA.

A finding aid, including building list, is available online.

Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action

Records, 1986-2006

1.65 cu. ft.(RG 6/4/5)
The collection contains materials relating to Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action (EO/AA) at Virginia Tech from 1986-2006. It includes EO/AA minutes, affirmative action plans, proposals, grants, executive orders, and information on faculty recruitment, the Family Friendly Policy Task Force, and awards. It also contains materials relating to various events, including Black Alumni Reunions, and areas of concern as well as information regarding the work force and lists of black alumni.

A finding aid is available online.

Public Relations/Information Services

Records, 1970-1976

7.0 cu. ft. (RG 6/5)
This collection consists of the correspondence of Warren Strothers, Director of Public Relations (1971-73), the correspondence of Ken Haines, Director of Television (1972-74), correspondence of the Television and Film Department (1970-72), general office correspondence (1970-76), press releases, and other public relations and information services files.

Return to Guide


VT History | Digital Library and Archives | Special Collections | University Archives


Send questions or comments to:
Tamara Kennelly, University Archivist
Special Collections
University Libraries
Virginia Tech
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061

URL: http://spec.lib.vt.edu/archives/guide/rg06.htm
Last Modified on: Tuesday, 30-Apr-2013 15:47:34 EDT


Site design by: Tamara Kennelly, Oladunni Akinpelu and Katie Bondroff
VT Libraries Logo