Archives logo
Campus Unrest Virginia Tech Historical Data Book Pre-WWII at Virginia Tech Historical Virginia Tech Digital Image collection of Virginia Tech Cadets The Bugle Interior, Old Library Go to Archives Home page

Record Group 17 - College of Education

The College of Education officially came into existence on 1 July 1971. A Department of Education had existed in the College of Arts and Sciences since 1965. However, prior to that time, courses and degree programs in various types of education had been offered throughout VPI's history: Agricultural Education (1918); Business Education (1950); Distributive Education (1954); Physical Education (1921); Home Economics Education (1921); Industrial Arts Education (1946); and Vocational Industrial Education (1921). In 1951, a Master of Education degree was approved by the Board of Visitors, but work towards the degree at the VPI campus had been restricted to vocational areas and for other areas students did the work at Radford.

Return to Guide


Records

The University Archives does not contain any official records of the College of Education. However, the Archives does maintain vertical files of newspaper clippings, brochures, pamphlets, newsletters, and other unofficial items concerning the College. Mounted clippings concerning Vocational Education, 1948-59, can be located under "MAV." Some correspondence and other items dealing with the Vocational Education Department are contained in the personal papers of Harry Warriner Sanders, Head of the Vocational Education Department from 1940-62 (Ms75-002). Copies of annual reports for Physical Education (1929-30) can be found in Record Group 11/2 (Dean of the College: John E. Williams).


Oral Histories

An oral history was taped with Dr. Karl Hereford, first Dean of the College of Education (1971-76) in 1989. This history is available to be listened to on cassette tape in the Special Collections Department. Special Collections also has cassettes of oral histories .concerning the College of Education collected by Dr. Patrick Carlton and his students in 1990 (Ms90-026). Taped interviews include: Karl Hereford, Wayne M. Worner, Richard Lynch, Carl McDaniels, Fred J. Brieve, and Lyle Kinnear. Transcripts are also available.

Return to Guide


VT History | Digital Library and Archives | Special Collections | University Archives


Send questions or comments to:
Tamara Kennelly, University Archivist
Special Collections
University Libraries
Virginia Tech
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061

URL: http://spec.lib.vt.edu/archives/guide/rg17.htm
Last Modified on: Monday, 18-Jun-2001 17:08:26 EDT


Site design by: Tamara Kennelly, Oladunni Akinpelu and Katie Bondroff
VT Libraries Logo