Archives logo
Campus Unrest Virginia Tech Historical Data Book Pre-WWII at Virginia Tech Historical Virginia Tech Digital Image collection of Virginia Tech Cadets The Bugle Interior, Old Library Go to Archives Home page

Record Group 19 - College of Human Resources

Courses in Home Economics have been offered since 1921 and the Department of Home Economics began in 1924. The department was suspended in 1933 due to economic conditions, but reinstated in 1937. Until 1951, the General Assembly required students pursuing a degree in home economics to attend Radford College (VPI's Women's Division) for their first two years. In 1958, the Board of Visitors authorized establishment of a separate school of home economics at Virginia Tech, followed by the combining of the programs at Tech and Radford College under one dean. When the merger between Tech and Radford was abolished in 1964, Tech's school became the College of Home Economics. In order to convey the broader scope of the College's offerings, the Board of Visitors approved a name change to College of Human Resources on 22 March 1982.

Return to Guide


Records

Newspaper Clippings and Printed Material, 1948-Present

Mounted clippings, 1948-59, can be located under classification "MAHm." Some mounted clippings on home economics prior to 1948 may exist under classification "MA." Vertical files of newspaper clippings and printed material, such as brochures and circulars, from 1960 to present are maintained under the record group number.

Return to Guide


VT History | Digital Library and Archives | Special Collections | University Archives


Send questions or comments to:
Tamara Kennelly, University Archivist
Special Collections
University Libraries
Virginia Tech
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061

URL: http://spec.lib.vt.edu/archives/guide/rg19.htm
Last Modified on: Monday, 18-Jun-2001 17:49:54 EDT


Site design by: Tamara Kennelly, Oladunni Akinpelu and Katie Bondroff
VT Libraries Logo