Archives logo
Campus Unrest Virginia Tech Historical Data Book Pre-WWII at Virginia Tech Historical Virginia Tech Digital Image collection of Virginia Tech Cadets The Bugle Interior, Old Library Go to Archives Home page

Record Group 22 - Graduate School

President McBryde introduced graduate work in 1891. The Graduate Department began in 1907. In 1928, a Committee on Graduate Programs and Degrees was formed. The office of the Vice-President assumed the duties of the Director of Graduate Studies in 1949; then in 1963, the title was changed to Vice-President and Dean of Graduate School. Dean of the Graduate School became a full-time position in 1965.

Return to Guide


Records

The University Archives does not contain the official records of the Graduate School. However, unofficial records include publications, memoranda, and newspaper clippings.

The records of the Interdepartmental Plant Physiology Program, which is organizationally under the auspices of the Graduate School, are described below.

Interdepartmental Plant Physiology Program

(RG 22/3)
The Interdepartmental Plant Physiology Program is an interdisciplinary program involving the departments of Agronomy, Anaerobic Microbilogy, Biochemistry and Nutrition, Biology, Forestry, Horticulture, and Plant Pathology, Physiology, and Weed Science. Both a Masters and Ph.D. degree are offered through the program. The program began in 1983.

Records, 1983-90

0.4 cu. ft.
This collection includes correspondence, memoranda, course proposals, program announcements, and budget information. Material is added to the collection on an annual basis.

Return to Guide


VT History | Digital Library and Archives | Special Collections | University Archives


Send questions or comments to:
Tamara Kennelly, University Archivist
Special Collections
University Libraries
Virginia Tech
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061

URL: http://spec.lib.vt.edu/archives/guide/rg22.htm
Last Modified on: Monday, 18-Jun-2001 18:26:37 EDT


Site design by: Tamara Kennelly, Oladunni Akinpelu and Katie Bondroff
VT Libraries Logo