Archives logo
Campus Unrest Virginia Tech Historical Data Book Pre-WWII at Virginia Tech Historical Virginia Tech Digital Image collection of Virginia Tech Cadets The Bugle Interior, Old Library Go to Archives Home page

Record Group 30 - Faculty Organizations

Return to Guide


Records

Meetings of the General Faculty

(RG 30/1)

From the early years of the institution until the formation of a formal senate in 1969, meetings of the general faculty were held on a regular basis to discuss policies, procedures, and issues concerning the university.

Records, 1915, 1919-34

0.2 cu. ft.
This collection contains one small notebook of handwritten minutes of faculty meetings, 1915, concerning Summer School and one volume of typescript minutes to meetings of the general faculty, 1919-34, which also includes some correspondence and memorial resolutions as well as attendance sheets.


Science Club Council

(RG 30/2)
The VPI Science Club was organized in 1914 by "those interested in scientific work at the V.P.I." The club was primarily a faculty organization, but was open to undergraduate students in the "Junior or Senior classes." In 1958, the Science Club changed its name to the VPI Science Council, developed new objectives, and changed its organizational structure, "to better the promotion of science." At that time, it became wholly a faculty organization, "with particular emphasis given to coordinating science activities where needed, formulating resolutions, and sponsoring special council projects." The organization was abolished in 1960.

Records, 1914-60

0.4 cu. ft.
The Science Club records include: minute books (handscript and typescript, 4 vols., 1914-58), scattered correspondence, memoranda, financial reports, membership rosters (1936-58), receipt and expenditure books (2 vols, 1938-46), and two small receipt books of dues (1945-48). The Science Council records include scattered minutes, correspondence, and memoranda (1958-60).

Newspaper Clippings, 1926-58

The University Archives has mounted clippings about the Science Club, dating from 1926-58, under the classification Mo 26.


Faculty Senate

(RG 30/3)
The Faculty Senate was formed in 1969 by approval of the Board of Visitors to "articulate faculty views on campus policies and procedures."

Records, 1967-present

5.8 cu. ft.
The minutes of the Faculty Senate, 1969 to present, make up the core of this collection. The minutes and reports of the Faculty Senate Steering Committee, 1967-69, also are included in this collection. Other materials, 1969-80, include: annual reports of the Senate presidents, cabinet minutes, constitutions and bylaws, correspondence, memoranda, minutes and reports of various committees and subcommittees, reports, and Senate rosters. Also included are scattered minutes and other materials dealing with the Commission on Faculty Affairs, Commission on Research and Graduate Studies, Commission on Student Affairs, Commission on Undergraduate Studies, Student Government Association, and University Council.

Finding aid available online.

American Association of University Professors, Virginia Tech Chapter

(RG 30/4)
The American Association of University Professors (AAUP) is a national organization of university professors, with state and local chapters, concerned with all aspects of teaching in higher education. It was formed in 1915.

Records, 1941-81

3.0 cu. ft.
This collection includes: constitutions and bylaws, correspondence, chapter letters, faculty surveys, financial statements, lists of committees, material concerning the national organization, membership lists, minutes, miscellaneous publications, regional and state correspondence and minutes, and reports.


American Association of University Women, Virginia Tech Chapter

(RG 30/5A)
The American Association of University Women (AAUW) began in 1881. The Virginia Tech chapter was formed in 1926.

Records, 1926-2008

8.7 cu. ft.
This collection consists of records of the local chapter of the AAUW including minutes (1930-90), copies of the Bulletin (local newsletter, 1936-91), treasurer's records (1936-88), membership lists (1936-89), state and national convention programs, yearbooks (1990-92), a branch history, award certificates, and reports and other materials concerning various projects and programs.

Finding aid available online.


Sigma Xi: The Scientific Research Society, Virginia Tech Chapter

(RG 30/8)
The Virginia Tech Chapter of Sigma Xi: the Scientific Research Society was granted its charter by the national society in 1940.

Charter, 1940

Materials consist of the framed charter establishing the chapter at Virginia Tech. Lists chapter members.

Return to Guide


VT History | Digital Library and Archives | Special Collections | University Archives


Send questions or comments to:
Tamara Kennelly, University Archivist
Special Collections
University Libraries
Virginia Tech
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061

URL: http://spec.lib.vt.edu/archives/guide/rg30.htm
Last Modified on: Wednesday, 09-Oct-2013 16:20:39 EDT


Site design by: Tamara Kennelly, Oladunni Akinpelu and Katie Bondroff
VT Libraries Logo