Archives logo
Campus Unrest Virginia Tech Historical Data Book Pre-WWII at Virginia Tech Historical Virginia Tech Digital Image collection of Virginia Tech Cadets The Bugle Interior, Old Library Go to Archives Home page

Record Group 27 - Virginia Tech Education Foundation

The VPI Educational Foundation was established by authority of the Board of Visitors in 1948 as a tax-exempt, non-profit corporation to "work toward increasing gifts and endowments made to the college." Dr. John Hutcheson was appointed as the first president of the Foundation. Hutcheson organized a Board of Directors for the Foundation composed of representatives from the administration, Board of Visitors, Alumni Association, and business leaders from inside and outside the state. In 1983, the Foundation's name was changed to the Virginia Tech Educational Foundation, Inc.

Return to Guide


Records

Correspondence, reports, and other documents relating to the Educational Foundation can be found in the files of President Walter S. Newman (RG 2/10) for 1949-60 and Vice-President Louis Pardue (RG 3/3) for 1950-63. Mounted clippings on the Foundation, 1948-60, are classified under "Med."

Clippings and printed material concerning public radio station WVTF and the Corporate Research Center also are located in this record group (RG 27/1 and 27/2 respectively).


WVTF

(RG 27/1)
Under the original call letters WVWR, this public radio station was established in 1973 and licensed to Virginia Western Community College. On 1 January 1982, the license was transferred to the Virginia Tech Educational Foundation and the call letters were changed to WVTF on 12 May 1982.

Newspaper Clippings and Printed Material

While the University Archives has no official records of WVTF, a file of newspaper clippings and program guides is maintained, dating from 1982 to present.


Corporate Research Center

(RG 27/2)
A study commissioned by the Virginia Tech Foundation in 1985 recommended that the Foundation establish a "wholly owned subsidiary corporation to develop and operate" a corporate research center. In response to the study, the foundation established the Virginia Tech Corporate Research Center, Inc., which began operation on 13 June 1985.

Newspaper Clippings, 1984-Present

While the University Archives does not contain the official records of the Corporate Research Center, newspaper clippings and some printed material is available, dating from 1984 to present.

Return to Guide


VT History | Digital Library and Archives | Special Collections | University Archives


Send questions or comments to:
Tamara Kennelly, University Archivist
Special Collections
University Libraries
Virginia Tech
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061

URL: http://spec.lib.vt.edu/archives/guide/rg27.htm
Last Modified on: Monday, 18-Jun-2001 19:39:32 EDT


Site design by: Tamara Kennelly, Oladunni Akinpelu and Katie Bondroff
VT Libraries Logo