Archives logo
Campus Unrest Virginia Tech Historical Data Book Pre-WWII at Virginia Tech Historical Virginia Tech Digital Image collection of Virginia Tech Cadets The Bugle Interior, Old Library Go to Archives Home page

Record Group 32 - Centennial Celebrations

Virginia Tech's Golden Jubilee, a semi-centennial celebration was held 28-39 May 1922, in conjunction with Commencement. The Centennial Celebration was held in 1972.

Return to Guide


Records

Golden Jubilee Records, 1922

0.4 cu. ft. (RG 32/1)
This collection includes: correspondence, reports, and other items of various committees; schedules of events and programs; circular letter sent to Alumni seeking information on activities; and a folder on the special effort made to contact members of the Class of 1898. These records were consulted by the Centennial Committee in 1972 in making plans for that celebration.

Centennial Celebration Records, 1970-72

2.4 cu. ft. (RG 32/2)
This collection includes: congratulatory messages from other universities and colleges; two signed guest books from Founders' Day Luncheon and Commemorative Meeting of the Board of Visitors (24 March 1972); Centennial material for other institutions; VPI&SU Centennial souvenir items; publications related to the Centennial; Centennial banner; Radio notes (1970-71); Building Dedications material (Whittemore, McBryde, Cheatham); and tapes of Founders' Day activities. Also included are working papers of the following Centennial committees: Activity; Operations; Committee on Board of Visitors; and Convocation.

Return to Guide


VT History | Digital Library and Archives | Special Collections | University Archives


Send questions or comments to:
Tamara Kennelly, University Archivist
Special Collections
University Libraries
Virginia Tech
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061

URL: http://spec.lib.vt.edu/archives/guide/rg32.htm
Last Modified on: Tuesday, 19-Jun-2001 19:15:37 EDT


Site design by: Tamara Kennelly, Oladunni Akinpelu and Katie Bondroff
VT Libraries Logo